We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Granny Mouse Country House
Nearby Hotels
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$117
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
$111
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Pietermaritzburg)
$92
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Thorn Tree Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa(Nottingham Road)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveler rating
286
161
61
16
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
286
161
61
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfine diningspa treatmentsreception staffdeluxe suitewine cellarmidlands meanderattention to detailbath saltsbistro restaurantturn down serviceriver viewon arrivalmini barrooms are beautifulmany yearscountry housemain building
Filter
Updating list...
422 - 427 of 531 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Spent 3 delightful days at this beautiful establishment in the Natal Midlands. Lovely comfortable cottage with view unto the river and green hills. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Good food and excellent service. Have not seen such beautiful gardens and attention to
detail. Go and check out the chapel - lovely wedding venue. We wanted to travel around the Midlands Meander and received helpful tips from the staff. Will definitely return to this well-run
Hotel.

Room Tip: Cottage No1 in the garden, facing river and equestrian farm on the opposite hill.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RONE866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Rone866
Thank you for your kind review and words of our Team. We are happy to hear that our home was well suited to be yours for 3 days. We hope that upon your next visit, you will stay longer!
Safe travels, till the next time!
Kind regards
Sean Granger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We only stayed one night but the room was lovely and the staff welcoming. We were given a glass of bubbly on arrival. I had a manicure and massage which was lovely and very reasonably priced. We ate in the loft restaurant and the food was excellent, my beef was probably the best I'd ever had.
The only reason I give four instead of five stars is because at breakfast, my partner who does not drink tea or coffee was then charged extra for having a hot chocolate. This seemed out of kilter with the rest of the service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Daphne R
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We wish you safe travels in your journeys ahead and hope to welcome you back home soon!
Kind regards
Sean Granger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

From our arrival to our check out less than 24 hours later we felt so at home and so comortable. Delicious food, wonderful spa treatment and the most incredibly welcoming environment, it was our 20th Anniversary and it was perfect.


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CarnJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear CarnJohannesburg
The Team was very happy to receive your review and we are most pleased that your stay was described as FANTASTIC. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you home again soon!
Till then, safe travels!
Kind regards
Sean Granger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Amazing spa with great facilities. The food was average, but the rooms made up for that.
Watch out for the dirt road into the hotel, caught my low suspension car bumper. Nothing beats an open fireplace in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmidhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Schmidhauser
The Team wishes to thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear to here that your stay was so good. Safe travels and till the next time!
Kind regards
Sean Granger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Three of us stayed in 2 rooms for 3 nights. A very welcoming reception and without asking a room change was made so that we were given 2 rooms close to each other. The rooms were beautifully appointed, very comfortable and clean. As the evening we arrived was chilly we lit a fire in the small logburner which warmed the room very quickly. The standard of food and service in the Bistro and Eaves restaurant was excellent. The breakfasts were outstanding in choice and quality. My wife and daughter took advantage of Spa treatments which they considered to be first class. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our stay was a joy. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, General Manager at Granny Mouse Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear TravellerJimbo
The Team wishes to thank you for your kind review and wonderful words spoken of our Team & Home. We are glad to hear that your stay was wonderful and that your Family enjoyed, as it should be. We hope to welcome you back home again soon!
Kind regards
Sean Granger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews