We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“agulhas lodge review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agulhas Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Agulhas
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“agulhas lodge review”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

prompted by winter specials, we thought we would brave the weather and venture to the southern most point. reminiscent of fabulous memories made in scotland, we settled on the Agulhas Country Lodge. we had booked a family room, but since the lodge was pretty empty, i think management would have done well to have upgraded us into two adjoining rooms which would have made the stay more comfortable as my youngest son is averse to sleeping on a mattress on the floor. while the food is 5 star gourmet, the menu was too fancy for my taste and way too expensive for a 'winter special' type holiday. there was very little information available on mountain biking routes which was a bit disappointing. the establishment is clean, the service good and the owners sociable and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EyecandyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    104
    33
    9
    3
See reviews for
55
199
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We come to this lodge at least once a year since I was very little and it never failed to satisfy us. It has a unique homely atmosphere and very friendly staff. Everything is clean and the furniture and decor make you feel at home. The rooms have everything you need, including DSTV, DVD player, kettle, indoor jacuzzi (for lack of a better word)...and of course a sea view! The lounge has a TV, DVDs, a computer and free (very fast!) Wifi. The cigar lounge has a big flat screen TV, books and comfortable sofas. In the morning they prepare an excellent breakfast and you also have a buffet option (both included in the price). In the evening there is dinner available, though quite pricey. This is the place to stay when visiting Agulhas!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjmeyer96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had booked one night at the Agulhas Country Lodge, and cannot say how much we regret we hadn't booked a few more! The aera has so much more ot offer than just being the southernmost tip of Africa. The owners, Sue and Phil, gave us a friendly welcome, just enough personal and just enough professional to make us feel pleasantly welcome into this very special house of theirs. They were always ready to give advice, and answer questions about the area. And always with this attitude of doing so being nothing but a pleasure. The room (#5) was immaculate, cosy and elegantly rural, with a balcony and view over the ocean and part of the village. The evening supper served bye the Lodge's friendly and welcoming staff was excellent, prepared by Sue herself, with perfect wine pairing suggested by Phil. So in sum, a very pleasant, but alas, way too short stay in this very special corner of South Africa. We will happily return, and recommend the Agulhas Coutry Lodge, and the area, to everyone.

Room Tip: #5 for the view, wifi in room (next to the room with router), and chance to pull the curtains aside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeaNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

It was a cold and rainy afteroon when I knocked on the door of L' Agulhas Country Lodge and asked for accomodation for my wife and I. I was warmly received and plans were made that resulted in us being allocated a large room with a fantastic view of the Ocean.
The rooms, toilets and bathrooms were imaculately clean, as was the bedding.
The owners, Phil and Sue, introduced themselves to us and we shared a cozy afternoon sitting in front of a crackling fire and had a pleant conversation for several hours until it was time for supper.
Supper was served in the Dining room. The food was delicious and the service was superb.
We retired to a room that was pleasantly warm, despite the wind and rain outside.
The next mornings breakfast was freshly made and served buffet style.
The personnel conducted themselves very professionally and made sincere effort to ensure that we had everything that was necessary.
Overall, we felt privileged to have had the opportunity to stay at the L'Agulhas Country Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SureshL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, SA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This is indeed a nice Lodge, good location with only a road between the establishment and the sea. Lots of stairs, but an impressive building with nice rooms. No television in the rooms, only in common area, but wifi was free, reasonably fast and stable. Supper was delicious with a South African menu but, like the room rates, probably a bit too expensive.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VPK-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice guest house with wonderful personnel and nice food. We stayed here for one night. The room was big and the bed comfy. The shower was one of the best we found in South Africa (stayed at about 10 different guest hous). At the evening we had their three course dinner menu. The food was good but perhaps the signature dish (cray fish) where a little bit overselled. The breakfast day after was really good you could order freely from the kitchen. One big plus was the nice little bar they got. The bartender was really nice and talkative and the view are hard to compare with.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLindberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent one night at the Country Lodge as we wanted to go down to the tip of Africa to see where the oceans meet. We enjoyed our stay but didn't feel that we got the personal attention that we had at other Guest Houses we stayed at on our visit. However the food was good and the rooms clean and pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Agulhas
15.6 mi away
Arniston Spa Hotel
Arniston Spa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
19.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agulhas Ocean House
Agulhas Ocean House
#1 of 7 in L'Agulhas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachcombers Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Mermaid Guest House
Mermaid Guest House
#1 of 5 in Struisbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean View Guest B&B
Ocean View Guest B&B
#2 of 5 in Struisbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agulhas Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agulhas Country Lodge

Property: Agulhas Country Lodge
Address: 673 Main Road, L'Agulhas 7287, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Cape Agulhas > L'Agulhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Agulhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Agulhas Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Agulhas Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agulhas Country Lodge Cape Agulhas, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing