We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but high price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agulhas Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Agulhas
Certificate of Excellence
Hoganas, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good, but high price”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Booked a room with air condition through internet. No such room available on arrival. We got a discount. Nice room, but standard and finnish a bit off. Great view!!!
We arived on Christmas day and the restaurant only served a cold platter for dinner... but it was an excellent meal. The price indicates a higher standard of rooms, but all in all it was a pleasant 1 night stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripTrappTrull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    105
    33
    9
    3
See reviews for
57
203
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have stayed here twice before and sent our daughters to experience the amazing hospitality and wonderful cuisine during the course of 2012.
At short notice we decided to see the New Year in at the tip of Africa and we were certainly not disappointed. Phil and Sue are so personable and it is a pleasure to chat to them, despite them having plenty of duties to fulfil.
New Year's eve dinner 31st December 2012 was one that will remain with us for many years to come - the pre-dinner drinks were good; the meal was incredible (despite Chelsea not being there); the ambience tremendous and the setting really spectacular.
After the meal we saw in the New Year with new-found friends and what a wonderful new experience this was - one guest has been at the Country Lodge for the last 15 new year bashes and he didn't fail with his atomic clock (thanks for a great evening Hans).
The rooms are always most comfortable and the attention to detail is exquisite - we are already planning our next trip to the bottom of Africa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nice and warm atmosphere, cosy room, had 1 King and 1 single bed for our son, clean.
dinner setting in the dining rooms with fireplace etc was just relaxing.
Food served was excellent, well prepared, with a touch of haute cuisine.
Highly recommend this lodge.
Approx 3 km away from the most southern tip, not much else to see in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We arrive in Cape Agulhas on fridat. The original place we booked to stay was not quiet what we wanted on one of our few off weekends. So we climbed in the car and came across this little gem. The lodge has a amazing view, with all the rooms able to see the ocean. It has a brilliant on site resturant with amazing food cooked by the host. The best part is the value for money, in another other place this establishment would be double the price. They single handedly saved our stay in Cape Agulhas.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markfurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed there on a Sunday and Monday in the off season and had a wonderful stay! The owners Phil and Sue were really personable and charming and the hotel was neat, clean and warm with hospitality! The sunrise over the ocean was marvelous.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Situated 3 km from Africa's most southern tip you will find this unique country lodge. This place has got Charm, Character & Romance! Try to meet the owners; Phil is a retired Air Force Helicopter pilot and has got plenty of stories and pictures and their themed Bar. Sue is a great host and chef. What a romantic and awesome 5 course meal we had that evening! Stunning Sea views!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hetty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We went in August 2011. It was in their off season and they weren't full but they made us feel so welcome. My husband is vegetarian and they made delicious meals for him every night. The location for sunrise walks is prefect and we could watch the ocean from our bedroom

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_t0_Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Agulhas
15.6 mi away
Arniston Spa Hotel
Arniston Spa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arniston
794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agulhas Ocean House
Agulhas Ocean House
#1 of 7 in L'Agulhas
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachcombers Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ocean View Guest B&B
Ocean View Guest B&B
#2 of 5 in Struisbaai
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Agulhas Guest House
Cape Agulhas Guest House
#6 of 7 in L'Agulhas
31 reviews
15.5 mi away
16 on Main
16 on Main
#4 of 5 in Arniston
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agulhas Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agulhas Country Lodge

Property: Agulhas Country Lodge
Address: 673 Main Road, L'Agulhas 7287, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Cape Agulhas > L'Agulhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Agulhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Agulhas Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Agulhas Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agulhas Country Lodge Cape Agulhas, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing