We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Africa's hospitable tip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Point Self Catering and B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Africa's hospitable tip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at South Point L’Agulhas! It is a quick, refreshing and beautiful walk to the southernmost tip of Africa, which is watched over by the majestic lighthouse of L’Agulhas. The units are quaintly decorated with just the right amount of privacy, and only a short walk away from the surrounding stores, restaurants and wine boutique. Hilary herself was instrumental in advising us on what the attractions were in the area, and each one was an amazing experience in itself. For anyone who has been to the tip of Africa, I would most certainly recommend it, and where better to stay than South Point!!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mps19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    48
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
66
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Just a note of thanks for our wonderful night at South Point, Cape Agulhas. After a long road trip along the coast visiting all the light houses from Cape Town to Cape Agulhas, it was a refreshing relief to find such comfort and assured service at South Point. The fine weather allowed us to stroll through the town, enjoy an amazing supper and then a slow walk back to an early bed.
We were first up in the town and got to take some wonderful shots of the sun rise over the ocean reflected in the tidal pool with the full moon in the opposite sky.
After a wonderful breakfast at the lighthouse we had to drag ourselves away and back on the road.
We will definitely be back, so much to still see and do at the tip of Africa. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

Fairly easy spot to find (ignore any misleading GPS co-ordinates you may find online!). Found a warm & welcoming owner - yay! More facilities than we'd expected of a small self-catering venue were available. Parking bays, laundry, in-cottage satellite tv, fridge, cooker, pots, cutlery as well as our own private outdoor grill). The cottage had a simple, practical layout. Was within close proximity of the beaches, pools, pub, convenience store, curio shop/cafe, lighthouse and southernmost point of Africa! We were certainly sorry to leave our lovely cottage behind. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urijnaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

Cape Agulhas or the Southern Most Tip of Africa is a must visit, not just for bragging rights, but also because it is a quaint little village and the scenery is stunning!
To make your stay better, stay at the South Point Self Catering and B&B, where Hilary Marshall and her very efficient staff will take good care of you. We contacted Hilary early the morning that we decided to go to Cape Agulhas and she very promptly sorted out all the logistics. When we arrived, we were shown to our very neat and tidy unit with it's sparkling white tiles in the bathroom. Very welcome!
The unit itself is cosy but has everything that you need to make yourself comfortable. It is also 300m to the historic lighthouse and 1.5km to the southern tip of Africa (15min for those that want to walk).
Hilary recommended Angelos restaurant down the road from her (2mins walk). The food was in a word tastee! Shailou had a seafood basket with prawns, mussels, calamari, fish and chips that she said was the best she had ever eaten. I had the garlic pita bread which was also good. The atmosphere at the Angelos was also very welcoming on a bracingly cold evening.
This was a thouroughly enjoyable visit to the Southern Most Tip of Africa made all the more pleasant by a nice chalet, restaurant and people. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Clean, tidy and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Two single beds!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooben&Shailou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Agulhas
16.7 mi away
Arniston Spa Hotel
Arniston Spa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
1.0 mi away
Agulhas Country Lodge
Agulhas Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in L'Agulhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
20.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Agulhas Ocean House
Agulhas Ocean House
#1 of 7 in L'Agulhas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cape Agulhas Backpackers
Cape Agulhas Backpackers
#1 of 4 in Struisbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mermaid Guest House
Mermaid Guest House
#1 of 5 in Struisbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Self Catering and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Self Catering and B&B

Property: South Point Self Catering and B&B
Address: 190 Main Road, L'Agulhas 7287, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Cape Agulhas > L'Agulhas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in L'Agulhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — South Point Self Catering and B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point is a small personal establishment consisting of 6 self catering units in a courtyard setting. We are situated 100 metres from restaurants, art, coffee shops and the gates to Agulhas National Park, where you will find the southernmost tip of Africa, where the Indian and Atlantic Oceans meet. All our units are fully equipped including fresh white cotton linen and towels. The televisions have a good selection of satelite channels including all sport channels and 7 movie channels. Prices from R700 for a 2 sleeper to R900-R2000 for a 4 sleeper. Free wi-fi. Laundry service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your South Point Self Catering and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Self Catering And B&B Cape Agulhas, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing