We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostess very rude”
Review of Bon Amis

Bon Amis
Ranked #55 of 113 Restaurants in Durbanville
Cuisines: Sushi, Pizza, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed March 4, 2019

We stopped by to let our little one play on the awesome jungle gym and were standing around for a while looking for a spot. Eventually, a waitress cleared a table and we asked her if it is ok to sit down. She said yes it is fine. After ordering drinks and food the hostess came to the table and asked if we booked. We informed her we did not and she promptly said "well I have a 12:30 booking arriving so you have to move" We informed her we did ask before sitting and she replied "well you should have asked me" We politely asked if there was maybe a table we could just move to and finish our wine and we will pay and leave, no response. Didn't even bother to try and be accommodating. We felt like criminals.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank Lizette102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 172 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

Such a wonderfull venue and friendly service.
SO dissapointed in the food!!!!
We had breakfast from the set menu for 10pax.
It was the worst scrambled eggs I've ever seen. R150 per head for breakfast i would expect it to be better prepared.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Stephaniedw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019

We visited to celebrate a friend's birthday with a breakfast get together. His selection of Bon Amis for the occasion was great. The restaurant caters for groups and we were made to feel very welcome by the hosts. Food was great. Service was great.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NielG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019

We went to Bon Amis in December 2018 with a small group of people. From the start we experienced bad service. Booking for two outside tables had been made but they only gave us one....we had to put our own tables together in order to accommodate our small group.
The playground, is good for kids, however, they have a animal enclosure with rabbits. The rabbits had babies and the Bon Amis management allowed the children to pick them up and unfortunately, children had dropped two of the babies. The babies were suffering. The manager was told what had occurred and although he went to see to the animals, he still allowed children to enter the enclosure and continue to pick up the animals. He had zero empathy or management skills - he only had one of the waiters overseeing the animals and children. There should be someone (and more than 1 person) skilled in handling animals and children - or not have a animal enclosure at all.
We went inside the restaurant for dinner and the service was non-existant. The waiters didn't get the drinks or food orders correct. We talked to the manager who proceeded to do nothing about it. Out of 8 adults, 5 of the food orders were overcooked and tasted terrible. The last 3 orders were chicken pasta and, I have to say, this was a very nice dish. We ordered pizza's for 5 children and the order was also incorrect. The only good thing that I can say is that the manager did not charge us for 4 of the horrible dinners.

No-one in our group will ever go back to Bon Amis.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Leane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019 via mobile

Did the wine tasting first then had a great lunch with awesome wine, service and ambience while listening to The Professors. Venue highly recommended :)

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank MaryB7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Amis also viewed

Durbanville, Cape Town
Durbanville, Cape Town
 
Durbanville, Cape Town
Durbanville, Cape Town
 
Durbanville, Cape Town
 

Been to Bon Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing