We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

The Crown Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 113 Restaurants in Durbanville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Crown Restaurant & Wine Bar is situated on the picturesque Meerendal Wine Estate, Durbanville, Cape Town. Crown Restaurant privately owned and run by the owners, stylish,trendy and beautifully decorated and has spectacular views. The food philosophy is to keep it simple and elegant, fresh and tasty and the menu is designed accordingly & contains a variety of scrumptious local and seasonal items.
Reviewed February 8, 2019

When we walked in we thought the decor attractive and we had a very nice welcome.
However the food was poor......my husbands steak was OK but the chips were not fried but looked as if they had been put in the oven hours ago and reheated. I wasn’t hungry so ordered a bowl of tomato and butternut soup. The soup had a strange glutinous texture .....I had expected it to be a blend of butternut and tomato but the tomato bit came in the form of four barely cooked cherry tomatoes at the bottom of the soup. The soup also contained what seemed to be bits of chopped up presliced cheese. Truly the worst soup I have ever eaten ( or perhaps not eaten )
The only saving grace was our lovely waitress whose name I think was Asanda.
The women’s toilets could do with refurbishment....locks were missing on several.
So disappointed we chose this winery with so many excellent ones in the area.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jennyapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willibotha, Owner at The Crown Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2019

Dear Jenny,

Thank you for making the effort to write a review on your experience. This is certainly disappointing and not in line with the usual feedback we receive from our guests. We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

I am fully aware of your visit and that you sent your soup back to our kitchen, without allowing us the opportunity to engage. The soup that you describe is in fact a blend of roasted tomato and butternut that is prepared daily. We do use some roasted vine tomato's as a garnish and it is finished off with parmigiano reggiano (the cheese is certainly not processed pre-sliced cheese). The potato wedges served with our steak are actually double baked wedges of good quality potatoes (all of which were consumed by your husband who in fact finished his entire meal).

Despite your negative comments about our cuisine I am nonetheless relieved that our service levels met your expectations.

At the time of your visit we did have ONE ladies toilet door that had a faulty lock and it was awaiting a repair, which was actually completed the following day. All of the other doors are fully functional. I apologise for the fact that the one cubicle that you selected had a faulty door lock.

I feel it a bit unfair to knock the winery where we are situated just about a bowl of soup that did not suit your taste. The winery is one of the best in the area and our top rated restaurant adds value to the success of an already established and very successful international wine brand.

As a restauranteur I find one sided reviews hurtful and damaging to our industry and businesses alike and truly disappointing. I respectfully hope that you might consider the damage that this kind of review can cause an establishment before your next negative review. Please allow the next restaurant owner or manager the courtesy of an audience to try and resolve the disappointment amicably.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 210 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2019

I would just like to thank Werner Brand (Manager) for a fantastic experience at The Crown Restaurant. Not just the great tasting food but the personal service of Werner and his staff was fantastic! Well Done we will be back all the way from Johannesburg!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bigblade39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willibotha, Owner at The Crown Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2019

Dear Wessel,
Thank you very much for the lovely review! It is SO rewarding to receive reviews like yours and makes it all worth while! Hope we can welcome you back to our beautiful City very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019

The setting is incredible. Although I visited for dinner during the week, the setting would be excellent for weekend lunches as one would be able to appreciate the setting and gardens even more. Nice play areas for kids.

The ambience inside is good and decor different but functional and impressive. Some unique food options on the menu. Food was well presented, good quality and service good. Worth a visit.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Albertgerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willibotha, Owner at The Crown Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2019

Dear Albert,

Thank you so much for your valued review and comments. It motivates our team so much to receive positive feedback! Hope to be of service again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2019

Last minute decision to go out for Sunday Lunch... we have been to Ke Monate a little further along the same road but decided to give this a try instead. I am so glad we did !.. Sat outside on a perfect day ..the waitrons were constantly monitoring the sun and adjusting the umbrellas accordingly. The food was really good, prompt but relaxed service - the waitron - Linet was especially good, always around and attentive but not overly so. Prices are also very competitive, although we found the wines a bit expensive even though they are supposedly cellar door prices. Next door is Carlucci if you fancy pizzas etc . I would highly recommend this venue. They sell CBC beers and one a Wednesday they do a special of a burger and CBC beer free and 50% off on a second burger ordered. The burgers looked special although i didnt have one on this occasion. Well worth a try.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willibotha, Owner at The Crown Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2019

Dear Philip,

Thank you so much for this positive review. It is so rewarding to receive! Sincerely hope that we may be of service again in the near future.

Warmest Crown Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019

despite confirmed booking at nearby wine farm never happened because D.... FARM EATERY closed.
we had traveled 55 km from home to wine growing precinct/route - with restaurants
desperate '11th hr' (12:41) telephone booking to THE CROWN culminated in a somewhat pleasant experience

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Restaurant also viewed

Durbanville, Cape Town
 

Been to The Crown Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing