We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hussar Grill Willowbridge

The Hussar Grill Willowbridge
Ranked #1 of 88 Restaurants in Durbanville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the Willowbridge Lifestyle Centre in the northern suburbs of Cape Town, this Hussar Grill is renowned for being one of the best restaurants in Durbanville. The restaurant's interior takes its cue from the trademark Hussar Grill design - traditional grill room combined with old-school dining. It offers a light and airy outdoor seating area overlooking the green belt of the Elsiekraal River, where you can dine al fresco style in the warmer weather, as well as a comfortable and relaxed indoor dining section. The Hussar Grill Willowbridge is situated close to the Barnyard Theatre and is therefore an ideal venue for pre or post-show dinner.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Great steak, great professional service, always personal. Its like visiting old friends. Pricing reasonable and no corkage charge, which makes it good value for money

Helpful?
Thank Pierre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    108
    17
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best for red meat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have never been disappointed at this restaurant. I guess i have there about 10 to 15 times. A popular red meat restaurant. The service is good and enough options on the menu. I recommend all red meat options, ask the waiter for the recommended cut for the day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loren l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hussar Grill excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you want quality steak then Hussar Grill is the best restaurant in the Northern Suburbs. Bit pricey but the meat is always tender and the preparation is exactly as asked.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrevanderMerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
129 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Was very impressed by the Hussar grill. From the moment we walked in until we left. Had the best waiter i've ever had. The food takes some time to prepare but us worth the wait. Food and wine was very very good. Will not dine at another restaurant in that area again. Can't wait for my next trip to CT to visit this restaurant

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pieter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eating out perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

My fiance' and I took a couple to The Hussar as a thank you for hosting a party for us. Wanting to spoil them I suggested the Hussar Grill and a per all of my previous visits, none of us were disappointed. From the welcome to showing us the cuts of meat through the attentive service, great food and attention to detail, we all had a magnificent time out! Although they have a great wine list, they never charge corkage, giving guests the option of bringing their own wines without additional costs. Well done staff and management - I would recommend The Hussar for any type of outing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stevea433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hussar Grill Willowbridge also viewed

Durbanville, Cape Town
 
Durbanville, Cape Town
Durbanville, Cape Town
 
Durbanville, Cape Town
Durbanville, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Willowbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing