We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Cattle Baron

Cattle Baron
Ranked #6 of 89 Restaurants in Durbanville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were invited to our local Cattle Baron by neighbours in Durbanville. I'm always suspicious of chain steak restaurants having had some terrible meat smothered in goo, but the Cattle Baron was a very nice surprise. It is set in an unlikely spot in a small retail court with a small entrance on the ground floor, but the restaurant, on the first floor and over the shops, has a nice atmosphere and the parking is dead easy too in the evening.
I had a plain steak, chips and veg, my wife a steak special and we shared a calamari starter. Our friends ate from the buffet. It was all well presented and cooked and very well priced, including free corkage!
We will make it one of our regular eateries.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    64
    17
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“brilliant eating venue”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

the service, and welcoming attitude of the management and in particular "my" waiter, Jade.
Jade is the best waiter ever met, he knows my needs, after my second visit to CB, he knew, my wine preference, my whisky mix, and without pre-booking, he remembered my name. i have taken othet patrons there, and every single one, was astounded with his service

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Hamburger Evening”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Catlle Baron has Hamburger specials on Monday nights. All basic hamburgers are R 29- and then you add your extra's for R 5 per item. This is very good value for money. The hamburger patties (Beef or Chicken) are large and tender. The chips or salad (you can choose) are nice and then two vegetables are also served. The atmosphere is vibey and the restaurants are usually fully booked on these evenings. Service is prompt and the waiters are friendly. I am not a big hamburger fan, but this is not bad for the odd occasion. Will surely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeinOos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Friendly waiters. Lots of dishes to choose from (vegetarian, white meat and of course...red meat). Sunday buffet is THE best anywhere! You'll have to book, though, as they're always extra busy on a Sunday (or any 'buffet day' for that matter). Quality of food is excellent - we often order take aways (ribs - yay!).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Buffet on Sunday”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Good value, good tasting meal pity the seafood ran out early the balance was good ...3 couples all were happy with the meal only a small drawback not worth bickering was the queue at times

Helpful?
Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattle Baron also viewed

Durbanville, Cape Town
 

Been to Cattle Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing