We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible”
Review of Poplars Restaurant

Poplars Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 113 Restaurants in Durbanville
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: European, Italian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled between mature gardens on the beautiful D'Aria Wine Farm, Poplars Restaurant is housed in a heritage Cape Dutch Farmhouse, one of the oldest in the Durbanville Wine Valley. The elegantly decorated rooms provide for intimate but relaxed winter evenings in front of the many open fires. The large shaded garden provides an idyllic spot to wine away lazy summer days, whilst sharing charcuterie and mezze boards. The Italian inspired menu caters to a wide range of tastes that is complimented by award winning wines from the winery and surrounding area. Both the 'Backyard' (braai area) and Bar are popular with locals in the evenings, with a live music a weekly occurrence. Only 30 minutes from both Cape Town city centre and the International airport, Poplars is the ideal escape for conferences, corporate events and private events, including weddings. The restaurant is open daily from 10am for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Reviewed March 12, 2019

poplars restaurant years ago was an excellent restaurant.
sadly this is no longer the case. we were there on sunday for breakfast and it was the worst meal we had had in a very long time. how wrong can you go with breakfast? plenty, it seems. the blame rests on managements shoulder. the manager was non existent... never once came to check on us. we waited over and hour and a half for our food. i could go on and on. its a great shame as the setting is lovely but will we return?? extremely doubtful.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank charl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 379 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2019 via mobile

Quaint place, exceptional setting in the countryside. Like the separate rooms that they divide guests into. Deco is basic but original. Menu is limited, wine list comprehensive but expensive. Service is good. Once you finished your meal you meander into darkness. No lights. No lights in the parking area either. This with the limited menu puts darkness on this play.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Roedig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019

Terrible service! Made a booking, when we arrived @ 13h00 they gave our table away. We were provided with another table just to be told later that we can't sit there due to a reservation.

Not all food options on menu are available. Had to select my second choice.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 09CC_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

Bad news when you order a bottle of wine from the menu and it is not available..... The slow roasted lamb shanks however made up for this. Service was on the OK side but can be better. Overall a fair evening.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Peertjies71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019

We visit the D'aria farm almost monthly and decided to book at the new Backyard venue (part of the Poplars restaurant) for my birthday. Thought we would quickly have a look as we were driving past on Sunday - thank goodness we did. 2m from the Jungle Gym where the kids are supposed to play it looks like a dump. There is rubbish everywhere and no regard for the beautiful nature all around. I heard my child screaming as she was surrounded by glass and couldn't move. There is no gate or fence to separate the play area from the dumpster. Booking cancelled.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank Lizette102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poplars Restaurant also viewed

 
Durbanville, Cape Town
Durbanville, Cape Town
 
Durbanville, Cape Town
 

Been to Poplars Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing