We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence all round”
Review of Our Place - CLOSED

Our Place
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellence all round”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great food off a simple but tasty menu. Simple and elegant decor. Always excellent service. An all round qulity experience and value for money too. Recommended for lunch, tea and cake or a special night out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimJones24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty Sunday lunch special”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently visited Our Place on a Sunday afternoon and had the Sunday lunch special. It was really tasty and good value for money. The inside of the restaurant is very elegantly decorated but yet you do not need to dress up. It is a welcome change to the mostly franchise type restaurants in the Durbanville area.
Tip: For groups as small as 6 people, the service charge is already added to the bill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindadK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Looking forward to our next visit!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our Place really does feel like home...a very chic home inside perfect for romantic couples, and outside the young ones (and their parents) are well catered for. I particularly love the lights in the trees at night and dinner service was superb. While the menu is relatively small, the portions are generous and between the 7 of us everyone really enjoyed our meal...we had kingklip, salmon, lamb and pizzas - with an honorable mention for the chocolate brownie - I'll be back again for that!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank omnitravelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Durbanville favourite”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The best hamburger in Durbanville. As the waiter described it: "as high as Table Mountain" filled with flavour and tastefully served. It was a sunny Autumn day and we sat under the Old Oak tree. Absolute bliss

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HanlieDurbanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Dining outside one could be mistaken that you are dining in a foreign country.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Sit outside on a perfrect summer night under the trees and the stars. Fairy lights are all over the garden and in the trees. Decorations are very chic and orginal. Service is really good and the ambiance is peaceful, a perfect place to relax with freinds or romantically dining someone special. Food selection is good and food is tasty. Pricing is reasonable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJ_Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Place also viewed

Durbanville, Cape Town
 
Durbanville, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing