We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting mix of modern and slightly older....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Star Sollentuna
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sollentuna
Reviewed April 30, 2012

As I walked in to the hotel, I was greeted with a strange, yet pleasant, mix of old and new. The staircase down to the banquetting suite is surrounded by a white-painted wrought-iron ballustrade, not something you expect in a typical moden hotel! The feeling of "old style" extends to the rooms, where it seems many (including the one I was in) are actually 2 room suites: the bedroom is a good sized room in its own right, but then there is the "reception room" with a large (bed-)settee, desk, and a CRT TV, and more spare "space".

The en-suite roomy bathroom, clearly recently refurbished, is clean, and comes with both a shower cubicle AND a bath!

The beds (I had a twin room) were of typical Nordic design: a divan base with a slim mattress on top. Normally I find this style of bed to be comfortable, but the one here was, I'm afraid, a bit TOO hard, and I woke up each morning feeling distinctly stiff.

Overall, the room was clean, but you could see several places where its age was showing: stains on the windowsill where water has come in an open window over the years; repairs to the ceiling, along with yet another area of peeling plaster / paint; various "cover plates" where the electric system has changed over time....

One downside I noticed in my room (316) was the constant back-ground "whooshing" of water flow in the heating system. Luckily I have a hearing problem, and removing my hearing aids got rid of most of the noise! But others could find this annoying.

The rooms are heated by hot-water radiators with thermostats, which kept the room reasonably pleasant. Without any obvious air-conditioning, I wonder how the rooms would feel in summer.

Breakfast was in the large dining area at the rear of the ground floor, split into a large area with long rows of tables, and a more open area with smaller tables. There was a good selection of cereals, cold continental food, fruits, yogurts, as well as a choice of cooked food. Even more impressive was the small table with "-free" foods: gluten-free bread, lactose-free milk, soya & rice milk etc.

I was working in Kista, which meant a daily taxi: this was organised very pleasantly and efficiently by the reception staff. If you need to get to / from the Airport, or Stockholm City Centre, then Sollentuna train station is just 2 or 3 minutes from the hotel, with the bus station adjacent.

So, a bit of an old-world feel in places, with a few corners starting to show their age, but generally this hotel feels well maintained by a pleasant set of staff.

It was a bit expensive, but so are most of the other options in the Sollentuna and Kista area, but you probably get a bigger room here than in the alternatives.

Would I return? If the hotels in Kista were full (as they were this time) then definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul_blitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 610 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

Great hotel got upgrade on arrival, lovely interior, good food, nice and clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

It is well connected. Stayed there twice 2 nights each, on business trip. Pretty big room with all modern facilities. Plush breakfast and cleanliness in no shortage

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Athens Tourism
Thank Rohit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Working in the Kista district in the outskirts of Stockholm, this hotel is a wise, if not economical choice.
With more space, mainly in the public areas, this Scandic has become my preferred stop over hotel for Stockholm. Fastpris taxi fare is 405sek from Arlanda and you can reach bromma easier than stopping in the centre of town.
Staff seem slightly happier here and the food better than most.
If you want to enjoy Stockholm nightlife, choose the Scandic Park, if you're working this is better.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nickit7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This hotel is simply wonderful! Rooms are good, comfortable, consisting of living room, bathroom (actually bath, wash basin, toilet and shower) and bedroom. There is a desk,coffee table, small refrigerator. Quiet location, you can walk the neighborhood, near a church (on the mountain) and the river. Nearby there is a large supermarket with very reasonable prices and the usual work schedule, those hours to 10 pm open.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bagin1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I have to say that if your looking for a functional clean hotel just outside of Stockholm then this is your Hotel. From a business point of view it's perfect for one night or so. If I was having to spend a lot of time in Stockholm I think I would have to look elsewhere.

The rooms are ok the beds are perhaps on the small side intact the very small side. If your a little on the wide side then you might struggle a bit. The bathroom is well appointed, clean and functional with both a bath and a separate shower. although when it's -4 outside the heated floor in the bathroom is bliss.

The gym is usable but not extensive in kit. If your looking for a quick workout then its good enough.

There is a reasonable quality WiFi connection available to all guests.

In short this is a business hotel not a holiday hotel or romantic.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimbobK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This hotel is a very good choice if you want to stay just outside Stokholm, and reach the central station by communter train in just 10 minutes. Kista offices can be reached very quickly by taxi and Arland Airport is a 20 mins ride.
The Scandic restaurants have never disappointed me, good food and well served.
Breakfast is made of an huge buffet, with plenty of fresh food; great choice also if you are vegetarian .
The rooms are not too big but functional and clean.
My only problem at the scandic hotels, is the air which is to dry, no humidity at all!
Just outside the hotel there is a shopping centre, very handy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sollentuna
The Winery Hotel
#2 of 11 in Solna
421 reviews
Scandic Infra City
#1 of 2 in Upplands-Vasby
588 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#29 of 155 in Stockholm
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Taby
#2 of 4 in Taby
235 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#27 of 155 in Stockholm
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Star Sollentuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Star Sollentuna

Address: 8 Aniaraplatsen | Stockholm, Sollentuna 191 47, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Sollentuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sollentuna
Price Range: $88 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hotel Star Sollentuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located next to one of Stockholm's largest shopping malls and only 15 minutes drive from central Stockholm. Hotel Scandic Star Sollentuna is strategically located at the northern entrance to Stockholm, only 15 minutes drive from Stockholm City. Sollentuna Centrum is one of Stockholm's largest shopping malls with over 130 stores and is located next to the hotel. Our hotel is also close to nature, ideal for walking and jogging.Facility Visit our hotel restaurant for a delicious meal, and order coffee and drinks in one of our 2 hotel bars. At hotel Scandic Star in Sollentuna, we also have a relaxation centre with a pool and sauna, as well as our own spa, Star Spa. Our hotel offers one of Sweden's largest conference facilities with 18 conference venues for up to 500 people. There's wifi throughout the whole hotel at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Star Sollentuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Star Sollentuna Sweden - Stockholm County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing