We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Rica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Five stars? No way! But a lovely view: yes! We stayed six nights in the appartment on the ground floor of the building next to the hotel, paying 450 Euro. I enjoyed the stay although the swimming pool was too cold to swim in and the playground was falling apart. The appartment was old-fashioned (though with typical details), huge and medium equipped. There is a washing machine that works well. All in all, the appartment and the playground could use a make-over. Now it feels a bit like living and sleeping in a Swedish brocante ('loppis'); or 'kringloopwinkel' for the Dutch readers ;-). The host Alfredo is very friendly and speaks good English. Wifi is available next to the office of the hotel. The restaurant is ok. The last part of the car drive reaching the location is challenging for people that are used to flat land. I would recommend arriving at daytime the first time. Would I stay here again? I guess I might, but in one of the rooms asking for a reasonable price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank soeske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    47
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
58
85
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We only stayed at Villa Rica one night on our way to the Aeolian Islands at the end of May 2013.
As mentioned in other reviews the staff were very friendly, we were given lifts both from and to the railway station. They also seemed totally unphased when we arrived late for breakfast because we had not changed the time on the phone.
We stayed in a room in what seemed to be a newly constructed block of two room a short distance from the main building with nice views over the hotel pool and the Aeolian Islands. Additional seats/loungers on the veranda, tidying the pool area and cutting the grass in the olive/orange grove would make it exceptional.
Pre dinner drinks were a disappointment the six other guests were occupying all the available seats on the veranda adjacent to the restaurant so we were given two chairs from the restaurant. The restaurant is an amazing Grand Designs type conversion of an old olive press. The evening meal we had was not great, but they had catered a large party in the afternoon to celebrate the first communion.
The continental breakfast was good with a nice fresh fruit salad.
So as in the title of the review Villa Rica has great potential, if it was tidied and had more seats it would be much better. However when we visited was before the main holiday season and all those things may be sorted by then.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Villa Rica
We (me and my wife) have spent 5 nights at Villa Rica in May 2013. I would like to share with you some of my impressions about the place and surroundings.
Villa Rica is an agroturismo with a style. It is situated on a hill overlooking a valley with and opening towards the sea. Your holiday starts at the parking lot where you can admire Lipari Islands right in front of you. From there it only gets better. You slowly discover that you are in a very peaceful area surrounded by oranges, olives and grapes, not mentioning lizards of all kinds wondering around you.
The localization is certainly the big advantage of the place. It is a genuine agroturismo, meaning it is in the middle of nowhere far from noise and the roads. At the same time close enough to interesting places to visit if you have a car. Let me just mentioned a couple of trips we have made: the closes beach you can find is: Marinello, just to illustrate take a look at the link
https://www.google.nl/search?q=marinello&rlz=1C1LENP_enNL500NL500&aq=f&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=en&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=yHqPUceZAunQ0QWquICIAw&biw=1092&bih=492&sei=ynqPUdPaFcXB0gWl-4CoBw#imgrc=vDHffY-5u41WeM%3A%3BrfBx2T8slxN1FM%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.progettocuturi.com%252Fimages%252Fmarinello600.jpg%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.progettocuturi.com%252Fterritorio-uk.htm%3B600%3B450
In my humble opinion, it is one of the most exciting beaches of Sicily. Not touristic, empty very spacious and interestingly shaped by sand; surrounded by a big rock where Tindary is located. In the latter you will find Monastery and impressive Teatro Greco, worth spending few hours.
Another trip worth undertaking is MonteAlbano (don not try to enter the old city with a car). A stone town; absolutely breathtaking. Not described in touristic guides which only added to our surprise and feeling of traveling in time. Montealbano is sort of on the way to Taormina from Villa Rica. I do not think I need to introduce Taormina but one thing to mention: getting there from Villa Rica via Montealbano is an experience on its own (we manage with fiat panda, although the engine was screaming for mercy at times).
Next place to visit is certainly Cefalu, with its nice atmosphere and old sights.
For those that would like to see active volcano there is Stromboli. Another Lipary islands are also worth checking out. You can get there from Milazzo (or simply by asking Alfredo).
All in all there is quite a lot of things to see and experience around Villa Rica. However, the location is not the only asset that Villa Rica possesses. Two main advantages of this place which in my eyes make it unique is hospitality and a great food.
The central person and the owner of the place is Alfredo (my best regards to you Alfreado!). He is truly taking care of you. As a result you get the feeling of being treated as friend instead having a hotel service experience. This is also approach of other stuff members i.e. Gracja (my best regards to you Gracja)!
The food: I have tried many restaurants (guided by trip advisor) and can honestly say that Villa Rica is a certainly outstanding one. Also worth mentioning is the fact that Alfredo will do his best to get you a meal even if you are too late or too early!
The breakfast is rather simple but tasty, I have especially enjoyed the freshly pressed orange juice from the garden next to the restaurant. One of the places nearby I could recommend is Donna Rossa (Olivieri).
The place itself: It is a nicely renovated villa, not a typical agroturismo were you get the feeling that you will be asked to help with land works but a stylish place made of wood and stone. It was renovated with attention to details and is well maintained. The rooms are specious and have great view.
I guess by now you have notice that I am a bit biased … but it is only because I fall in love with the place and Sicily in general. I could risk a statement that it is a perfect getaway for visiting north of Sicily and Lipary islands. Enjoy!
Cheers!
J.Lu

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, Gelderland, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice place, good food for low prices. Nothing special bit à good place to relax and make daytrips to Milazzo ( and thus lipari)! Patti marina is à small town with some good bars for lunch and nice beaches. The englisch of THE hosts is poor but they are more than willing to help you (the old lady does know some french).
Ps the view on the sea is just great. Be aware of the rocky road the resort.

Room Tip: No à/c in our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Villa Rica and wished we could have stayed for longer. The setting is just stunning - amazing views down the mountains and over the Aolian Islands. Our room was spacious and had a terrific view, the pool was spotless, the oranges orange ... The breakfast was freshly prepared - Fanny had even peeled prickly pears for us at great personal risk - and it was great to be able to eat in in the evening so we didn't have to brave the mountain road in the dark! We wished we could have stayed longer. If you want a quiet place to stay in an unbelievable spot, this is the place for you. We were even given a pot of homemade jam as a parting gift! We'll be back ...

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il Gzira, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Villa Rica has an excellent view from the front rooms. Six of the seven Aeolian Islands are visible from these rooms. Not only the owners but also the staff are always ready to make your stay pleasant. Villa Rica boasts of an expanse of land where one can choose to relax in or even explore. The genuine food on their menu is traditionally Sicilian and their house wine is as lovely as their hospitality. We loved every moment of the four days we spent there and What struck us most is that the owners as well as the staff made it a point to bid us guests farewell, leaving us a little souveignier to take home with us. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The best rooms in my opinion are those facing the sea view. Although the sea is some twenty minutes...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KarenBriffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed with a mixed group, friends and children , 1 night in mid August.
The setting of the villa is fantastic and the views from the terrace bar/restaurant are great. Our room looked out over the valley and was light and spacious (number 2 I think) TV with sat channels for bored children.
The pool was a little murky during our stay, but was fine to use. I ordered a bottle of white wine and was presented with a lable-less green bottle of straw coloured liquid! I was told it was produced locally, I feared the worst. It was however one of the best wines I had tasted that week! Price? E4!
The staff were great and even tailored a menu to suit the kids that evening.Had no problem with serving us with said wine on the terrace until 2am and later had we wanted. The drive to the Villa is a little bizarre through an industrial estate and then a rally track. Well worth it though. Would stay again without question. 2 minutes down the track from the villa is a vineyard with shop. Great local wines from E1.5 up to E15 Called "Damoene" or similar.

Room Tip: Room at the front over the restaurant have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twatsons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patti
23.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
11.5 mi away
Casali di Margello
Casali di Margello
#7 of 20 in Messina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
23.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#27 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Antica Tindari s.r.l
Antica Tindari s.r.l
#1 of 18 in Patti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Timeto Resort
Timeto Resort
#3 of 18 in Patti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Hotel Villa Carlotta
#2 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rica

Property: Villa Rica
Address: Contrada Mortizzi, 98060, Patti, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Patti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Patti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Rica 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Rica is an ideal place to spend a pleasant holiday in Sicily, in contact with nature and away from the city noise. You will find yourself in a peaceful oasis among secular olive, orange and fruit groves, a typical Mediterranean scenario. Seven km ahead of you the sea and the Eolian Island will render magic and unforgettable this corner of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rica Patti, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing