We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Week in Villa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Rica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Rica
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Week in Villa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed there for a week in April, and have only the best impressions of that stay. The location is very quiet and peaceful, with a great view from the terraces and rooms. It is up the hill, but with a car you are down to the sea-shore in just 15 minutes.It is in the middle of a orange orchard, such a delight for the children to pick the orages and eat them directly from the tree. And a self-made confiture made of the same oranges is so tasty! The perfect attention from a very friendly staff - even when we had to leave early (like for a boat trip to the islands) we had breakfast, same as when we were quite late for supper. The food is excellent, really suggest taking a halfboard there. We enjoyed the time there very much and would definitely like to come back there once again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liubov K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    47
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
60
86
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed last October for 10 days in Villa Rica (the ground floor appartment) and had a realy good time. The appartment is wide, maybe a little bit outdated but charming. Villa Rica is runned by Alfredo together with his friendly relax staff. Helpful and also kindful to our 3 years old daughter We have good memories about the table tennis games with Alfredo and his cousin ;) and the wine taste at the neighbour, vineyard Daemone. We enjoyed the fine food: varied, tasty and good price/quality. If you prefer fish - we do - inform the staff in the morning or the night before. The villa is situated on a hill overlooking the Aeolian Islands and ideally located for trips. And it is quiet...

Koen, the Netherlands

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We chose Villa Rica because of its wonderful location in the hills overlooking the Mediterranean sea and the Aeolian islands: we stayed in a room in a converted barn of just two rooms with its own verandah and magnificent views over the pool to the sea with the forested hills behind us: it was very, very peaceful as we were surrounded by their orange orchard... Unlike other reviews, we found the members of the Napoli family and their staff all incredibly helpful and so welcoming. We stayed for a week and the staff were only too happy to seat us out on the balcony to enjoy the views: one evening, when the wind rose, the proprietor himself came by with light blankets for us all if needed. By the end, we were becoming bored with the dinner selection, which was largely the same each evening - although plentiful and a variety of Sicilian flavours. However, when I commented that I was sad that there was no fish on the menu, this was rectified the following evening. The freshly squeezed orange juice from their own orchards was a real treat at breakfast time. I do agree with another reviewer that the radio music was intrusive and was there more for the enjoyment of the staff rather than guests but this has been our experience all over Italy. Villa Rica is ideally located for trips to the Aeolian Islands and for visiting the historic sites of Tindarys (minutes away!),Taormina and Etna. ChristineM, England

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineM45234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Villa Rica is a beautifully restored mansion with a spectacular view over the eolian islands, but....
- We found the staff friendly but rather unprofessional (often asleep when we tried to find them, not willing to let us take the breakfast table on the beautiful sunny terrace, loud radio music throughout breakfast, etc.)
- In contrast to several good reviews, the quality of food did not match our expectations (we only had lunch at our arrival, which seemed to be heated-up left-overs, the owners called it fresh pasta...)
- What we missed most of all was some lack of atmosphere and personal commitment.

All in all this place has great potential but lacks a warm and honest hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthundTobi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We travelled around Sicily for 12 days and Villa Rica was our last stop.
We were very sorry that we could only stay 1 night. If we had discovered this beautiful, quiet, dreamy place sooner, we would have stayed longer.
The Villa is beautifully restored and houses a lovely orchard with oranges, lemons and grapes.
The swimming pool is all you need to enjoy refreshment from the Siciliian sun and what else but "paradise" comes to mind when you are swimming with a view of the green hill?
We did not leave the place but just enjoyed all it had to offer and had a delicious dinner at the ristorante.

Are you going to Sciliy? Do not miss out on Villa Rica - you would be sorry

Isabelle & Stef - Belgium

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We loved this location, and even planned it again for our next year's holidays.
Unfortunately, too many times the staff from villa Rica disappointed us, and now we decided to cancel.
The prices changed at the moment of paying, we got shown the door at 11:30 for cleaning the room, and the breakfast quality was really disappointing and moldy !
If you still decide to go, just check twice before eating something, and get the price signed down before hanging your passports.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

- Casual and friendly staff.
- Nice swimming pool: we were often the only guest enjoying it.
- Spacious, old, rustique rooms with sufficant comfort.
- Restaurant with beutiful view, delicious food and reasonably rapid service.
- We appreciated the silence and tranquility of the site. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Spacious, old, rustique rooms with sufficant comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patti
23.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
31.5 mi away
Casali di Margello
Casali di Margello
#7 of 20 in Messina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.7 mi away
Antica Tindari s.r.l
Antica Tindari s.r.l
#1 of 18 in Patti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Agriturismo Santa Margherita
Agriturismo Santa Margherita
#1 of 15 in Gioiosa Marea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.6 mi away
Medimare Residence Club
4.5 mi away
Le Rocche Agriturismo
Le Rocche Agriturismo
#1 of 3 in San Piero Patti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rica

Property: Villa Rica
Address: Contrada Mortizzi, 98060, Patti, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Patti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Patti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Rica 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Rica is an ideal place to spend a pleasant holiday in Sicily, in contact with nature and away from the city noise. You will find yourself in a peaceful oasis among secular olive, orange and fruit groves, a typical Mediterranean scenario. Seven km ahead of you the sea and the Eolian Island will render magic and unforgettable this corner of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rica Patti, Italy - Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing