We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found in Italy”
Review of Il Fontanaro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paciano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Fontanaro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 2, 2010

A charming and unique place! The hosts think of everything to make you comfortable and are attentive to your every need! They are wine and cooking masters (with degrees to prove it) There are lakes, vineyards, an infinity pool with salt water, hot tub, beautiful & friendly dogs, all the comforts of home like books, movies, wireless internet, a full kitchen to do your cooking and most exciting of all: you step outside your door to pick the vegetables and herbs and fruits to eat and cook with from their organic garden! They produce and bottle their own olive oil and honey, left complimentary in your room as you arrive! If the guests so desires, they can completely "go off the grid" and enter a world free from stress and bustle. There is farm land and blue sky that reaches to the horizon. The charming village of Paciano is within walking distance including a market for delicious pastas, meats, and cheeses. We wanted to extend our reservation, but unfortunately it was all booked up. Understandably so! We are coming back again. A must for anyone wanting to experience rest, relaxation, the slower and greener life in Italy!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capoderra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 237 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2010

I have been to many places in my life and few are as memorable and gorgeous as this. The host Lucia and Alina her daughter are two of the strongest and beautiful people I have met. We went with another two couples and stayed in the new villa, upstairs. The decor is part of what makes this incredible, solid wood exposed beams, terracotta italian tiles, marble countertops, it is truly more beautiful than any picture gives it... an experience one must live.
Lucia also helped me in celebrating the most memorable of birthdays for my wife... this just after the most tragic of occasions in her life... again a true hostess and a true woman of virtue and strength...
We also got some great advice from our hosts and spent a wonderful week visiting places they suggested and oh my God talk about Tuscany being one of the places that has received a kiss from God and blessed with beauty.
Everything about this place is amazing. A must see and a home I plan to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelersfromPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We spent a week at Fontanaro, in the Leccino Cottage, and we immediately knen deep in our bones that we had entered Paradise. The grounds exude the beauty of olive trees, copious flowers in bloom, spectacular roses and organic gardens. The infinity pool and site are private and perfect for laps and lounging. The romantic cottage is exceptionally well appointed with everything one would want or need in experiencing Umbrian living to its fullest. Lucia and Alina Pinelli embraced us as family and enhanced our visit with their warmth, fabulous food and wines, exceptional highest quality olive oil and most importantly for us, their time, friendliness and sincere hospitality. At Fontanaro, you live in the moment. We can't wait to go back and reconnect with the parts of ourselves we left there. All of Toscano and Umbria are at hand. Bona Fortuna!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waterfire100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

You know how when you look at places to stay on the Internet and when you arrive the place is never quite a nice as depicted online? Fontanaro is the opposite. The pictures on their website does not do it justice. It is much more pretty, enjoyable and relaxing than a website could ever portray.

The USA is our country but Paciano is our new home. We love you and miss you Lucia.....Sid, Tory, Gus, Marta, Jack and Angels

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SidneyC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Staying at Il Fontanaro was a fabulous experience. Lucia is a treasure, has a heart of gold, and will do anything for her guests. She even offered to pick us up from the train station in Chiusi.
The place was gorgeous - flowers everywhere, the songs of birds, scents of herbs, a garden with wonderful strawberries, cottages that are well-designed and equipped with all the basics, including a bottle of her own olive oil.
We stayed for several nights and had to push ourselves to leave the place during the day. With her directions it is a snap to get to her place from Perugia (a wonderful city). You wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in the area. We wouldn't.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I can highly recommend this beautiful home in Paciano, Umbria, Italy. I said home, but it is a new building with 3 apartments designed in the traditional style. Each unit is beautifully decorated and has everything you might need, including views and a pool. We were a group of 5 couples and occupied the entire building. Lucia and Sandro were our hosts and did everything they could to make our visit as enjoyable as possible. They made reservations at wineries for tastings, recommended restaurants and places to visit. I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith_fromOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Here in the small town of Paciano, amid the Umbria hills, you will find a small corner of heaven. My husband and I discovered Fontanaro by chance during some online searching. We were looking for something more intimate than a big hotel, something in a villa style outside of a big city. This is the perfect place to relax and explore the Umbria and Tuscany countrysides. We have since been back to Fontanaro over six times. This is one of the most beautiful places in Italy that we have been to. Sandro and Lucia are the most gracious of hosts, both kind and welcoming. They treat everyone like family and will help you with travel, dining, shopping, etc. The various cottages are beautiful and have all the amenities you could ask for. Their properties are stunning, impeccably kept and offer pools, a jacuzzi and wonderful views. This is a working farm which produces olive oil and honey. We can honestly say they make the best olive oil and honey we have ever tasted. Lucia offers cooking classes and cooks with produce and herbs right out of her garden. It is a constant treat and a true culinary experience at her table. Sandro is a skilled sommelier and gives fantastic wine tastings on request. He will sing for you too! All and all, you will find Fontanaro and unforgettable experience and leaving longing to return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelly299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paciano
5.2 mi away
Villa di Monte Solare
Villa di Monte Solare
#1 of 2 in Tavernelle di Panicale
696 reviews
15.2 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
758 reviews
8.3 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
853 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Aganoor
Hotel Aganoor
#5 of 24 in Castiglione del Lago
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Relais Mastro Cinghiale
Relais Mastro Cinghiale
#3 of 5 in Paciano
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Fontanaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Fontanaro

Address: Vocabolo Montanaro 64, 06060 Paciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Paciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Paciano
Price Range: $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At FONTANARO the main estate there are 2 homes for rent: the leccino and frantoio. Fonte Cicerum is the private maxi villa available also with private chef. Tartagli estate have the homes named Brunello Sagrantino Sangiovese Fontegirasole is shared with Sassicaia Tignanello Ornellaia guida al tasso and Desiderio homes. Each unit have its own eco infinity swiming pool, AC (but not at fontanaro as it is 100 ecological and run by solar panels) wi fi, fully equipped kitchen with dish washer and washing machine or separate laundry satellite TV ipod speaker, welcome soaps, welcome breakfast for the first day with eggs, organic honey, milk etc etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing