We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Fontanaro
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Da Elio(Piegaro)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa di Monte Solare(Tavernelle di Panicale)
$136
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday House Borgo Badia(Perugia)(Great Value!)
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Al Poggio dei Papi(Citta della Pieve)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vannucci(Citta della Pieve)
$141
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais dei Magi(Citta della Pieve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveler rating
238
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking classolive oilpastawonderful experienceumbria and tuscanythe main housecooking lessontiramisuinfinity poolmade us feelhome away from homeslow livinggracious hostsgrape harvestbreathtaking viewscooking schoolher daughter
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 244 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I arrived after hours of traveling and immediately were greeted with lovely hospitality. We were lucky enough to be near the main house so we enjoyed time outside with Lucia and Alina on many occasions. The grounds are beautiful and the views breathtaking, especially sunrise and sunset! We loved the wine tasting excursions with Alina and visiting the wonderful towns in Umbria and Tuscany. We definitely felt like family by the time we had to leave and are already planning our next trip there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halvorsen5455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Alina & Lucia are the most gracious hostess.....eager & energetic; so friendly and welcoming, always with smiles & enthusiasm. Felt very at home immediately. The views are grand, the villa spacious, clean, full kitchen and sun deck; lovely clean pool and outside patio. Enjoyed our pasta making day & pizza making afternoon...we learned so much. Always keen to give traveling advice. you will love this retreat....so quiet.
oxoxox Ed & Alice

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALICE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What a way to end a 3-week vacation touring Italy. From the time Lucia picked us up at the train station until our week of bliss at Fontanaro ended I was in sensory overload!! The beauty of the surroundings & the warmth,care & knowledge of Lucia & Alina make you feel like you always belonged here....family forever! The highlight for Gary & I was being part of the grape harvest...wine flowing, music filling the vineyard & laughs with our new friends & family. This is not a vacation destination....rather a total immersion into Italian culture....Thank you & can't wait to return : )

Room Tip: Any room you choose will make you happy. We stayed in the Loft ( over the olive mill & honey lab). Lots of privacy, spacious & views of Paciano & the hillside.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NyQueenb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just returned from Italy and had a wonderful time staying here. We stayed at their newer location, Sunflower Spring, and then took a cooking class at the Fontanaro location. Would love to bring a larger group next time and rent a bigger portion of Sunflower Spring. Very personal and friendly service by all! Look forward to a return trip sometime. Great location for exploring more of the hill country in Tuscany and Umbria too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAStravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This has been the best holyday for me in the last 5 years.
It was like entering heaven, the atmosphere was amazingly warm welcoming. I felt at ease and immediately at home.
There are not many people like Alina and Lucia their kindness and smiles really come from the heart.
The place is cured to detail, is very very clean, and has so many different roses it looks like an exhibition. Surrounded by nature gives a very peaceful feeling, it was really relaxing.
The delicious homemade meals were served with excellent wines, presented by Alina who studied to be a sommelier.
They have installed an olive mill for their own olive oil which is really special.
The swimming pool is extraordinary. It has a filter with salt. The filter makes the water slightly salty, but when you get out of the water there is no salty feeling left on your skin.
I still often think about that holiday.
Hoping to go back very soon, I guard a wonderful memory of those days.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Theo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews