We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate stay in Regal surrounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais del Castello di Oviglio
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oviglio
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Intimate stay in Regal surrounds”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is a little off the beaten path but well worth the visit.
Set in an old castle, the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated with antiques. The hotel offers all the modern comforts including high speed free wifi,spacious bathrooms and cable tv with many language channels.The service and attention to the customer however remain pleasantly old fashioned and personal. Carlo,the restaurant manager ensures that.
The food served by the castles restaurant was impeccable and served in an historic dining room.
Although a four star this hotel is reasonably priced and represents excellent value.
Well worth a visit for the food, the ambience and the service.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to offer great views and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    45
    10
    9
    6
See reviews for
28
102
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Castello di Oviglio yesterday as guests to a wedding party and enjoyed it very much. Seems to be just the right location for such an event.
Very good catering throughout the whole party starting with the "Antipasti" served from various pavilions in the upper yard of the Castello and finishing with the wedding cake in the lower yard.
Friendly and attentive service both by the catering stuff and the owner of the Castello himself.
The good weather (as to be expected in Italy in August) made it to a perfect event.
We can only recommend it for similar events.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BFV0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely small hotel in the Piedmont and found it to be one of the most charming hotels we have ever stayed at. We are quite particular about our lodging and found this to be quite superior. We are not ones to return to a place because there is so much to see inthe world but we are already planning another trip to the Piedmont and will stay at this lovely hotel. We will travel to other areas that we havent been but will definitely return to this jewel of a place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giuly_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Everything was fine until breakfast - yes the place is a bit dated and not the cleanest in the world - but this was OK, part of the 'charm' - what was not OK was being charged 10 Euro supplement for two eggs at breakfast which was poor anyway (some old cereal stale bread). No notice at all, just a nice shock when we checked out. Think about it 10 Euro for two boiled eggs. That is just offensive. There are many nice places to stay in Italy this is not one of them. DO NOT STAY HERE WITH THESE THIEVES !!! The 10 Euro is not important to me it is their behavior that just makes me want to warn everyone to stay away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pranzo_rompipalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLeidi, Proprietario at Relais del Castello di Oviglio, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Every opinion must be respected but we think that calling us "thieves" is not so "elegant", we're all doing our best in conducting our Castle. You won't believe but there are even many people saying we're so generous while checking out referring to parking, WiFi and minibar included in the cost of the room.
Anyway, starting from May and for any kind of room, breackfast menu is free and envisage fresh orange juice, 3 minutes eggs, scrambled eggs and eggs with bacon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Virgilio and his team make for a wonderful stay in the elegant castello of oviglio. The myriad of rooms decorated in olde world charm will delight anyone who enjoys things the way they used to be. We enjoyed some very fine wines and antipasto in the cellar and breakfast was even better the second morning when it was brought up to us on several silver platters. The rooms are enormous, ours had an area just for watching the tv, flatscreen of course! the bathroom was an absolute pleasure, double basins, huge shower with marvellous pressure, elagant fittings throughout, even the bath had jets for a spa! A little dark in our room on the 3rd floor but still good value for money.

Room Tip: the rooms are a mix of modern and antique, persoally i would have preferred the ancient variety, ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dandelionkidgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The place is not easy to find and you definitely need a car to get there. The hotel is a real old castle, a little dark. Huge clean rooms with modern bathroom fittings (some needing repair) and a huge LCD TV. Good breakfast buffet and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

This is a castle with a lot of charm. The rooms are very nice partly old but with new bathrooms wich is huge. This is the best value for money hotel i have stayed on. The service was world class. We came late in the evening but we where served a good 5 course meal in the castle garden at our request. The waitor was fantastic and so was the scenery! Oviglio is not a town in it self but is very close to all of the piemonte vinyards. And also beautiful towns like Aqui Terme.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magnussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oviglio
5.3 mi away
Rocca Civalieri
Rocca Civalieri
#1 of 1 in Quattordio
261 reviews
15.5 mi away
Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA
23.8 mi away
Castello di Guarene
Castello di Guarene
#1 of 3 in Guarene
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
450 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hm Motel Hotel
Hm Motel Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castellazzo Bormida
50 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Diamante Alessandria
Hotel Diamante Alessandria
#1 of 14 in Alessandria
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais del Castello di Oviglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais del Castello di Oviglio

Property: Relais del Castello di Oviglio
Address: Via Ventiquattro Maggio 1, 15026 Oviglio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Alessandria > Oviglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oviglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais del Castello di Oviglio 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Relais del Castello di Oviglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing