We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Napa on Steroids”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Lauri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Lauri
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Neive
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Napa on Steroids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at Villa Lauri and total enjoyed the hospitality. Viviana and Beatrice were extremely friendly. We styed in the "Barolo" suite #104. The hotel is situated in a small town right in heart of the Piemonte' wine and gastronomia region, and this area makes ALL of Napa seem like a "beer & burger joint" (at best). The hotel is on a hill overlooking the old city of Neive and has a 360 degree view of the world's greatest vineyards. The Barolo suite has a huge balcony with amazing views. From the balcony, one can see the gorgeous swimming pool, and the breakfast patio, along with the vineyards. The hotel is small, quiet, and beautiful. The prices are very reasonable. Breakfast was fabulous. They don't have a restaurant, but there is a truly fantastic restaurant in the semi-attached building. Viviana serves wine in the afternoon and the patio/parlor area is always open. The staff is very helpful. The room was gorgeous with air conditioning that we could control. The bathroom was spacious. This place is a real treasure. The nearby wineries are amazing, and there are endless roads and trails for walking, hiking, biking, or any other type of exploring.

Room Tip: Barolo Suite #104 is the "only way to go"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighOnTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    45
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
67
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Exceptional service. We arrived very very late due to delayed flights, then a long drive from Pisa with a broken GPS. The owner answered phone, came out to graciously greet us, even offered a drink.
Great room-junior suite with a large balcony and exceptional views.
I would stay again, wonderful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel in Neive for 4 nights in June. Neive is a good base for touring the Piedmont region. All the previous reviews of this hotel were spot on. We had the junior suite with our own balcony. The room was huge, and beds were large. For us the mattresses were a bit too hard, but that didn't disturb our sleep. All in all, our stay at the hotel was very relaxing and enjoyable. Our hostess, Vivienne, couldn't have been more helpful or attentive to our needs. The views from the hotel were amazing, and the village of Neive is a 5 minute drive away. You can walk up to Neive, but we took the car as my husband has difficulty climbing. There are some wonderful restaurants in Neive, which Vivienne recommended, and we ate at a different one each night. They were all great. Breakfast was plentiful, and we ate outdoors on the patio every morning. If I had one suggestion, it would be to have a coffee corner in the rooms. Whenever we wanted coffee, Vivienne and her staff were happy to make it for us, but I would have preferred to be able to have my coffee in my room when I wake up in the morning or afternoon.

Room Tip: The junior suite was wonderful and on the ground floor. The hotel has no elevator, so this was good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

A very nice and quiet location in the middle of the Barbaresco area. Nice, clean rooms and very welcoming and personal staff. A place we definately will return to. Walking distance from Neive and a short distance to Treiso where the regions best restaurant can be found (Ristorante Ciau del Tornavento).

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sverre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerhugowaard
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in this lovely, small-scale hotel over the Easter weekend and enjoyed it in every respect. We were given a warm welcome by the lady and owner of the house, Viviana, who showed us two rooms from which she let us choose. After, she offered us a drink in the cosy little lounge/bar.
The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and very well taken care of. Ours was on ground level and had a private terrace with garden-furniture and a lovely view of the grounds and the hills beyond.
Breakfast is in a cozy room and is very decent, with juices, coffee and tea (frehly brewed and served by the lady of the house herself), fresh bread and croissants, cheeses and breakfastmeats, fresh fruits, yoghurt and cereals, all of good quality.
On our first night we had dinner in the trattoria " La Cantina del Rondo", which is situated on a lower level, to the side of the hotel. It serves fine italian cuisine and excellent wines in a cellar-like room.
The hotel is located just outside of Neive, which is a charming little village located on top of a hill, with a variety of typically Italian restaurants,cafes and bars. We had a great evening in " Degusto", a winebar with a small restaurant, serving good italian food and great wines for reasonable prices, among the chattering itailian clientèle.
You can easily walk into Neive from the hotel in 5 to10 minutes (up hill).
The Piemonte region is charming with gently rolling hills covered with vines and
picturesque wine-producing villages like Barbaresco, Barolo and la Morra.
When the weather is clear you have absolutely breathtaking views of the french and swiss alps surrounding the region in the west and north.
Both the hotel Villa Lauri and the Piemonte region are well worth a visit !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannaG588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for the truffle festival which was on in Alba. It is very central for sightseeing in this area and the hotel is lovely. Nieve is a very pretty village with a good crop of restaurants.
Breakfast was buffet style with coffee made to order.The rooms are a good size and have lovely views of the surrounding vineyards. The host was very helpful with questions about our trip.

This whole area is best seen with a car as all of these villages are quite small and need only a short time for a visit. It is important to see them in the morning when the shops are open - otherwise you will only find the restaurants open after 1pm until everything re opens in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harry036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We liked everything there, in and out of the hotel.
First and foremost, Vivian (housekeeper) was very attentive to all our needs, giving helpful suggestions and even helping with such things like reserving a table in a restaurant for a late dinner on the day of our arrival. Our room was of a sufficient for 2 people size and clean (everyday room service).
Very good breakfast, which is important to start your day right.
The hotel just a 10-15-min walk (or 5-min drive) uphill to the charming center of Neive; easy drives to Barbaresco, Barolo, Langhe, Alba...
Overall, it's a very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neive
3.9 mi away
Castello di Guarene
Castello di Guarene
#1 of 3 in Guarene
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Botti
Hotel Le Botti
#2 of 3 in Guarene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Langhe
Hotel Langhe
#2 of 10 in Alba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Calissano
Hotel Calissano
#1 of 10 in Alba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
9.4 mi away
Le Torri - Hotel
Le Torri - Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castiglione Falletto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Lauri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Lauri

Property: Hotel Villa Lauri
Address: Via Fausoni 7, 12057 Neive, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Neive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Neive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Lauri 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Lauri (4 Wine Hotel) is situated in Neive, one of the most spectacular medieval Langa villages. It is plunged into a beautiful landscape rich in colours, vineyards and castles. An accurate restoration transformed the elegant Liberty styled mansion house (dating from the end of the 19th century) into a small charming hotel. The twelve rooms are elegantly furnished and equipped with all comforts. Villa Lauri is the ideal place for romantic stays in the land of prestigious wines and excellent cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Lauri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing