We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Continental - TonelliHotels
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Nago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went on a Newmaket Holiday half board from Belfast in July and had our accommodation named on arrival. We arrived late on Sunday evening and the hotel had kept the restaurant opened for us to have a cold buffet which was greatly appreciated. Rooms were excellent and very clean. Next morning we got our bearing, we were in Nago which is on the hills up from Torbole. The Hotel has a shuttle bus every day into Torbole. Lovely indoor and outdoor pools, we had no problem getting a sun lounger. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Two of themed nights had free cocktails in the bar before dinner, we took full advantage of the sangaria and nibbles. The food was excellent and the wine was very good value for money. We had spoke to holiday makers on our flight home and they had stayed in a 3* hotel in Torbole and the food was not good and alot of noise at night. This hotel is not central but it makes up for it in other ways. Every day from 4 - 5 they have tea party with buns and cake, just what you need when you come from one of your day trips.
I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 475 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

hotel continental nago exellent service from the staff nothing to much trouble.alex the barman really knows his job and loves it.the hill to tarbole is steep but should be no problem to anybody resobody fit 20 minutes down hill 45 minutes return room 320 is on the front of the hotel noise from the road no problem the views fantastic would reccomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just returned home from an absolutely fabulous week in the Hotel Continental in Nago which is set up quite high in the hills. We arrived just before mid-day and our room was not quite ready, so we were offered drinks whilst we waited and informed shortly after that our room was ready. The room was absolutely spotless and we were fortunate enough to have a view of the lake from a distance, to the right side and the mountains to the left (room 321) which was on the third floor. The rooms have a stocked minibar, slippers and bath robes. There are also hair dryers in the bathroom which I only found useful for clearing the steamed up mirror. The were pretty useless for drying your hair but fortunately, I had read someone else's comments regarding the hair dryers, so took my own.

We stayed half board, so had breakfast and dinner included, although we were informed when we booked in that we could choose to have lunch instead of dinner if we wished to. We decided to stick with dinner as we had planned to go out during the day during our stay. Dinner consisted of 5 courses each evening and I have to say that all meals were superb! Unlike hotels that we have previously stayed in, this hotel provided waiter service for dinner and most mornings the waiters took our order for dinner whilst we were at breakfast. We also sat at the same dining table throughout our stay for breakfast as well as dinner, so got to know our neighbours quite well. The hotel put on 2 gala evenings during our stay, which included entertainment & complimentary aperitifs and nibbles. In addition to this, free coffee, tea & cakes are offered between 4.00pm and 5.00pm each day.

This hotel has an outdoor & indoor pool. The outdoor pool wasn't heated so we didn't use it, but we did use the indoor pool & jacuzzi. Pool towels are also provided in the rooms.

The hotel provides a free daily courtesy bus in to Torbole which leaves at 9.00 am and picks up from there at 4.00 pm, although there are service buses too for those not wanting to get up and out as early, or not wanting to stay out all day.

Whilst I can't find fault with the hotel itself, it is slightly out of the way and we usually like to walk to local bars and restaurants, but there were only one or two within walking distance. Having said that, because we had been out and about during the day, we actually enjoyed staying in the hotel bar each evening and we found the cost of drinks to be quite reasonable.

We took a boat trip round the lake on one of our days out, which left Torbole at 9.40 am and we got back at 7.20 am. The hotel booked a taxi on our behalf, so that it picked us up from the port as we docked and took us back to the hotel in time for dinner. The cost of the boat trips were very reasonably priced; our trip round the lake was around 27 euros each but shorter trips to other lakeside resorts were obviously less. The buses were cheap too and we used one to the neighbouring lakeside resort Riva and that cost us 1 euro and 2 cents each, one way.

Overall we had a fantastic time at this hotel and met some lovely people including the staff. A special mention should be given to the barman Alex, who actually did a bit of everything! Also the lovely owner Mrs Tonnelli who went out of her way to talk to all of her guests and help out where needed.

Thank you all at Hotel Continental xx

Room Tip: I can only comment on the room that we had which was room 321 on the 3rd floor. We had a fantastic v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shazzabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Briefly...

An excellent hotel, but you need to be aware that the location is high above Lake Garda on the mountain range. Which is great for views and if you are looking to walk in the hillsides with the fantastic views available without having to walk to the top to start with. In this location the evenings are quieter than the lakeside resorts which can be busy with all the hustle and bustle of the prominent windsurfing community in places like Torbole'. (Torbole' is the closest lakeside resort directly down from the Hotel Continental, which is situated in Nago).

Having said that...
We really enjoyed our week long stay and although initially thought we would miss an evening stroll along the side of Lake Garda each night (it is not practical to walk down to Torbole' each night for this) we had a fantastic holiday.
The staff were very helpful, and if you go half board, they provide "coffee and cakes" at 4 every afternoon which should keep you going until 7 when the evening meal is served. So not usually a need to eat out unless you are a big eater. The food is traditional Italian, and 4/5 courses which are selected from the daily changed menu. If you like Italian food, is of good quality and after all the courses will certainly fill you up!
The hotel is spotlessly clean, the rooms being bright and pleasant with sliding mirrored wardrobes containing a free safe (keys on request at reception).
The hotel has two pools, one heated inside just off the reception area with sauna etc. the other is a short walk outside, in a beautiful location, lawned and sheltered by olive trees. The water is not heated though and although in enjoyed it, some may consider it a little cold when the season is coming to an end. Again scrupulously maintained and clean.

The hotel has a fantastic family atmosphere, in particular from Mrs. Tonnelli who owns the hotel ( it is part of the small Tonnelli chain) who frequents the reception/bars, and is not afraid to get stuck in and help out her staff for her own enjoyment. Indeed most evenings she will wander round the restaurant and pass the time of day, (with her limited English) which we found most welcome in the days of corporate and unfriendly establishments elsewhere.

The hotel does run a free shuttle bus down into torbole' twice a day, we didnt use this as it goes about 8:45 in the morning and comes back at 4. Better, it also offers free bike hire (limited numbers) , which is a fantastic way of seeing the area. If you bike down to Torbole' the steep hill can be free wheeled down in less than 5 minutes, but remember that unless you are a super athlete, you will be pushing it back up when you return, which will take about half and hour!

The Bad points (not many)...
When we first arrived we were allocated room 105 with our daughter next in 104. The rooms face the road which does not have much traffic and road noise is not an issue. Unfortunately these two rooms are directly above the garage entrance and also where they store the bins. On a Monday morning the deliveries start at 5 and then the Carlsberg bin men shortly after. Deliveries continue through the day, and this was enough for us to request being moved to the opposite side of the hotel which faces the outside patio area. this was completed without too much fuss ( I can't imagine that they have not been asked for this before).
One other slight niggle, was that arriving/leaving with cases to/from the coach involves a struggle up the steps, which could be avoided by some forethought from the driver and/or the hotel. This just seems unnecessary nowadays. We went with Newmarket holidays which do not provide a daily visit to the hotel by a rep. Instead you get a mobile phone number and 1 welcome meeting. On the positive side, the couple of trips we did do a couple of trips (Verona and Venice) the rep from Newmarket was particularly good and helpfully (Lynn) she managed a master stroke by rearranging the trips around the weather which for us worked perfectly. Unfortunately as there is not a daily presence from Newmarket at the hotel, the people who were not on that days trip were not informed about the change, which was lucky we mentioned it at dinner that evening or they would have missed it.

Overall the hotel provides a relaxed and quality stay, with good service. If the location suits, you will struggle to find a better hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 104 and 105 on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is set in a beautiful location near the scenic town of Torbole on the beautiful nothern shore of Lake Garda. The staff were very pleasant and helpful with excellent service and made this a very relaxing holiday. The hotel was lovely with indoor and outdoor swiming pools and a sauna with gym. The food was excellent with entertainment three times a week. There was a courtesy hotel commuter bus to and from Torble and also free cycle hire.
Family from Forres (Inverness) Scotland.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

From arrival until departure everything was very much okay.
Breakfast, lunch, diner: good service; good and generous selection of menu items; nice restaurant; good house wine. All extra's (drinks) reasonably priced. Entertainment at night okay! Nice terracebar, where you can enjoy an Italian night.
Beautifully laid out and clean pool with drinkservice.
Nice surroundings for cycling, hiking, sight seeing of just being lazy at the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Han V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We spent three nights there at the end of July. We drove 7 hours from Monaco looking forward to relax by the pool and enjoy the view from the balcony. Water in the pool was very cold and our view was towards a stone wall. So not quite what we expexted. Inside pool was warmer so we spent a lot of time there. We were able to change to better view for our third night. Breakfast was very very high quality and personnel was also very friendly. Our first room was very clean, no dust. Second room had some spiders in the ceiling and air conditioning was so noisy that it could not be used. Nago-Torbole is a beautiful small village. Mexican restaurant in the roundabout is very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a view and working AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikaTampere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nago
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,226 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
722 reviews
24.1 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SeeLe Garda Hotel
SeeLe Garda Hotel
#4 of 33 in Torbole
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forte Charme Hotel
23.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental - TonelliHotels

Address: Via Stazione 21, 38069 Nago, Nago-Torbole, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Nago-Torbole > Nago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Nago
Price Range: $154 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Continental - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Nago Torbole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing