We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing countryside cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Pool shot (with our house beyond, at far left)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool shot (with our house beyond, at far left)
Entrance to 'Le Havre' Comfy double bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Pool shot (with our house beyond, at far left)
Entrance to 'Le Havre'
Comfy double bed
salle-de-sejour
From kitchen toward salle-de-sejour
Looking at kitchen with bath beyond
Bathroom with huge walk-in tiled shower
Looking out of bathroom's window
Looking toward cottage
Looking from end of pool toward bath side of cottage
'Le Havre' looking toward pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Pontlevoy, Loir-et-Cher, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jdanstee
County Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing countryside cottage”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Karen and Carl were great hosts and the cottage was well equipped for our every need. A wonderful quiet country location but easy to get around to visit chateaux and towns. The pool was warm even in May for comfortable swimming. We enjoyed it so much that we are returning in 2018. Thank you to Karen and Carl for their friendly advice on getting around.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
We certainly enjoyed Kate and John's visit and look forward to their return next May!

Respectful and happy folks. Plus, easy guests, as they knew what they wanted and asked when they needed help.

The weekend here looks promising and hope the coming weeks will see us hosting more new guests.

Thank you again for your visit Kate and John!!

karen & craig.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick P
New York City, New York
1 review
“London UK”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Enchanting! The picture of a French countryside fairytale. The cottage is impeccable, the location is ideal and the hosts provide the perfect blend of attention and privacy that allows you to experience the best of Loire and return home with your batteries recharged! We have stayed at Karen and Craig's little slice of heave twice now, in late fall and late summer. The cottage is ideal for any season. Wood burning stove for a romantic chilly afternoon with a book and bottle of wine and an incredibly rejuvenating salt water pool for a warm summer afternoon. We enjoyed walks through the magical forest just next to the cottage and saw all of the best chateaus of Loire, that are easy day trips, if not half day trips. The five minute drive to Montrichard provides you with a plethora of great restaurants, a very nice grocery store and a great farmers market. Most of all, we loved the warmth and generosity of Karen and Craig. We highly recommend their beautiful home to anyone looking for a truly sophisticated French experience. We shall return :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Craig and I were certainly happy to see Patrick and Jennifer as well.

They were here for their honeymoon and then to return again with a little bundle named Henry! (Who amassed a small collection of Loire river stones from the courtyard.)

Patrick and Jennifer are the kind of guests we most enjoy: inquisitive, respectful and full of joy.

Looking forward to their next visit(s)!
karen & craig
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janetonho...
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in the country”
Reviewed September 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed ourselves completely. The cottage is quiet and the owners are very welcoming. We used the barbecue 2 nights of our stay and Karen had lots of information regarding local restaurants for the days we ate out. The pool was lovely to come back to after a warm day tramping around. The location is close to Loire Valley Chateaus and other worthwhile sites.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, quiet and friendly owners
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2015
WOW!!!!
Another rave review!
We equally enjoyed their stay and hope that we will see them again in the not too distant future.
It is Autumnal here now, so closing the pool today, awaiting year 13 of "her" glory for 2016 and our 24th year greeting (and obviously pleasing) guests.
We thank all who have come and welcome new arrivals.
Karen & Craig.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob C
Santa Rosa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We'll Return”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

When we looked at the reviews for this property, what occurred to us was: "Really? Every review is 5 stars?" Here's why, after our visit, we gave it that same rating.
The Cottage. As we first stepped through the door of the cottage we could feel its attractive and welcoming warmth. Close by a local forest, the outside was just as beautiful. The website pictures really don't do the place justice. It's sufficiently large, and everything we needed was right there. The saltwater pool was very refreshing.
The Location. In her book "The Road From The Past", Ina Caro describes Montrichard as "among the most charming towns I have ever visited". The cottage is less than 10 minutes away. In fact, many of the major Loire Valley chateaux are within easy driving distance.
Karen And Craig. These two really understand hospitality! They looked forward to opportunities to help us, but were never intrusive. Karen provided a local bubbly for our arrival, as well as materials for a hearty breakfast the next morning. Craig was helpful in getting us reservations at wonderful local restaurants. Both were more than happy to provide tips to make our stay more enjoyable.
We would definitely return - most likely for a longer visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2015
What a lovely review from equally lovely guests!

It was a long time coming, as they booked with us in November of 2014. So, a lot of e-mails back and forth answering questions, so when they arrived all was organized and easy for them.

We enjoyed their stay and are in hopes they will return, as so many of our guests have done over the past 23 years.

Now, at the end-of-the-season (there are still pretty days ahead though, if anyone is reading this and thinking about a terrific get-away!), we smile at all of the guests we were lucky enough to have this year.
Karen & Craig
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelvetEar...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most perfect hosts imaginable!”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A lovely relaxing cottage for our getaway.

The perfect base to set about exploring the Loire Valley and the perfect hosts who were always willing to go the extra mile for us and make us feel truly at home!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2015
Thank you two for the wonderful review!

It is refreshing to see a young and obviously happy couple enjoy what Craig and I have tried to "create" here, in the Loire Valley, over 25 years ago.

We look forward to a return and hearing splashes in the pool.

Karen & Craig.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands...
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love this little cottage in the countryside!”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This lovely little cottage in the beautiful countryside is the perfect retreat. Depending upon your interests you can simply relax and enjoy the bucolic location, or, explore the small villages and their daily markets, visit the many chateaus nearby, hike in the forests and enjoy hidden gems like the co-op winery that has excellent champagne or the chevre farm that also has a nice restaurant for lunch.

The cottage itself is well appointed, very clean and well "kitted out." The bathroom is large, immaculate and looks out on the salt water pool. (Which was a lovely diversion on a hot afternoon in June!)

Karen and Craig are wonderful hosts. Our first visit was over 10 years ago. We've returned many times and with each subsequent visit their warmth and welcoming manner make us feel as though we're staying with old friends.

I would definitely advise you to add this to your itinerary!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2015
What can we say, but: "thank you".

We just love having returning guests.

We have gone from folks coming to celebrate their honeymoon or anniversary, to then bringing their children and as we had earlier this season: grandchildren!

I guess it's safe to say, we are on our 3rd generation....

Crazy but certainly a delight!

Looking forward to the next visit,
Karen & Craig.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congresbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet!
Liked least: Could have had better cooking facilities (as discussed with Karen and Craig)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2015
And, we were so happy to see these guests leave looking refreshed and ready for the upcoming summer!

If you are feel like a quiet (or take in all of the chateaux and wineries you wish!)place to read, swim--in our heated saltwater pool--and have a heavenly nights sleep: La Barauderie" is certainly the place to stay.

Thanks again for yours,
Karen & Craig
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing