We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem off the beaten track” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge De L'ecole

Auberge De L'ecole
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Pontlevoy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A gem off the beaten track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a lovely dinner in the garden of this traditional auberge after being recommended by our bed and breakfast . The garden is charming and the welcome warm . We started with the house aperitif and then each had the 39 euro menu of 4 courses. This was traditional French cuisine in many ways but with a modern twist . All tasty and beautifully presented .
I had 'Mise - en-bouche of a cucumber concoction , then smoked salmon and scallops, monkfish with rice, tarte tatin.
The wine list is excellent but I can recommend he local Domaine du Roy organic white.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pippasmum_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    58
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic gem in a lovely town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a great meal here as a family on a reasonably quiet Wednesday night. The kids (6 & 7) had the same as us from the set menu, and it was excellent food! Great little garden setting, great service, friendly, helpful and again fantastic food, well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank redders499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
198 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely location and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We recently had dinner tha the charming Auberge de l*cole. Seated in the garden we were served in a very frinedly atmosphere, relaxed and quiet.
Needless to say the food was excellent.

Recommended for a quiet gourmet dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travellor022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A gem in a pretty little French town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by La Patronne and given a choice of tables. Sadly, due to a storm we had to eat inside. This was not a problem. We chose the "Auberge" menu which was first class. Beautifully cooked and nicely presented. We were very well looked after and staff were attentive but not overly so. Well worth a visit, indeed worth a detour. We will return for dinner before too long and will hope to eat en terasse.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“WOWWOWWOW!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Incredible dining experience! Called about 30 minutes ahead and reserved a table - luckily, they had a cancellation and were able to accommodate us. As we walk up to the entrance, I see a small sticker on the door, with the familiar Michelin logo and 2 little crossed fork&spoons! I knew we were in for a treat. And what a treat it was!
Friendly, attentive yet not imposing service; beautiful decor; heavenly dishes; romantic, yet comfortable atmosphere! We were the only non-French guests dining that night, and felt very welcome!
Would definitely recommend this gem, it's worth the little detour between Cheverny and Chennonceau!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JakeLat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge De L'ecole also viewed

Vallieres-les-Grandes, Loir-et-Cher
Saint-Aignan, Loir-et-Cher
 
Contres, Loir-et-Cher
Cellettes, Loir-et-Cher
 

Been to Auberge De L'ecole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing