We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
Ranked #1 of 3 Harkerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was probably my favourite stop in our three week tour of South Africa.

The Lodge was tricky to find, and we did drive back and forth along the N2 from Plettenburg expecting it to be somewhat closer (we thought it was in Plettenburg, but it is actually in Harkerville, opposite the Knysna Elephant Park). But while it is a little isolated - that is part of its charm!

The old and the new blend seamlessly in this beautiful, tranquil, country house hotel. It offers stylish accommodation, with individually designed and well appointed suites, as well as a range of communal spaces. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the garden suites, which had a lobby with a dressing table, as well as a good sized bedroom and a nice bathroom. The pool area, on the far side of the house, looked inviting, as it sat in a well-tended garden and the pool looked a decent size.

From breakfast to dinner - ambrosial food (even for veggies - huge thanks to the chef!) was paired in the evenings with well selected wines from the Cape. Dinner was both flexible and good value - at R235 for 3 Course dinner, and served in a lovely dining room. We were also lucky enough to enjoy an evening of wine tasting with Painted Wolf Wines.

The staff were friendly and efficient (I am sure Pinky will be missed!) and service levels high - including the unexpected and much appreciated car washing service.

The memory of Lairds - sitting within easy access of Plettenburg and Knysna - will live long in my memory - and it set a standard that few other hotels (especially in the food-Mecca of Frnaschhoek) were able to meet.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are possibly best when the weather is warm and dry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veggiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 616 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is a place convenient for both Knysna and Plettenberg Bay. It is just off the N2 and yet secluded and restful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable but only those in the main building have access to WiFi. The newer rooms are of a good size but are not directly connected to the public areas of the hotel. Breakfast is very substantial. The evening meal has a limited choice and has to be ordered by 5 o'clock in the evening. Choices are asked for immediately after breakfast when it a little difficult to think about more food! There are a number of restaurants in nearby Plettenberg Bay and it is a short taxi drive. There is a well kept swimming pool and very pleasant grounds.

Room Tip: If you wish WiFi ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I regularly take guests with confidence to this charming Lodge situated in a wonderful position in the Knysna Forests. This visit of course was excellent and my guests were really impressed.
Comfortable rooms, good food and wonderful staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable, having stayed many times in different rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

What a great place to stay in the Plettenberg / Knysna area. Whilst Plettenberg has plenty going for it, the town centre can get a little commercial and busy. Laird's Lodge is just a few km outside the town and is relaxed, quiet and idyllic.

The grounds are wonderful with incredibly colourful gardens and a beautiful pool area. Our room was in a little annex and the rear of the main building but had patio doors opening onto large gardens and a pool.

The whole team (Bani, Pinky, Deputy and Big Boy et al) were amazing. Helpful and knowledgeable. There was always someone on hand at breakfast with suggestions for activities that day and our car was washed every night!

The breakfast was the best we had throughout our whole trip. Huge choice and so nicely presented. We ate dinner once during our stay and this was also great but there are so many nice restaurants in the area to choose from.

Probably the nicest place we stayed during a two week trip around the Cape.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broughters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This lovely lodge is just outside Plettenburg Bay, opposite the elephant park, Its have beautiful great rooms, with an exellent service, they give a fantastic breakfast, The lovely Pinky and the friendly outstanding crew give your hollyday an extra. You must hear singing the crew after breakfast ! ! !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Absolutely sublime food, choose between 2-4 courses (we always had the 4 and the soup course
was divine). Lovely lodge in peaceful location.Amazing staff from the lovely Pinky, to Big Boy and his outstanding team.
A thousand thanks...

John & Margo May
Truro,Cornwall

Room Tip: The rooms farthest from the lodge have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JNM1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Arrived at the lodge in the rain and it rained pretty well most of our two day stay.Very comfortable room but some guests moaned that there was no TV in their room.Not us! There were several sitting rooms in the main house one of which had a big screen in it if that is what you want on holiday?
Informal easy atmosphere,great food which is good as your are quite a way from any other restaurants or towns.Velvet monkeys woke us up using our roof as a race track but we loved that.The grounds are beautiful and our only regret is because of the weather we did not make full use of them.Jane one of the owners come around at breakfast to advise on routes or sightseeing which is very helpful.
If we had a complaint it was that because of the weather our room,outside the main house called the stable was damp and our clothes even in the suitcase felt moist.It didn't stop our enjoyment but maybe some heating for the rare occasion would be good as the air on could not be turned up.Big thanks to all.

Room Tip: Perhaps not an outside annex if it's raining?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaudifantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harkerville
1 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
282 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
802 reviews
6.5 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
389 reviews
5.9 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#2 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairds Lodge Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairds Lodge Country Estate

Address: N2 National Road | 8kms from Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Harkerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Harkerville
Price Range: $158 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lairds Lodge Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The gracious Cape Dutch homestead offers distant mountain views, wide open spaces, a secluded pool and gentle walks on the 24-acre estate. The individually decorated rooms convey a feeling of tranquil elegance and include neutral colors, percale linen and specialized toiletries. Perfectly positioned to explore the Garden Route, from the Wilderness to the Tsitsikamma forests. Superb breakfasts and convivial gourmet dinners, specializing in seafood and game dishes, are served in the Colonial dining room or cozy wine room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lairds Lodge Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairds Lodge Country Estate Hotel Harkerville
Lairds Lodge Country Estate South Africa/Harkerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing