We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
Ranked #1 of 3 Harkerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gourmet.......”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Some of the best food we've eaten. When we asked, the chef came out to explain how he prepared the potato souffle. We enjoyed sitting on the terrace reading and enjoying a great chenin blanc, then meeting the other guests for drinks at 7pm and sitting down together around the large dining table. We visited in early Spring so it was a nice suprise to find an umbrella in the wardrobe and then on return to our room after dinner hot water bottles in animal covers warming the bed! Very comfortable, we'd certainly return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowdy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    78
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
82
407
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Great food. Great accommodation.
What else?
Oh - the staff of course!!
From our early arrival to our, too early, departure the staff were exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble - even to arranging to return our "forgotten" keys to our previous hotel
What an exceptional place
Make this your stopover between our other exceptional hotel on this trip - Camps Bay Retreat - and Port Elizabeth.
Worth every penny

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grampian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

There is no TV nor wi-fi in the rooms.
And yet, in a country where hospitality has been overwhelmingly good, Laird's Lodge still manages to shine like a beacon - and it's all down to the wonderful people, who make it their business to make sure that your stay in the Plettenberg area is a memorable one.
Sue and Lesley lead by example, and are closely followed by Pinky, Joy, Bani, Big Boy and every one of the staff at this sumptuous retreat right in the midst of everything that makes up the Garden Route experience.
The food is amazing, and it feels like being at home with friends - eating (like the TV and wi-fi) is communal, and the menu is fixed, but nothing is too much trouble.
Thanks again, all at Laird's Lodge.
You really are wonderful.
Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: If room 5 is anything to go by, just sit back and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemsilverstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addo, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We decided to stay over at Laird's Lodge after hearing and reading about the atmosphere and cuisine. A great decision - wonderful hospitality and together with spacious and comfortable rooms paved the way for a great night. The dinner was splendid and breakfast was equally good.

If I have to criticize I found the wine list somewhat limited, but that would be nitpicking...the service was friendly and efficient and although it does not come cheap I would definitely recommend a visit to this fine establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparafucile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had booked one night as family (two separate rooms) as part of our two week tour of South Africa. Lodge is located exactly opposite Knysna elephant park so easy to find. We had stayed two nights in Protea Hotel in Knysna Quays but if we had experienced Lairds lodge before we would have been here.
Service extraordinarily good - we arrived 10.00am to leave bags off, before heading off to Broukrans for the bungie jumping - staff could not have been nicer or more helpful.
Rooms are very well presented adn comfortable and lovely touches. Food is to die for - and drinks are very reasonably priced.
We ate communually which added to the 'craic' though you could eat separately - a honeymoon couple did this but actually would have preferred to join the main table on their second night. Food more expensive than elsewhere (we paid around R190 for two courses) which was at top end of some fantastic eating during our two week trip to S Africa but worth every penny.
And breakfast was exceptional - definitely the best during our stay in SA. Re dinner they offer a set menu when you arrive but will accommodate particular tastes/diets etc.
Wife just loved the place and all the staff. YOungest son not impressed by not having a TV is their room - so can't please everyone. If we ever go back to SA we will certaintly try to get back here. Not sure what we paid overall for our night as it was all part of a tour package we had put together. But if you get the chance to go here - take it.

Room Tip: Rooms have oodles of character and very well furnished - but you may be disappointed if you want a T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prospector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have just returned to Ireland following our honeymoon in South Africa. We had the absolute priveledge of staying at Lairds Lodge during our trip. From the moment we arrived we were made feel like we were the only and most important guests in the place! The atmosphere in the place was serene and we really felt at home. The extra touches were wonderful especially the hot water bottles in our bed at nightand the crackling fire in the lounge. We were given great assistance planning and booking our daily activitiesThe food was devine. We cleared every course!The staff were so friendlyand helpful. We were especially fond of Banny as he was just so nice. I hope if we ever have the good fortune to return to South Africa in the future that we will be back at Lairds again. We would recommend it to anybody.
Noelle and Shane

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

What a lovely surprise. An excellent establishment, lovely big rooms, big bathrooms, lots of special little touches and attention to detail. Arrived in the evening and the room had been warmed, heated bathroom floor, heated towel rails, lovely bathroom accents, candles, it was all so inviting. After dinner came back and the bed had been turned down and there was a cuddly toy peering over the top of the duvet, it was a most welcome hot water bottle.
In the morning we found our car washed and breakfast did not disappoint either. A lovely baked apple to start with, yoghurt and a good selection of the normal breakfast fare followed by a hot cooked offering. All beautifully presented.
I was very impressed with this hotel and would definitely want to revisit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fordaleDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harkerville
6.8 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
552 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
249 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
732 reviews
5.9 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
462 reviews
6.7 mi away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#8 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairds Lodge Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairds Lodge Country Estate

Property: Lairds Lodge Country Estate
Address: N2 National Road | 8kms from Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Harkerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Harkerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lairds Lodge Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The gracious Cape Dutch homestead offers distant mountain views, wide open spaces, a secluded pool and gentle walks on the 24-acre estate. The individually decorated rooms convey a feeling of tranquil elegance and include neutral colors, percale linen and specialized toiletries. Perfectly positioned to explore the Garden Route, from the Wilderness to the Tsitsikamma forests. Superb breakfasts and convivial gourmet dinners, specializing in seafood and game dishes, are served in the Colonial dining room or cozy wine room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Lairds Lodge Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairds Lodge Country Estate Hotel Harkerville
Lairds Lodge Country Estate South Africa/Harkerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing