We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lairds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
Ranked #1 of 3 Harkerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have just returned to Ireland following our honeymoon in South Africa. We had the absolute priveledge of staying at Lairds Lodge during our trip. From the moment we arrived we were made feel like we were the only and most important guests in the place! The atmosphere in the place was serene and we really felt at home. The extra touches were wonderful especially the hot water bottles in our bed at nightand the crackling fire in the lounge. We were given great assistance planning and booking our daily activitiesThe food was devine. We cleared every course!The staff were so friendlyand helpful. We were especially fond of Banny as he was just so nice. I hope if we ever have the good fortune to return to South Africa in the future that we will be back at Lairds again. We would recommend it to anybody.
Noelle and Shane

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 616 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

What a lovely surprise. An excellent establishment, lovely big rooms, big bathrooms, lots of special little touches and attention to detail. Arrived in the evening and the room had been warmed, heated bathroom floor, heated towel rails, lovely bathroom accents, candles, it was all so inviting. After dinner came back and the bed had been turned down and there was a cuddly toy peering over the top of the duvet, it was a most welcome hot water bottle.
In the morning we found our car washed and breakfast did not disappoint either. A lovely baked apple to start with, yoghurt and a good selection of the normal breakfast fare followed by a hot cooked offering. All beautifully presented.
I was very impressed with this hotel and would definitely want to revisit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fordaleDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Cannot fault this property, from the moment you arrive to the time you depart the service is superb, they even cleaned my car for me. The breakfasts were fantastic with just the right amount of choice and most of it homemade. Rooms were extremely spacious and coped well with a family of 3. Highly recommend - remember that you need to drive if you would like dinner in Plettneberg Bay in the evening or take a taxi.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takeawaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights while we were driving the Garden Route and fell in love with this lodge. There is a true family atmosphere from the moment you arrive. They wouldn't let us lift a finger while we were in Holiday, it was refreshing!

Everyone who worked there helped out and was always attentive to what we were doing. Internet was fast, showers hot and the service was always on. You drive down a dirt road to reach the lodge and our biggest surprise was when we found out the clean your car every morning while you eat breakfast so your car stays clean.

The Food is one of the best parts about this lodge. I couldn't stop eating. The breakfast fills you up for the day, with plenty of homemade options on the buffet and a hot option that changes daily. Their dinners are a pre set menu that also changes daily, we had a perfectly cooked steak and fresh fish.. Delicious!

Take time to get to know the three sisters behind this lodge, you can tell they enjoy getting to know everyone who visits and love to talk travel.

Room Tip: Splurge for the luxury room, we were not disapointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTW42012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

What a fantastic experience. Rooms suberb, the food and service was excellent. We have never stayed anywhere which excelled in all areas. Dinner is served with you sitting with the other guests and we met some fantastic people. Breakfast was outstanding. We were there for 5 nights and on leaving the staff sung us a gospel song which was very moving.

Room Tip: All are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russetgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Lairds Lodge is an excellent place, with a great cosy atmosphere and good service.

We stayed for two nights to explore Plett and the surrounding area. We arrived quite late one night, and in driving rain found it difficult to find; we got there in the end.

On arrival, the staff were excellent, and explained the plan for dinner. We shared it with other guests. However I would say that the food was a little overpriced, although it was very nice.

Breakfast is outstanding, and different each day. Highly recommended.

The staff were very helpful explaining what we could do in the surrounding area. If you get a chance you must do the Cheetah Walks, they were a highlight of our stay.

Overall a really good place, if dinner had been more reasonablly priced it would have got a 5.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mallaig50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Lairds Lodge and enjoyed the Country Estate experience we received.

On arrival our room was upgraded as we were on Honeymoon and Champagne was waiting in our room, a nice touch. The room itself was nicely decorated with a luxurious yet homely feel. The only downside was that there was a draft from the patio doors which did make it quite cold at times.

We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and the food is of an excellent quality with a wide range of wines available. Breakfast is also good with a wide variety of fresh options available both hot and cold.

Throughout our stay the service we received was very warm with staff always willing to give advice on what to do and see, to help with bags, clean the car etc.

The Lodge is well positioned to explore Plettenburg Bay, Knysna and the surrounding areas and there is an elephant park literally over the road where you can feed the animals.

Overall an excellent place to stay while travelling the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harkerville
1 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
280 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
802 reviews
6.5 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
389 reviews
5.9 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#2 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairds Lodge Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairds Lodge Country Estate

Address: N2 National Road | 8kms from Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Harkerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Harkerville
Price Range: $158 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lairds Lodge Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The gracious Cape Dutch homestead offers distant mountain views, wide open spaces, a secluded pool and gentle walks on the 24-acre estate. The individually decorated rooms convey a feeling of tranquil elegance and include neutral colors, percale linen and specialized toiletries. Perfectly positioned to explore the Garden Route, from the Wilderness to the Tsitsikamma forests. Superb breakfasts and convivial gourmet dinners, specializing in seafood and game dishes, are served in the Colonial dining room or cozy wine room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lairds Lodge Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairds Lodge Country Estate Hotel Harkerville
Lairds Lodge Country Estate South Africa/Harkerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing