We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Heaven”
Reviewed December 14, 2005

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon to South Africa and I do not think we have stayed anywhere so amazing...ever!
Accomodation is individual glass and wood "huts" on stilts in the forest, each with their own plunge pool looking into the trees.
The bathrooms are incredible, complete with outdoor shower (and an indoor one, just in case!)
The service is fantastic, greetings by name and a special honeymoon menu.
This hotel is perfect for a getaway for a few nights. Unless you are exhausted and can do nothing, a week maybe a little long for those who get itchy feet.
The best hotel in Plett!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    43
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
91
359
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2005

We stayed here for three nights as part of our 3 week honeymoon. I think it has to be the best room ive ever stayed in (if you can call it a room, it is more like a mini apartment); on split level and has a seperate living room area furnished to make it so cosy. We were there in their winter so it was chilly in the evenings, but it didnt matter at all once you were in the room with your own personal log fire and heated floors everywhere. The bathroom was extremley spacious and the bath to die for. The bed linen was the nicest I have ever experienced. The balcony with views over the vast forest and the front balcony (yes you have two outside areas) includes a private plunge pool and sunbeds, not that we got to use it as it was unfortunately too cold. I found it very dark with it being winter and obviously in the middle of the treetops, it was very sheltered and I wandered if it would be a different experience altogether in the summer? The food, service and ambience were all top class and I would certainly recommend it to anyone. Also a brilliant location if you are driving the garden route and wanted to be just outside of Plettenberg or Knysna (its about 5 mins from Plett and 10 - 15 from Knysna.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mand-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2005

Tsala stood out as the most unique and special place we stayed in South Africa (and we stayed at The Cape Grace and Singita-Boulders) The room/house was awesome, the food amazing, the staff great (Walter was perfect) Stay here for sure...the best!!!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chrisois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2005

After having stayed at four remarkable 5*resorts during the weeks before, we thought it could not get better - far from it!

Tsala is one of the most unique lodges we ever stayed in. Nestled into the tree tops, the cabins are spacious, with a spectacular view through floor-to-ceiling windows, giving the impression that you really live in the trees. The 2 rooms and bath are beautifully furnished - a mixture between cosy and classy outdoor cabin and African design. The private plunge pool on the veranda among the tree tops is as special as is the small fireplace within the cabin.

Service is excellent as is the restaurant, serving high-quality three course dinners with a lot of South African specialties.

Tsala really was a highlight of our South African trip and we would recommend it highly for all couples looking for a romantic and very special retreat.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankfurtExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2005

Concur with previous reviewer. Excellent hotel; unique room, great service, wonderful food.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lpdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2005

This is my first review despite enjoying a fair amount of travel. I have a stack of spa reviews and amazon reviews that I have neglected but I couldn't resist this, it really deserves to be applauded.

As South Africans living in Johannesburg we decided to forego the usual (or more common here) all inclusives to Mauritius/Maldives or Thailand and instead planned a honeymoon right here in South Africa. We figured that with the money we saved on air tickets we could afford to really go all out to the best five star places and we also know enough people here to dig out the really special hotels. We started in Cape Town (got married there on the beach) and made our way along the garden route over two weeks.

Tsala was our last stop and after staying at 5 truly phenomenol hotels, it still managed to outdo them all. It was just perfect in every way.

There are 10 treetop 'lodges'. As in they are actually built in to the top of the forest. You get to your lodge/suite by special walkways that connect them to the main reception and hotel restaurant areas.

The views are breathtaking (even though we'd been in the area for nearly three weeks at that time!), the suites are superbly furnished - exusitie decor - just the right blend of luxury and comfort. We had our own private infinity plunge pool (I think they all have). The bathroom has a huge stone type bath and a shower that has glass walls! You feel like you are outdoors but have the comfort of indoors if that makes sense. There is no one to see you except the occasional monkey because you are at the top of a forest.

So beautiful, intimate, wonderful.

The staff are warm and gracious - they didn't crowd us but we were able to get attention quickly if we needed it.

The restaurant food was delicious if a bit expensive. But this is not meant to be a budget experience..

In summary we still wistfully talk about it every now and again and will definitely celebrate an anniversary there sometime.

  • Stayed December 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loriSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2004

I do not normally feel compelled to write reviews, content just to read them for advice, but seeing this ranked as 5th out of 13 has forced me to!

We stayed at this hotel in September 2002. It had been open about 9 months then I think and the Rand was a lot weaker when we were in South Africa at this time so the 'hotel' was unbelievably fantastic value. In fact it was the highlight of our trip and considering everything that South Africa has to offer as a holiday destination this is truly saying something.

I don't want to say too much about the place as expectations are a double edged sword but suffice to say that I cannot say a bad word about anything. We recommended it to my Aunt & Uncle recently and they have still not stopped thanking us. It is expensive yes, but if you can afford it, forget those 5* personality-less hotels and give this little place a go. (No, I don't have shares in the place!)

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L0ui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harkerville
6.1 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
246 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
874 reviews
10.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
5.0 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsala Treetop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsala Treetop Lodge

Property: Tsala Treetop Lodge
Address: PO Box 454, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Harkerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tsala Treetop Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the treetops of an age-old indigenous forest, Tsala is a lavish celebration of the spirit of Africa. Irresistible to those who appreciate exclusivity, fine fare, romance and adventure. With beautiful private suites and villas, breathtaking views and forest seclusion, unique architectural design and excellent personal service, it is a fantastic get-away destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Tsala Treetop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsala Treetop Hotel Harkerville
Tsala Treetop Plettenberg Bay
Tsala Treetop Lodge South Africa/Harkerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing