We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Hotel in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I've stayed in a lot of hotels and this is, without a doubt, my favourite hotel in the world. Pure perfection. It is almost impossible to describe what it feels like to stay in such a luxuriously appointed treetop with incredible views. And the staff was simply outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 564 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here during a 3 week trip and only wished we'd stayed longer. Rooms are large and very private. Very relaxing. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Both the restaurant at Tsala and Zinzi's are great.
My only gripe is that the suite we were in had no sun from about 3pm onwards and was actually quite chilly in the shade. Cutting trees back a little could help with this.

All in all a wonderful stay!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Loobylou119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

classic luxury clad in stone and wood with a strong African decor vibe- make this hotel in the treetops special. I loved the sight and sound of vervet monkeys in the valley below and the view across the forest is to die for for someone like me who loves trees. The food is simply heavenly.... fresh; exotic and dangerously tasty. The rooms are sumptuous...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaAyerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was a fantastic place to stay. We were on our honeymoon and was a little treat to stay here for 3 days. when we drove up I was a little apprehensive. I needn't have been this place is incredible. Manly because of yoru tree house suite, which is high in the trees, with its own lounge, with log burner and bedroom, marble bath in the bathroom and your own inifity pool. there is so much to do here, but on one day we just chilled our by the poole and watched the monkeys and birds. Its so peaceful and quiet, even been woken up by monkeys walking across the roof felt magical. Can't recommend this place enough.
With regards to staff and service, this was the best place on our stay of three weeks. nothing was too much trouble. once being shown to our room, we were asked if we wanted to go to the restaurant that evening. (it comes up as no 1 on trip adviser so was a definite to go to) and an hour before while getting ready they brought champagne for us. when we go home they had hot chocolate and mashmellows waiting for us with a lit fire. My husband also arranged something special in our room for our last night and nothing was too much trouble.
This place isn't just a hotel, its a magical experience, so if you are want to get away from the world and do things at your own pace. book it.. it truly is wonderful.
Thank you to all the staff at Tsala who made my honeymoon stay here wonderful.

Room Tip: All the rooms/suites are the same, your own private tree house. amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

we have just spent two amazing days at the Tsala Treetop Lodge, what an amazing experience . The suites are spacious and extremely comfortable with their own pool. The most beautiful setting amongst the trees. Staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. We had dinner at the restaurant by far one of the best meals we had in the area.

Room Tip: we had suite no 1 very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Located between Plettenberg and Knysna it is a breath taking hideaway, villas/suites are placed in the trees and just a magnificent experience.
The staff is incredibly friendly and did take care of all issues immediately.
The food is outstanding and always served with style. Special thanks to the manager Craig who did an excellent job!!
The breakfast buffet was just stunning and upon request everything was prepared immediately
We come back on our next trip

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The location couldn't be any better to reach everything that Plettenberg a Bay has to offer. It feels remote once you go through the security gate but it's very well placed.

Arrival was a little bizarre as no one was there to greet us initially, but one of the staff soon found Craig the general manager and we were offered a drink and a welcome brief. I had emailed Craig earlier in the week about a variety of activities we hoped to do whilst staying at Tsala and he had gone out of his way to find these for us, he really was a great help. Quite a confident friendly character too!

There are 16 suites, all set off from wooden walkways in the trees, this really is a unique property. We were in suite 3 which I would say is a good spot, 1-4 are to the right of the property with the rest to the left towards Zinzi restaurant. The room offers stunning views of the forest, we could see for miles from one side. The only negative I would have to include about the room, as others noted on here, are the pools. Why have a plunge pool what is so cold it's unusable? They really need to heat them!

Bathrooms are huge with both indoor and outdoor showers, which is a treat! And there are of course the monkeys who come out to play from the trees and hide and seek around the lodge. It's quite a site!

Breakfasts are good, and the menu can be flexible if you want to add or remove items on the cooked options.

Dinner at Zinzi was excellent, we ate two evenings in a row! The staff there are gracious and knowledgable. You must book much in advance though, they are always busy.

A great stay, and hopefully will return one day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laypy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harkerville
6.1 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
272 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
848 reviews
6.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
977 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Africa Rooms
Grand Africa Rooms
#6 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsala Treetop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsala Treetop Lodge

Address: PO Box 454, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Harkerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Price Range: $569 - $953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tsala Treetop Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the treetops of an age-old indigenous forest, Tsala is a lavish celebration of the spirit of Africa. Irresistible to those who appreciate exclusivity, fine fare, romance and adventure. With beautiful private suites and villas, breathtaking views and forest seclusion, unique architectural design and excellent personal service, it is a fantastic get-away destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tsala Treetop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsala Treetop Hotel Harkerville
Tsala Treetop Plettenberg Bay
Tsala Treetop Lodge South Africa/Harkerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing