We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hunter's Country House(Harkerville)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$975
Expedia.com
View Deal
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$60
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
$66
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
$234
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Rectory(Plettenberg Bay)
$303
$281
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Africa Rooms(Plettenberg Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveler rating
515
51
15
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
51
15
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerplunge poolour honeymoongarden routehot chocolatetree houseforest canopyfloor to ceiling windowsliving roomon stiltsvervet monkeyscomplimentary portthe wood burning stovehuge bathroomplettenberg bayfrom start to finishout of this world
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 591 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Located between Plettenberg and Knysna it is a breath taking hideaway, villas/suites are placed in the trees and just a magnificent experience.
The staff is incredibly friendly and did take care of all issues immediately.
The food is outstanding and always served with style. Special thanks to the manager Craig who did an excellent job!!
The breakfast buffet was just stunning and upon request everything was prepared immediately
We come back on our next trip

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The location couldn't be any better to reach everything that Plettenberg a Bay has to offer. It feels remote once you go through the security gate but it's very well placed.

Arrival was a little bizarre as no one was there to greet us initially, but one of the staff soon found Craig the general manager and we were offered a drink and a welcome brief. I had emailed Craig earlier in the week about a variety of activities we hoped to do whilst staying at Tsala and he had gone out of his way to find these for us, he really was a great help. Quite a confident friendly character too!

There are 16 suites, all set off from wooden walkways in the trees, this really is a unique property. We were in suite 3 which I would say is a good spot, 1-4 are to the right of the property with the rest to the left towards Zinzi restaurant. The room offers stunning views of the forest, we could see for miles from one side. The only negative I would have to include about the room, as others noted on here, are the pools. Why have a plunge pool what is so cold it's unusable? They really need to heat them!

Bathrooms are huge with both indoor and outdoor showers, which is a treat! And there are of course the monkeys who come out to play from the trees and hide and seek around the lodge. It's quite a site!

Breakfasts are good, and the menu can be flexible if you want to add or remove items on the cooked options.

Dinner at Zinzi was excellent, we ate two evenings in a row! The staff there are gracious and knowledgable. You must book much in advance though, they are always busy.

A great stay, and hopefully will return one day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laypy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband & I spent 4 nights at Tsala as part of our belated honeymoon on the garden route. It is a truly wonderful hotel, with the individual treetop suites presented to an extremely high standard and very private. We ate at Zinzi several times and found the food to be very good and reasonably priced. The hotel is a short drive from Knysna, Plett etc and an excellent base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_girl_8313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I had read a review on Tsala in a Sunday newspaper some years back and had planned our whole trip to South Africa to ensure we could stay here. It is a long drive from Cape Town, but well worth it when you finally get there. We were welcomed by the excellent front of house manager Craig, with Iced Tea, very refreshing and he showed us around our suite.
The suites are built in the treetops as the name suggests, and no one room can see into any other which means you have total privacy and floor to ceiling glass windows to make the most of the spectacular surroundings. The suites are luxurious and tasteful without being opulent.
You enter through your own private door, and staff will always ring from this point so that you are ensured privacy. You arrive on your own deck with wooden steam ship sun loungers, and an umbrella leading to your own private plunge pool - which is cold! We arrived at the very start of summer, but I am sure this would be very refreshing in the high heat of summer. Your suite has a lounge with a well positioned balcony, and enough soft chairs to sleep in, lovely. A sun downer from the mini bar on the terrace is a must. There are homemade biscuits in a little jar, and plenty of water to drink. There is also a carafe of port for you to enjoy.
The bed is massive and looks out of the great glass windows on to the forest canopy. There is a TV, and another lovely chair. The bathrooms are stunning with a huge granite tub, indoor and outdoor showers, and a toilet with a huge glass window to see the birdlife etc. My only comment on the bathroom which I feel needs addressing is that the floors are so highly polished it is very easy to slip and slide.
The breakfasts are stunning, fresh fruits, pastries, breads, yogurts, juices - the coffee could be improved a little. There is also a hot menu of freshly and inventively designed food which I can't fault. The staff are all excellent and friendly, and I would have no hesitation to recommend this lovely hotel - it is as relaxing as the Maldives, but just without a beach!
We stayed for three nights which was over in a blink of the eye, and although I stared at the trees for hours looking for monkeys I didn't see one! I think the hotel staff were pleased as they can be a pain.
In short add Tsala to your bucket list.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nolongerreviewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Beautiful treetops stay. Fantastic rooms, your own pool, delicious breakfasts and a great place for dinner called Zinzi within walking distance of the hotel. We want to go back already! Service was super and Craig and his team were always happy to help. This place is paradise! Only recommendation would be to heat the pool as we really wanted to use it and it was very cold!

Room Tip: We had room 6 which was lovely
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews