We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the nicest Hotels I have been to so far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the nicest Hotels I have been to so far”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Located between Plettenberg and Knysna it is a breath taking hideaway, villas/suites are placed in the trees and just a magnificent experience.
The staff is incredibly friendly and did take care of all issues immediately.
The food is outstanding and always served with style. Special thanks to the manager Craig who did an excellent job!!
The breakfast buffet was just stunning and upon request everything was prepared immediately
We come back on our next trip

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    43
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
91
344
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The location couldn't be any better to reach everything that Plettenberg a Bay has to offer. It feels remote once you go through the security gate but it's very well placed.

Arrival was a little bizarre as no one was there to greet us initially, but one of the staff soon found Craig the general manager and we were offered a drink and a welcome brief. I had emailed Craig earlier in the week about a variety of activities we hoped to do whilst staying at Tsala and he had gone out of his way to find these for us, he really was a great help. Quite a confident friendly character too!

There are 16 suites, all set off from wooden walkways in the trees, this really is a unique property. We were in suite 3 which I would say is a good spot, 1-4 are to the right of the property with the rest to the left towards Zinzi restaurant. The room offers stunning views of the forest, we could see for miles from one side. The only negative I would have to include about the room, as others noted on here, are the pools. Why have a plunge pool what is so cold it's unusable? They really need to heat them!

Bathrooms are huge with both indoor and outdoor showers, which is a treat! And there are of course the monkeys who come out to play from the trees and hide and seek around the lodge. It's quite a site!

Breakfasts are good, and the menu can be flexible if you want to add or remove items on the cooked options.

Dinner at Zinzi was excellent, we ate two evenings in a row! The staff there are gracious and knowledgable. You must book much in advance though, they are always busy.

A great stay, and hopefully will return one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laypy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband & I spent 4 nights at Tsala as part of our belated honeymoon on the garden route. It is a truly wonderful hotel, with the individual treetop suites presented to an extremely high standard and very private. We ate at Zinzi several times and found the food to be very good and reasonably priced. The hotel is a short drive from Knysna, Plett etc and an excellent base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_girl_8313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I had read a review on Tsala in a Sunday newspaper some years back and had planned our whole trip to South Africa to ensure we could stay here. It is a long drive from Cape Town, but well worth it when you finally get there. We were welcomed by the excellent front of house manager Craig, with Iced Tea, very refreshing and he showed us around our suite.
The suites are built in the treetops as the name suggests, and no one room can see into any other which means you have total privacy and floor to ceiling glass windows to make the most of the spectacular surroundings. The suites are luxurious and tasteful without being opulent.
You enter through your own private door, and staff will always ring from this point so that you are ensured privacy. You arrive on your own deck with wooden steam ship sun loungers, and an umbrella leading to your own private plunge pool - which is cold! We arrived at the very start of summer, but I am sure this would be very refreshing in the high heat of summer. Your suite has a lounge with a well positioned balcony, and enough soft chairs to sleep in, lovely. A sun downer from the mini bar on the terrace is a must. There are homemade biscuits in a little jar, and plenty of water to drink. There is also a carafe of port for you to enjoy.
The bed is massive and looks out of the great glass windows on to the forest canopy. There is a TV, and another lovely chair. The bathrooms are stunning with a huge granite tub, indoor and outdoor showers, and a toilet with a huge glass window to see the birdlife etc. My only comment on the bathroom which I feel needs addressing is that the floors are so highly polished it is very easy to slip and slide.
The breakfasts are stunning, fresh fruits, pastries, breads, yogurts, juices - the coffee could be improved a little. There is also a hot menu of freshly and inventively designed food which I can't fault. The staff are all excellent and friendly, and I would have no hesitation to recommend this lovely hotel - it is as relaxing as the Maldives, but just without a beach!
We stayed for three nights which was over in a blink of the eye, and although I stared at the trees for hours looking for monkeys I didn't see one! I think the hotel staff were pleased as they can be a pain.
In short add Tsala to your bucket list.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolongerreviewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Beautiful treetops stay. Fantastic rooms, your own pool, delicious breakfasts and a great place for dinner called Zinzi within walking distance of the hotel. We want to go back already! Service was super and Craig and his team were always happy to help. This place is paradise! Only recommendation would be to heat the pool as we really wanted to use it and it was very cold!

Room Tip: We had room 6 which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The treetop chalets are simply beautiful. Separate lounge area, stunningly decorated, and the bathroom is just amazing. Feels very private and secluded. The breakfast was superb, and we also had a first class dinner at the separate restaurant on site. Cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LisaCSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

stayed 3 nights in this beautiful place and loved every minute of it. from the momemt we arrived till the moment we left we were just taken with the service. the lodges are beautiful and spacious with a lovely seating area and a log fire . also there was a decking area with a plunge pool outside which was just lovely. ate in zinzi first night which was beautiful. its a walk along from the lodge which is great for your first night. breakast was AMAZIING. home made granola to die for with an array of fruits cut up,cheeses,smoked salmon, breads,cakes yogurts,fruit puree's and a menu of the usual cooked breakfast. presentation was lovely and the same in zinzi..you could be in a restaurant in west end of london for less than half the price.we were recommended to go to Neisner but after driving for nearly two hours we realised it was Knysna we were looking for! what with the accent and the silent K we were totally mistaken. we then drove to plettenberg bay which is nice. beautiful views. Tsala is just stunning..saw a few baby monkeys in the grounds which is so cute. on leaving we were given in a wrapped bag 2 bottles of water and a bag of choc chip biscuits and also we are more than sure that our hired car had been washed. a stunning place out in the wilds but well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harkerville
6.1 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
533 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
236 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
134 reviews
10.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
769 reviews
6.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsala Treetop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsala Treetop Lodge

Property: Tsala Treetop Lodge
Address: PO Box 454, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Harkerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tsala Treetop Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the treetops of an age-old indigenous forest, Tsala is a lavish celebration of the spirit of Africa. Irresistible to those who appreciate exclusivity, fine fare, romance and adventure. With beautiful private suites and villas, breathtaking views and forest seclusion, unique architectural design and excellent personal service, it is a fantastic get-away destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tsala Treetop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsala Treetop Hotel Harkerville
Tsala Treetop Plettenberg Bay
Tsala Treetop Lodge South Africa/Harkerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing