We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In cloud nine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkee, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In cloud nine”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We only had one night in this lodge, and that was by default, the hotel we booked closed for maintenance and put us up here. Wow it is fantastic. We were very warmly welcomed at the lodge and given lots of information of the area, but as it seemed so nice we did not leave the property for the night. Our chalet was up in the canopy of the forest with views to die for. The suite was luxury and homely together. A log stove was lit on our arrival so it warm. The bathroom.... well i can't keep saying amazing. We strolled around and around every corner there was something interesting. We came across an out side living room with a canvas covering and sat there while it rained. I never enjoyed the rain so much. The restaurant was marvelous too. The birds and sound of the night are all things i wont forget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryrose c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    43
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
92
349
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Udaipur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

An exquisite holiday experience! Treetop lodge in the true sense with all rooms overlooking the dense and magical forest and valley. I happened to get a great deal directly from the hotel and travelled with my husband and another couple. We arrived at very late hours and were yet welcomed with the same enthusiasm, warmth and willingness to help and serve.
On entering the two bedroom villa we had opted for, we were simply awestruck. The place was beauuuutiful and had everything that we could have dreamt for a super luxurious and comfortable stay.
Every little detail that one could expect was taken care of from the welcoming fireplace to the hot water bags tucked in below our duvets on freezing nights to the inviting bath tubs, the outdoor showers overlooking the gorgeous valley, the seperate heaters in the bath area and not to forget the good night notes i really looked forward to reading before sleeping every night.
It all added a personal touch which was much appreciated.
Service too was impeccable considering the million demands we made specially when it came to dining as we were vegetarians. We even had the most scrumpotious breakfast served in the comfort and privacy of our own private villa where great efforts were made to ensure that the dishes remained hot even though it had to be brought to our room which was a long walk away from the main dining area.
The spread in the breakfast room was also lavish with a variety of cold cuts and fruits and cheeses and breads and pastries.
The food and ambience at the restaurant Zinzi were also mindblowing. So much so that we decided to skip stepping out on the second day and ordered late dinner from Zinzi in out villa.
I also took the opportunity to wake up early and explore the property on a morning walk which was indeed energising and refreshing.
A special mention also to the bar and library area which housed many fascinating books and ancient african artifacts.
The staff was also very helpful in designing our itinerary for the day and making bookings for adventure activities such as bungee and canopy tours etc. They seemed to get us a good deal for the same.

The only downside i would say is that the outdoor shower area of one of the rooms was infested with bees on the day we arrived. However i understand that it is something inevitable in a forested area like that and was infact well taken care of as soon as we informed housekeeping.
Also our private pool although inviting remained unused as the water was freezing. Maybe an option for heating could be explored.

In all a stunning property which i have already recommended to a bunch of people visiting SA this year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManishaMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

have travelled across the world for both business and pleasure and without a doubt Tsala is one of the best and most romantic hotels I have stayed in!
Tsala is situated on the N2 between knysna and plettenburg with the entrance being located opposite the Knysna Elephant Park.
On arrival we were greeted warmly by the staff who didn't rush our check in but sat us down and provided complimentary drinks with homemade nibbles (fudge,coconut ice and shortbread) while preparing our room and asking for the standard forms to be completed.
We were then taken to our room (bags collected from the car and taken for us), we were staying in lodge 6 which is a one bedroom lodge and on arrival we were simply blown away!
You walk along your own private walkway to your front fence which then leads you to the decking with your private infinity pool and then into your lodge's front room that has views overlooking the valley with your woodburner, chairs, mini bar etc.
The lodge is more or less open plan with no doors separating the rooms so immediately to the left of the lounge is the bedroom with again spectacular floor to ceiling windows providing views into the valley. Directly behind the bedroom is the bathroom with his and hers sinks, vanity mirrors, indoor and outdoor showers (the outdoor shower is a must!) and a beautiful marble bath in the centre of the bathroom.
Once settled in champagne and cheese was brought to our lodge (nice touch) before we headed for our lovely evening meal. Typically the residents would eat in the Zinzi resturant however being our honeymoon we had a private candlelit three course dinner with wine in the wine cellar for only £30! The food was exquisit and Craig our host and one of the snr managers catered for our every need and looked after us superbly during our whole stay.
Another lovely touch by the hotel is that during our evening meals the room would be turned down by the staff and on our return we found the wood fire burning with rugs and pillows laid out in front of the fireplace witbum marshmellows and hot chocolate awaiting us!
For me one of the best things about the hotel is the staff, they do everything they can to advise you on things for you to do and ensure your stay is as magical as possible.
I honestly don't have any criticisms and I could write much more.
Two pieces of advice for you would be make sure you stay more than a couple of nights and watch out for the thieving vervet monkeys!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholasgoodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We did not stay at the lodge but were lucky enough to win a voucher for breakfast. This review is purely about the breakfast. The lodge is not wheelchair accessible but the staff were very accommodating to help us into the dining room which was fabulously decorated. The breakfast consists of a cold buffet which had a wonderful fruit selection; the poached pears were divine, muesli, yoghurt, cheese and cold meats. Unfortunately the banana bread was stale and the chef should rather think about ordering his croissants from Le Fournil in Plett as what was on offer was just lacking. The hot breakfast was a la carte and we ordered French toast and fried eggs, sausage, mushrooms and caramel onions. If I am not mistaken French toast involves egg but not on this Saturday morning; just greasy fried bread. The rest of the breakfast was really greasy and bland and unfortunately the cappuccino was not up to scratch. Rather disappointing as this place is really in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Selena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Couldn't have been a better experience. Rooms are beautiful, and the people are wonderful. They went out of their way to work with us on our daily activities. Food couldn't be better at Zinzi's (North African Platter was particularly delicious), even gave our family a tour of the kitchen. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was part of our honeymoon trip and we spent 3 nights here..Totally amazing..The food was fab,the views were stunning and the room was top class.The weather was poor when we visited but it didn't matter.I would recommend you have a massage that the hotel can organise for you,they arrive to ur room and set up all their equipment and light candles and incense..pure bliss.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This has to be one of the most special places i have ever stayed at. Every detail has been taken care of. As a tour operator I have tried out many places in South Africa and around the world and I cannot think of many places that top this. I was there on business but it was very difficult not to relax and enjoy this beautifully decorated and spacious accommodation. The rooms look out onto the treetops and it is so peaceful watching the birds and monkeys playing around. A private pool overlooking the trees is so relaxing. The restaurant on the property is world class with a stunning wine list. There was such a choice at breakfast and again fine attention to detail - even the resident monkeys tried to steal some. I would go back there time and time again and hope to send many of my clients there. A not to be missed experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwenStra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harkerville
6.1 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
10.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
13.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsala Treetop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsala Treetop Lodge

Property: Tsala Treetop Lodge
Address: PO Box 454, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Harkerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tsala Treetop Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the treetops of an age-old indigenous forest, Tsala is a lavish celebration of the spirit of Africa. Irresistible to those who appreciate exclusivity, fine fare, romance and adventure. With beautiful private suites and villas, breathtaking views and forest seclusion, unique architectural design and excellent personal service, it is a fantastic get-away destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Tsala Treetop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsala Treetop Hotel Harkerville
Tsala Treetop Plettenberg Bay
Tsala Treetop Lodge South Africa/Harkerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing