We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing treetop sanctuary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tsala Treetop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing treetop sanctuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Believe the hype - Tsala Treetop lodge is a wonderful place. From the minute we arrived we were spoiled and enchanted by this place. Craig was a wonderful host - from our champagne on arrival to a bag of snacks to take with us when we left & everything in between. The villas are fabulous with the most breath taking views, the service second to none & the food amazing both in the hotel & the on site restaurant Zinzi.
Go there, enjoy being spoiled, soak up the atmosphere - just watch out for the monkeys :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilley79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    43
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
89
337
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Being an older couple, we wanted to be Tarzan and Jane (Cheeta didn't come along) for 1 night. We got a perfect welcome by Craig and his team, felt at ease immediately.
Expecting lianes, bugs and snakes, we were "wowed" entering the "room". It was just fantastic: living room with Mexican stove (lit at night), great bathroom, cosy bedroom, swimming pool, balcony with great view,....
And in the evening a very nice dinner at Zinzi restaurant.
What else can I say: it was perfect!
Thanks Craig for all your help and advice: we had a great lunch at Bramon. Great tip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We were travelling around South Africa staying at some top hotels but this one topped the list. The personal attention to detail together with the uniqueness of staying in a treetop villa with a plunge pool marked it out. The villa was tastefully furnished with an indoor and outdoor shower, floor to ceiling windows providing a breathtaking view across the tree canopy, cosy lounge with separate bedroom and bathroom. According to the info in the room we had arrived later than lunch was available. However when we called room service they responded by saying they were there to help and would bring up our lunch choices within 20 minutes. This is only one example of the excellent service standards here. The restaurant in the grounds, a short walk from the villa, was one of the best we had eaten in on our travels and just added to the overall experience here. If I could give it more stars than 5 I would, it is that good.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mav1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at Tsala for one night.We got spoiled in every way possible from checking in to checking out.Excelent service from a great team.Dinner at Zinzi was perfect and breakfast the next morning was great.Well done to everyone at the Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJansen108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We returned for our 10th anniversary, having previously been to Tsala on honeymoon. Relaxed, luxurious, spacious, beautiful setting, wonderful staff, fantastic breakfasts! So many personalised touches to make our stay that much more memorable! Great attention to detail.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast
Level Contributor
224 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed two nights at Tsala Treetop Lodge in the African summer. Our suite was very big, with a woodburning fireplace, and a plunge pool on the deck. This was in addition to the huge bathroom with the indoor and outdoor showers, the balcony for looking at the forest, and a comfortable bed.

Because it was summer, we lit the fire ourselves for the ambiance. And we used the plunge pool in the afternoon. Because we were in room 8, which is passed by maintenance people, and people from other rooms, and because we were going nude in the plunge pool, we hung towels over the wooden fence to make it more private.

We appreciated all the attention to details that Tsala had -- the doorbell at the gate onto the deck; the keychain for the room key, which was an animal horn; the fireplace being between the living room and bedroom, and the spacing between rooms to make them private. In the main lodge, I kept seeing more and more interesting African things, every time I looked.

Luckily, we didn't see any monkeys, as we had been warned about how naughty they could be.

We ate at Zinzi restaurant one night and enjoyed it. But we were really impressed by all the fruit they had at breakfast. It was the most fruit either of us had ever seen at a breakfast buffet. And the rest of the breakfast was good, too.

The staff was very helpful with information about what to see and do, and specific recommendations for our drive to the wine country upon departure.

The only thing that I found not quite right, was the lounge/sofa in the living room, which was overly big for one person, but not quite big enough for 2. This was the only piece of overstuffed furniture in the living room (as I recall), so one of us was on a more conventional chair.

I should also mention that the hot and cold faucets in southern African countries are not always standardized like they are back home. The hot faucet may be on the left or the right. Pay attention. (I can't remember if Tsala specifically was this way or not).

I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Picture yourself in the middle of the forest. All you can see is a vast canopy of trees unfolding before your very eyes....birds of every colour, perhaps even a monkey or two, swinging from branch to branch. Imagine watching the sun setting over the trees, with the glorious colours that only the African sky can offer. Serenity abounds, and if you are extra lucky, you are sipping a glass of chilled South African white wine while admiring the views.

Now imagine seeing all of this from the deck of your totally private, luxurious tree house suite, complete with plunge pool, indoor/outdoor slate shower and floor-to-ceiling panoramic windows.

Tsala is all that, and more.

We spent 2 weeks in South Africa, and our three nights at Tsala were undoubtedly the highlight of our trip. We had booked a two bedroom suite for our two children and ourselves. The bedrooms were well proportioned, with the aforementioned floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the canopy of the forest surrounding us. Each bedroom was attached to its own identical, luxurious ensuite bathroom with a standalone tub, huge counters with double vanities, mirrors galore, plenty of closet space, and the fabulous indoor-outdoor shower.

Nothing was wanting.

Between the bedrooms was our private lounge with ample seating, a galley kitchen hidden behind mirrored doors, fully stocked minibar, surround sound system, etc. There was also a fireplace which was lit each evening during turn down service. We loved coming home from dinner to a lit fire and a treat on our pillows. The treats were different each day.

Breakfast is included in Tsala's nightly rate, and is also first rate. Fruits, freshly baked goodies (often straight out of the oven and gloriously warm) and cereals to satisfy the most discerning of tastes, followed by eggs to order. Or, in my case, a request for the chef's fruit smoothie - a concoction that had me in heaven each morning.

What really sets Tsala apart is its personal service. No request is too much. We had booked dinner at the onsite restaurant - Zinzi- for the first evening at Tsala. When we realized how good and convenient the restaurant was, we asked to book the other two evenings as well. Despite the fact that the restaurant was full, they were able to fit us in. When one day we wanted to do a hike in nearby Plettenberg Bay, we requested a picnic lunch to be packed for us. At an incredibly reasonable price, we were ushered on our way with enough goodies to feed an army. My boy went to pick out a movie from the library one evening. Not 10 minutes after his return, a knock on the door brought bowls of popcorn for him to enjoy with his show. Incredible!

It is my biggest wish that we have another opportunity to visit Tsala in the future. If you, TripAdvisor reader, have a chance to do so, please grab it with both hands. You will thank me for it, I promise!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeidiToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harkerville
4.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
12.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsala Treetop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsala Treetop Lodge

Property: Tsala Treetop Lodge
Address: PO Box 454, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Harkerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harkerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tsala Treetop Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the treetops of an age-old indigenous forest, Tsala is a lavish celebration of the spirit of Africa. Irresistible to those who appreciate exclusivity, fine fare, romance and adventure. With beautiful private suites and villas, breathtaking views and forest seclusion, unique architectural design and excellent personal service, it is a fantastic get-away destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Tsala Treetop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsala Treetop Hotel Harkerville
Tsala Treetop Plettenberg Bay
Tsala Treetop Lodge South Africa/Harkerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing