We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
285
32
5
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
32
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thatched cottage country house log fire garden route underfloor heating private garden the main house canopied bed honesty bar family suite thoughtful touches beautiful grounds plettenberg bay lovely swimming pool homemade cookies tour group attention to detail
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 329 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2018

The hotel was amazing. The staff were excellent and looked after us brilliantly. The food was fantastic, as was the wine, and we loved the gift of a bottle of fizzy wine and some nibbles when we returned from a trip to Plettenburg Bay. A fantastic honeymoon, made very special by all concerned. We would definitely recommend it to friends and family. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: We were in a cottage which was stunning.
Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank n0rmanrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear n0rmanrussell
Thank you for reviewing Hunters Country House on Tripadvisor. We are so glad that we could play a part in making your honeymoon really special. I will be sure to pass on all the compliments to the rest of the staff, who are really passionate about the special brand of service that Hunters has become known for.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

A huge shout-out to the management and staff for the magnificent lunch Hunter’s Country House hosted formy Book Club on Saturday.

There was not one complaint, only compliments and ooo’s and aaah’s all round! And special thanks to chef Louis and his team for a most extravagant and awesomely delicious feast! The effort that was made with the table setting and decorations was also greatly admired. I am always so happy when my friends sing the praises of Hunter’s and it is you and your team that has to be congratulated!

Well done and many grateful thanks

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 40jeanineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Dear 40jeanineh

Chistmas in July is always a fun event for us to host. Thank you for the wonderful compliments that have come our way from the Book Club after the lunch.
The entire Team at Hunters was fully involved in making this a really special occasion for all in the Book Club. Louis and his very talented team in the kitchen pulled out all the stops with a lavish and tasty menu, presented on tables with full Christmas decorations.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for four nights and had an incredible time here. The service was exceptional, rooms were comfortable and the food was delicious. I would even go as far as to say, don’t worry about going to the other restaurants in the area. The Hunter’s dinning table was a clear cut above.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Ryan M
Thank you for your kind words and compliments in your review of Hunters Country House. I will certainly pass the compliments on to all the staff and to the very talented team of Chefs headed up by executive chef Louis Jansen.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful ambience, from the reception area to our cottage. Pure luxury.
Evening pre dinner drinks in one of the many lounges on an honour basis. Was great to be able to try different wines by the glass.
Food and service out of this world served in a setting of old world charm.
The outside garden areas and lounges for day time were so comfortable.
Would Highly recommend a stay here to re charge your batteries.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank Bluemargt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Dear Bluemargt
Thank you for your very kind review on Tripadvisor after your stay at Hunters Country House. Hunters has a very special ambience and atmosphere that cannot be created overnight. this has evolved over three decades of the same high standards that we aspire to, being passed on to any new staff. I am so proud of our extremely talented team in the Hunters kitchen creating dishes that set standards rather than follow others. You are quite right when you say that the old world charm of Hunters is the perfect environment to relax and rid oneself of all stresses of modern life.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018

Had 3 fantastic nights here. Although we had one of the smaller rooms - a Terrace Room - it was clean, had a comfortable bed and a couple of chairs.

But the House itself is fantastic. Lots of lounges should you want them and even an 'honesty bar'. There's a beautiful outside canvas covered lounge with a log fire and waiter service for drinks. We also had two of the best meals we have ever had - one in their own Sage Restaurant and one a short stroll through the garden at Zinzi.

Breakfast was excellent too.
The staff were superb. They went out of their way to please and nothing was too much trouble and on leaving they also gave us a 'goody bag' of bottled water and homemade cookies for our onward journey.

One of the best places we have ever been fortunate to stay in and I can't rate this highly enough. A truly wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Dear Snowmajor
Thank you for your wonderful review of Hunters Country House on Tripadvisor. The compliments are musch appreciated by the Whole Team when we know we have made a big difference to a guests holiday with good, simple pld fashioned hospitality. Those small touches that guests experience are those memories that last the longest and are so easy to achieve.
thank you once again and please be sure to visit us should you be in our area anytime soon.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews