We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveler rating
288
32
5
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
32
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thatched cottage country house log fire garden route underfloor heating private garden the main house canopied bed honesty bar family suite thoughtful touches beautiful grounds plettenberg bay lovely swimming pool homemade cookies tour group attention to detail
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 332 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for four nights and had an incredible time here. The service was exceptional, rooms were comfortable and the food was delicious. I would even go as far as to say, don’t worry about going to the other restaurants in the area. The Hunter’s dinning table was a clear cut above.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear Ryan M
Thank you for your kind words and compliments in your review of Hunters Country House. I will certainly pass the compliments on to all the staff and to the very talented team of Chefs headed up by executive chef Louis Jansen.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful ambience, from the reception area to our cottage. Pure luxury.
Evening pre dinner drinks in one of the many lounges on an honour basis. Was great to be able to try different wines by the glass.
Food and service out of this world served in a setting of old world charm.
The outside garden areas and lounges for day time were so comfortable.
Would Highly recommend a stay here to re charge your batteries.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank Bluemargt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Dear Bluemargt
Thank you for your very kind review on Tripadvisor after your stay at Hunters Country House. Hunters has a very special ambience and atmosphere that cannot be created overnight. this has evolved over three decades of the same high standards that we aspire to, being passed on to any new staff. I am so proud of our extremely talented team in the Hunters kitchen creating dishes that set standards rather than follow others. You are quite right when you say that the old world charm of Hunters is the perfect environment to relax and rid oneself of all stresses of modern life.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018

Had 3 fantastic nights here. Although we had one of the smaller rooms - a Terrace Room - it was clean, had a comfortable bed and a couple of chairs.

But the House itself is fantastic. Lots of lounges should you want them and even an 'honesty bar'. There's a beautiful outside canvas covered lounge with a log fire and waiter service for drinks. We also had two of the best meals we have ever had - one in their own Sage Restaurant and one a short stroll through the garden at Zinzi.

Breakfast was excellent too.
The staff were superb. They went out of their way to please and nothing was too much trouble and on leaving they also gave us a 'goody bag' of bottled water and homemade cookies for our onward journey.

One of the best places we have ever been fortunate to stay in and I can't rate this highly enough. A truly wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Dear Snowmajor
Thank you for your wonderful review of Hunters Country House on Tripadvisor. The compliments are musch appreciated by the Whole Team when we know we have made a big difference to a guests holiday with good, simple pld fashioned hospitality. Those small touches that guests experience are those memories that last the longest and are so easy to achieve.
thank you once again and please be sure to visit us should you be in our area anytime soon.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

On arrival the place is amazing and beautiful. The room was better than we expected and views of the garden stunning. I don't know if it's me or the people, but found that once greeted all they want from you is money. Found the manager very poor at customer service and restaurant lacking in skill and service. Wifi on our stay was poor too.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Mr-GGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Dear Mr-GGriff
Thank you for your compliments that you have given us at Hunters Country House. There were a few points that made you unhappy with your stay. You stayed with us in November 2017, some eight months ago. You did not raise anything during your stay, which is now difficult to make sense of the comments. We are extremely discreet when it comes to payment of any extras...this happens only on departure, We even run an honesty bar in the main building for guests covenience.
Hunter Hotels put a huge emphasis on staff training, which is why almost every review from guests that have stayed with us makes friendliness and efficiency of our staff the main focus of the review. I apologise if something occured, that went against all our hospitality principles.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

The Hunter is a charming and lovely hotel in the middle of a wonderful forest. The landscape is awasome. Facilities and staff with high quality standars. And very close to Kynsna and Plettenberg Bay where you feel as you were in paradise.
Hopefully we can come back soon

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterDaleHCH, General Manager at Hunter's Country House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Dear Ana N
It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hunters so Much. We are idealy located in the Garden Route to be able to take avantage of some of the best attractions and activities that South Africa has to offer. You would be most welcome at any time to come and enjoy our special Hunters Country House hospitality.
kind regards
Peter Dale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews