We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Zinzi

Zinzi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Vibrant and casual with distinctive international flavours, Zinzi Restaurant offers an abundant & tasty menu. Ideal for sun-downers on the deck, or for a relaxed dining experience, Zinzi embraces the spirit of hearty cuisine and zesty ingredients with a choice selection of a la carte menu items. A meal at Zinzi is truly an abundant experience of honest food, warm service and superb ambience, at an affordable price.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Brilliant place. Relaxing and beautiful gardens surrounding the place. Well worth the visit and will go back for sure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StratisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    166
    52
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I was staying in Plettenberg Bay and came across Zinzi as it was ranked no 1 on tripadvisor.

The restaurant is located in the Tsala Treetop Lodge which itself is a 5 star lodge. The setting is idyllic, being located amongst lush trees and vast open spaces. The restaurant itself is elegant with a rustic feel. The furniture is 'aged' and gives the restaurant a somewhat hunting lodge feel. It opens up to amazing ponds and gardens.

The menu is not fussy and the food was great. It is also very reasonable. The staff seemed well trained and were able to answer any questions I had. We enjoyed the restaurant so much that we are going back soon!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JonCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Awesome location and awesome food”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This restaurant has it all! Beautiful location, beautiful interior and beautiful food. Magnificant wine list and dedicated and attentive staff -a winning combination. We had our Christmas lunch at Zinzi's and it was a memorable experience. We were a group of 7 -they very kindly added an extra chair for us as we only booked for 6 - no problem! The food was amazing, I had the kudu with the chocolate cherry sauce and this was probably one of the very best meals I have ever had. The meat was cooked to perfection! Highly recommend restaurant! Thank you to the staff and chefs! Indeed a Christmas lunch to remember!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sTcO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Having had a wonderful evening here a couple of years ago we were rather disappointed with the ambience, our food and the service. All in all very average.

Helpful?
Thank MonikaClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing food and location”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very good place... nice architecture, nice place, wonderful service.
Food was great, wine options are good and overall service is excelent.
Go for it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RicardoGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zinzi also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Zinzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing