We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
MsnRelais Mandorlo(Mombaruzzo)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Cascina Setteventi(Mombaruzzo)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveler rating
364
33
9
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
33
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschris and nicolaattention to detailwine tastingwonderful hoststruffle huntingstunning viewsnothing is too much troublepastathree daysbeautiful placevery special placecooking classamazing foodpiedmont regionspent daysrolling hillsthe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 413 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We have stayed in a number of hotels across the world and normally used to the 5* hotels, however I am so amazingly impressed with this Fabulous hotel I would actually rate it far far higher than some of the other 4/5 stars I have stayed in.

The Hotel is run by a fabulous couple Nicola and Chris who are warm, welcoming and professional. They have developed the hotel into an amazing depth of sophistication. The rooms are superbly set out with unique design, white decor with clean lines and are elequently decorated. All fresh, clean and all have a great character in the hotel.
There is a pool outside with the most spectacular views and a must for anyone thinking of staying in a hotel with character and great warm service. Nothing was too much trouble, the arranging of the restaurants and recommendations, the truffle hunting, which is a must and much cheaper to buy from him that in Alba. Plus Berta grappa visits and the other winerys.
Even with no room service after hours, there is a fridge you can stock up on midnight feasts, so this is certainly not an issue.
The staff are courteous and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The dinners are fabulous, the breakfasts basic and trust me you eat like a king in the evening, it is hard to get through all the food.
We met some amazing people who knew the area well and were frequent visitors to La Villa. Everyone from hedge fund managers to housewives and restauranteurs.
The views from the Terrace are amazing and well worth the look.
The gardens are well maintained and great to sit in.
The hotel is for those who want a bit of quiet relaxation or for those wanting to have good service, great ambiance in a beautiful well maintained hotel. The trip is how you make it, you can arrange truffle hunts, winery, great food, festivals and shopping. It is up to you, I would have no hesitatation in recommending La Villa to those who want unique quality. We will most certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LondonTruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Holidaying over 30 years we've seen a whole range of places at a whole range of prices. This one really scores highly if you like good food, style, attention to detail, peace and you like friendly yet understated service.

The place is better then the website photos and the owners, Chris and Nicola, delivered on everything that was promised - quite unusual!

Don't go there if you want ready-made entertainment or a disco - this is a place to relax around the lovely pool, explore the countryside and eat in some of the great local resteraunts or in the hotel. And if you are lucky enough to be there on 2nd September you can go up to the roof terrace at 10 p.m. with a glass of Prosecco and watch the firework display down in the village - seems a local guy left in his will EURO 8,000 to be spent each year on a firework dislay for his birthday!

Wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chantess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

We were at a Wedding for the weekend the views were superb, and the hosts were excellent,imformative helpful and great company. Food was out of this world the rooms are excellent very clean spacious and of a very high standard. Wine was great. and a superb swimming pool. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet get away , at a hotel with high standards.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Manrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Staying at this hotel was a last minute afterthought in order to provide a stopover between Chianti and Geneva, what an afterthought! It was the best place we stayed in Italy. The welcome was great, friedly but not stiff or effusive, the staff are without exception charming and the rooms spotless and extremely spacious. Views are to die for and the ground whilst not being extensive are big enough to find a corner to hide in. This is not a chain hotel, you will not find trouser presses and concierges, instead you will find genuine people in Chris and Nichola and the girls who really want you to have a good time and care about your individual holiday experience. It reminded me of a really well organised house party with all guests ( French, English,German, Swiss and Scandinavian) mingling well without being in each other's pockets. We will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed in the Terrace Suite for the weekend and had a blissful time. We had driven quite a way through a terrible storm and when we arrived were warmly greeted by Nicola and taken through to the bar for a welcome drink. As it was such hideous weather, guests were forced inside, which added to the cosy atmosphere, with the rain lashing down outside.

The decor is stylish and simple, but well planned and elegant - mainly earth tones but with subtle accents of colour in paintings and accessories. Our room was spacious, having a sitting area with mini bar and a bright, airy bedroom which opened onto the terrace which is shared with the Moroccan room. Sadly we weren't there long enough to enjoy the fabulous view. It would have been nice to enjoy a drink outside.

Bathroom was perfectly adequate - shower but no bath which is as we had requested - we would have preferred a slightly larger shower area but it was absolutely fine. I liked the way the towels were rolled and stored and also the towel hooks. Clever use of space.

We ate in the restaurant one night, which was superb value for money - a delicious 4 course meal (set menu). Great atmosphere in the dining room too. The following evening we ate at L'Arbiola which we can throughly recommend - an experience like no other in a stunning setting. Delicious home cooked food presented by the chef - well worth a visit.

As previously mentioned by other reviewers, Nicola and Chris are perfect hosts - there when you need them, and in the background when you don't. Both have a wealth of knowledge of the area and of wine. Service was excellent - there was always somebody available to help with any query, and everyone was extremely helpful and happy.

The gardens/grounds are worth a special mention - they are just beautiful and obviously a lot of work has gone into planning and maintaining them.

Also, with regard to the other review recently posted - the pool was sparkling and well maintained with quite a few people sunbathing around it!

The hotel is also ideally situated for sightseeing and market visiting, wine tasting etc.

We would definitely recommend this charming hotel for anyone who appreciates amazing scenery and views, good food and wine and simple elegant surroundings. It is not a 5 star luxury "at your beck and call" property by any means - but it doesn't pretend to be either. Instead it is warm and friendly; where you can completely relax, know that nothing is too much trouble, eat and drink well, and enjoy some simply stunning views without feeling crowded, as there are plenty of spots with thoughtfully placed tables etc.

We hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josefa68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews