We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of heaven in the Piedmont Hills”
Review of La Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Villa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mombaruzzo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A bit of heaven in the Piedmont Hills”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at La Villa for two nights at the start of our stay in Piedmont and then one night at the end. Each time we were so disappointed that we could not spend more time. This is understated luxury of the highest standard accompanied by the most friendly staff and owners you can imagine. Our room overlooked the beautiful countryside - The white stone floors, the lovely vistas , the beautiful bathrooms and the heavenly bath products made you feel at home immediately. While you can eat at the hotel we decided to explore the local restaurants. We tried two ( bot amazing - went to I Coffi a second time) but there is a long list and so we must go back to start experiencing the other amazing restaurants. Not only did Chris help with the food restaurants . I needed a dentist and before I knew it I had an appointment, had a retainer fixed and paid a tenth of the cost of the US.
There are some hotels that when you walk in you feel at home. That is La Villa. We are counting the days until we can return.

Room Tip: We loved room 4 /..... Beautiful large and the bath tub was heavenly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    30
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
63
214
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Everything about this hotel is charming and relaxing. It just has a calm welcoming vibe. Everything is tasteful and beautiful, though not posh or extravagant. It's cozy. And the dinner here is better than most of the local restaurants (which are amazing).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blungld200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We only booked La Villa for a one night stop-over on our way to the Italian Lakes, but had we known what a gem it was we would have booked for longer. The hotel has a wonderful rustic charm, yet is decorated and furnished to the highest standards. The bed was incredibly comfortable, the bedroom beautiful and the ambiance wonderful. Chris and Nicola made us feel like their house guests and the other staff were friendly and attentive. Nicola went out of her way to recommend things to do in the area for our onward trip and even spent time helping us plan our garden at home based on the stunning planting she's cultivated at La Villa! We highly recommend and will definitely try to go back. In our tour of Spain, France and Italy this was definitely our favourite countryside accommodation... a little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddyat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

La Villa is a beautiful Hotel set amongst rows of vines and provides every comfort you would need for your stay. Your Hosts, Chris and Nicola, provide a wonderful insight into the area and are more than willing to assist with any of your requirements. The Villa is kept in pristine condition, from the gardens, to the swimming pool, to the rooms. The food on offer each day uses local produce, and the chef, Charlie, cooks the most delicious meals during your stay. The cellar is stocked with a beautiful range of Piemonte wines to compliment your dinner. We highly recommend La Villa Hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hugbug23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I decided to head off on a 'spur of the moment' trip to Florence by car. This gave us only one day to prepare! After several hours of computer research, 'La Villa Hotel' was booked for a 2 night stay as part of our return journey back to the UK.

La Villa Hotel was by far our favourite hotel in Italy. While I know many other reviewers have commented on this, it really is true, Chris and Nicola genuinely are excellent hosts but more importantly, just really nice people..... They are passionate about what they do, the food they serve is excellent as is the reasonably priced wine.

My wife and I were so pleased with every aspect of our stay at La Villa Hotel that we have already booked to go back in early September, making it our second visit in just two months!

If you are looking for a lovely hotel, with a peaceful swimming pool and beautifully appointed rooms, combined with great food and fantastic wine then this is the place for you!

Allister & Claire

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisterSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent four nights here, and had a wonderful stay. Chris and Nicola made us welcome and we felt more like house guests.
The rooms are well set out, and well furnished. Beds are very comfortable for Italy, and bathrooms are modern and spacious.
You can have a meal in house, but there are plenty of nearby restaurants etc and plenty od advice and help available.
We were present during a real heatwave, and the A/C was really stretched but coped, and the pool was most welcome.
Even when a mini-cyclone hit with a cool change, causing significant damage, Chris and Nicola, and Freddy the gardener, coped very well and looked after all guests well.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernWanderer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was far and away the highlight of our week-long trip in Northern Italy. The property is stunning with gorgeous views and beautifully decorated rooms. Chris was incredibly helpful and sent me a list of restaurants before I arrived so that I could plan our four days in Piemonte. Nicola recommended some fabulous wines for us to try with dinner (which was excellent - highly recommend dining in at least once). All of the staff were warm and attentive as well. There is plenty of outside space to relax and enjoy the sunshine and wine, but you will definitely need a car to be able to explore the surrounding area (ample parking at the property). Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: The Penthouse Suite is worth it for the views alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picklebunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mombaruzzo
5.2 mi away
Residenza San Vito
Residenza San Vito
#1 of 2 in Calamandrana
170 reviews
10.6 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
450 reviews
21.1 mi away
Spinerola Charme & Relax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA
17.2 mi away
Villa d'Amelia Relais
Villa d'Amelia Relais
#1 of 1 in Benevello
311 reviews
18.6 mi away
Castello di Guarene
Castello di Guarene
#1 of 3 in Guarene
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Hotel

Property: La Villa Hotel
Address: Via Torino 7 | casalotto, 14046 Mombaruzzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Mombaruzzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mombaruzzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Monferrato hills, surrounded by vineyards and breathtaking scenery, you will discover La Villa hotel. This 17th century palazzo has now been transformed into a luxurious and elegant country hotel, far removed from the pressures of everyday life. Superb wines, gourmet food, scenic walks and cycle rides and golf courses are all available close by - or, just relax by the pool, on the roof terrace or on your balcony- your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Mombaruzzo
La Villa Hotel Italy/Mombaruzzo, Piedmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing