We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel in spite of the wacky decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mar Hotel Alimuri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in spite of the wacky decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Alimuri, just outside od Sorrento as part of a tour of the Amalfi Coast, and our only disappointment was that it was situated some 4km from Sorrento, which meant we were unable to explore on our own. That said, its beachside location was a plus. Our seaview room was large and well furnished, but the bizarre decore of ropes, shells and anchors on every surface was a bit much. Meals were good; we appreciated the vegetable buffet at dinner, though it should have been explained. Breakfast was also good. Staff quite friendly and efficient. Apart from the distance to Sorrento itself, the Alimuri was a pleasant hotel in which to stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EvelynF1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    216
    70
    21
    37
See reviews for
211
447
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We have both just returned from a week at this hotel where we spent a lovely honeymoon. We both had a fantastic time. The setting is breathtakingly beautiful. The staff were incredibly friendly and very attentive. We never went short of good food and ask for a glass of wine and you'll get a bottle. The shuttle bus dropped us in and out of Sorrento when we fancied a change of scenery with no problem. The only thing we would say is that there is a lack of entertainment and things to do nearby if the weather isn't great as it is a bit off the beaten track... But this was more than compensated for by the friendliness of those working there and the whole ambience of the place. The room was immaculate...the maid did a great job. We had a junior suite for the week which was fabulous with a gorgeous sea view. Going to sleep with the sound of the waves crashing in was wonderful. Missing it already. Would definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MiowLeMix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is a little gem of the Amalfi Coast just out of Sorento which makes for less hustle and bustle and greater serenity. The hotel is of a good standard with clean and quiet rooms, some with a view of the coast. Our room was bright, airy, clean and quite large with good size hanging space in the wardrobes.
What sets this place apart from its peers is the quality of service of its staff. This begins with Concierge desk with the wonderful Serena who is courteous and thoughtful and catered for any reasonable request. She introduced us to the hotel and made it a pleasurable experience to stay here and solved any problems we had with the tour or any other request. The other joy was Roberto the maitre'd. What a pleasure it was to eat in the restaurant.
In short a great place to stay with wonderful food and service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baldyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London - UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Hotel receptionists were not welcoming, Breakfasts and Lunches - Cold - Evening meals - very nice. Didn't seem to have a lot of choice of meals. Sewage problem on the reception floor, the staff try and cover it up with polishes and air fresheners but the smell beat them one morning but we could not fault the cleanliness of the Hotel. Coming out of the hotel you can go "right" for the bus stop which you have to walk through a tunnel shared with cars, mopeds etc.. and left is fenced off about 150 yards from hotel. If you are a wheelchair user or have mobility problems then this area is not for you as it is very hilly and dangerous to walk through the tunnel as there is only a narrow, uneven foot path. The local bus takes approx. 20 minutes to get to Sorrento (Meta to Sorrento is 5km) and the fare is one euro - 30 cents but the hotel puts on a courtesy bus (Thomas Cook) to take you into Sorrento but this is one every 30 minutes. If you make a mistake with your seating at meal times the head waiter/restaurant manager raises his voice at you so people look round - very embarrassing. We were there for ten days and there were only three entertainers ( one solo and a duo) and it was music every evening. We had road view room which we didn't mind but it was quite dark (as we faced cliffs and the sun didn't really get into the room) and the décor depressing. Nice shower room (no bath) and no tea/coffee facilities but the mini bar is topped up everyday with bottle water. We paid for 4*. On departure day there is a Hotel Tax to be paid which is one euro 50 cents per person per day and they do not like accepting credit cards - cash only. The service throughout the hotel was very good. We personally would not recommend this hotel. Geoff & Sue - London.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view with bath (if required)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s0nsh33n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Booked an all inclusive package holiday at the Alimuri and would go back tomorrow if I could! Admittedly the hotel is isolated and there isn't really anywhere to go for a walk but the free shuttle bus goes into Sorrento several times a day; you just book your desired times with reception. The room itself was bright, airy, clean and big! I'm sure some hotels would have split it in half or even thirds to get extra rooms it was that big.

The staff at the hotel are amazing. From the chambermaids, the maintenance crew, reception staff and waiters, to the shuttle bus drivers, nothing was too much trouble. Special mentions have to go to the maitre'd, Roberto and the fabulous bar team of Pasquale, Valentino, Guiseppe and Francesco (who also doubles as the lifeguard). Drinks and ice cream brought to your table in the dining room or sun lounger without being requested. Just one word of warning, these guys don't measure the alcohol. The cocktails are lethal but oh so good!

There is a spa at the hotel but the treatments are not included in the all inclusive deal. They are a little expensive but again the team are lovely. There is an indoor pool and sauna which is available at a cost of 15 euros. Not sure how long you can stay there but it's worth going in to have a look.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. The second floor is directly over the bar but the entertainment finishes at 11pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowestoft
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a quiet hotel with it's own small beach.The staff are fantastic and this is the first time we have ever stayed at a hotel where everything is included, drinks and two courses of the evening meal were served to your table and if you asked for wine you were given a bottle.Branded drinks were also available, as were a wide range of cocktails.The rooms were spacious and clean.There was a bookable shuttle into Sorrento.
If I have any criticism it is that the hotel is a little isolated and that the hot water did run out one evening and was not great if you were late bathing. The entertainment was fine apart from our last evening when it was outside because it had turned warm and we had a 6am start, but it did finish at 10.45pm.

Room Tip: Do book a balcony room, the views are excellent. If you want to avoid the music in warm weather do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissmmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful week at the Alimuri in Meta, Sorrento. This really is an excellent hotel - rooms, staff, food & views all fantastic! The hotel is nothing to look at on arrival from the street but do not be put off inside it is a beautiful hotel with lots of old fashioned charm and decadence! The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated - we had a sea view and it was really stunning. The food is excellent - breakfast is buffet with plenty of choice, lunch is buffet and grill also with lots of choice and dinner is a 4 course meal every night with waiter service!! There is always a great choice, different every night and the quality is second to none and if you want wine they bring you the bottle!! The restaurant staff are friendly and accommodating. Next door is the bar with a beautiful terrace to sit on and watch the sunsets! The staff led by Pascale, with Guiseppe and Valentino were absolutely great - always friendly, efficient and nothing was too much trouble for them. You can also get snacks in the bar if you haven't had your fill in the restaurant!! The reception staff are also very friendly and informative. Perhaps the only negative point is the location. We found it a bit isolated - there is nowhere to have a leisurely stroll to, however Meta is in walking distance, but is a bit of a trek uphill!! There is a frequent shuttle bus to and from Sorrento, which is easily organised from reception. You can reach Pompeii, Herculaneum, Naples easily on the train or bus and you don't have to go to Sorrento, Meta train station is much easier. Also when we asked where it was at reception they told us the shuttle bus would drop us off there. This hotel is more suitable for couples or older travellers - it is very quiet and the evening entertainment is bit laid back piano bar style!! All in all a great holiday in an excellent hotel and we would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: We would recommend a sea view, stunning panorama.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swaddy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meta
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Resort
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,606 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort
Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort
#13 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#2 of 17 in Maiori
4.5 of 5 stars 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#18 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
2.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#7 of 99 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 2,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panorama Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Hotel Alimuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Hotel Alimuri

Property: Mar Hotel Alimuri
Address: Via Angelo Cosenza 155, 80062 Meta, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Hotel Alimuri 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Mar Hotel Alimuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Hotel Meta
Mar Hotel Alimuri Italy/Meta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing