We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some issues in a natural paradise”
Review of Mar Hotel Alimuri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Some issues in a natural paradise”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent 7 unforgettable days in this hotel that seems be placed in a paradise corner. The food is delicious and the staff is very warm . Everything was lovely, but we got higher expectation about the all inclusive service since we saw nice comments on trip advisor. It was ten minutes to midnight and bar staff started snorting and refused to give us a last drink. We suggest to replace some of those rude employees, arrogant like Pasquale, if i dont confuse his name...and someone else who i can't remember. He used to have long shave, dirty clothing..and aggressive behavior. However it was really a good experience. But not sure we will come back if those employees will not change their behavior. Best regards. Enrik Waldron.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enrik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    258
    91
    27
    37
See reviews for
229
534
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Mar Hotel Alimuri in Sorrento is a great hotel: the staff is very nice and professional, the location is wonderful, right on the beach and with a seaside from many rooms. Food is good, too. it's just a shame that it should need some maintenance works and that, during our stay, the pool in the spa wasn't so warm because of some works just done and we couldn't use it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We went to the Alimuri on a First Choice/Tompson all inclusive package. First impressions as you come down the road into the dead end where it is situated are not great. When you get inside it is a bit like the Tardis. The inside is very ornately decorated in mosaic with a sea life theme. Everything has a sea shell, star fish, sea horse worked into it, even the light fittings are anchors. Reception as you go in is on the fourth floor, the rest of the hotel goes down the face of the cliff onto the only beach in the area.

Our room was well decorated, spacious and comfortable. We had a superior room with a sea view. There are some smaller rooms that look onto the road and some ritzy rooms with hot tubs that look over the sea. If you get the choice take a sea view room.

The sea view looks over the bay of Naples and you can see right round the bay to Sorento Point.

The hotel is a little way out but the hotel lay on a free bus shuttle service on the hour into the town and at quarter past the hour to get back. The hotel is well placed to visit all the attractions such as Vesuvius, Pompeii, Herculium and the Isle of Capri. They are all very doable locally without taking the tour operators trips. There is a station at Meta that will take you directly to Pompeii but it is a bit of an uphill walk, however when you book the bus, if you ask to be dropped off at the station the driver will make a detour.

The staff were very friendly and accomodating.

The food was great and plentiful.

There were no half measures with the all inclusive either. The bar staff were great!!!

The place is kept spotless.

Largely because there is an on site manager who patrols the hotel 24 hours a day and anything that is remotely out of place, he has the staff jumping about puting it right.

If you find fault with this hotel you must be either very picky or very unlucky!!

If there was anything I would see as an improvement would be to have tea making facilities in the room. We wake up early and I am sure it was only a phone call for room service to bring us one up, but I would have liked to sort myself out.

A bit of English on the TV other than CNN. But in fairness how many Italian channels do we have in English hotels????

Take your own soap, shampoo is provided and plenty of hard white soap but if you want shower gel you wil need to take your own.

Room Tip: Look out over the bay. The sunset behind the Isle of Capri is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel and location was amazing!

We were there March/April 2013- the service from the staff at this hotel was exceptional.

The location, views, restaurant, bar, service, were brilliant!!

Overlooking the Bay Of Naples with a glass of Bacardi and Coke on the balcony early am with the sea crashing onto the beach was absolutely wonderful.

I would (and have) recommended this hotel to anyone who wishes to enjoy Italian life and beautiful vistas.

I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 352PatK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just back from spending Easter at the Alimuri. Fantastic views and value for money. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Ideal location for visiting Sorrento with a courtesy bus running several times a day from the hotel. Trips to Pompeii and Herculaneum very interesting with excellent English speaking guides.

Caters mainly for couples but our 20 year old daughter enjoyed the experience and with free Wi-Fi we weren't too isolated from the outside world. Wouldn't recommend for families with younger children who may need more entertainment.

Relaxing holiday with good food and drink, will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadlerkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annoymous
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went in April 2013, lovely hotel and location. The staff are very friendly and they do try their best to help whenever they can. Pacuale in the bar was a delight! The food was beautiful aswell. No complaints with that. We had a balcony room and had a great view over to Capri and surrounding areas. The beds were comfortable and the room had plenty of space. The FREE shuttle bus, repeat FREE, was ideal for popping into Sorrento. Try the Limoncello and Streaga!

We did three excursions with Thompson; Pompeii, Select 4x4 Vesuvius and Rome in a day. I recommend you do Pompei by yourself as the guide was rubbish. We did it ourselves again (Really cheap train, takes 20 mins from Meta station) The other two however were fantastic, the food provided for Rome was a three course meal in a restaurant and it was lovely, saw all the sights we wanted to. The select vesuvius with wine tasting was amazing, clear day so amazing views.

The only problem we had that we found that Germans and Italians generally had priority treatment. My partner was told the spa was closed for renovations, yet we found out that many German people had been in for massages the very day!

It was still a fantastic holiday and we met some very friendly people and our Thompson rep (Robbie) was lovely and tried his best to sort any problems other guests had aswell. Highly recomment this place for couples!

Room Tip: Balcony room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JumanjiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant location. Brilliant beach. Amazing food and staff do anything u ask for. All round Excellent! Please go out and do the Sorrento walk around its very intresting.
I had a week here for my honeymoon. Beautiful

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hopey0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meta
2.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
1,778 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort
Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort
#10 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
566 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#7 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panorama Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Hotel Alimuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Hotel Alimuri

Property: Mar Hotel Alimuri
Address: Via Angelo Cosenza 155, 80062 Meta, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Hotel Alimuri 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mar Hotel Alimuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Hotel Meta
Mar Hotel Alimuri Italy/Meta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing