We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are they writing the reviews themselves?”
Review of Mar Hotel Alimuri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Drinks excellent, as we're the bar staff. Rooms tired and in need of an upgrade. After checking the web site we were expecting a hospitality tray, robes, jacuzzi bath or four poster bed - none of which was provided. The room was compact and dated,the bathroom had no ventilation whatsoever, with a very temperamental shower. Cleanliness could not be faulted and daily cleanig was carried out by a team of very friendly maids. Food was absolutely awful, we ended up eating out in sorrento most evenings. Tea and coffee was unspeakable, food was luke warm and left uncovered. The head waiter was a very opinionated man who refused to allow us to eat lunch outside even though the tables had been pre set. On one occasion we went down to breakfast and sat at a nice table with a beautiful view over looking the bay, only to be told we could not sit anywhere we wished and in future he would seat us. I could have accepted this had the restaurant been busy, but there were only another two couples breakfasting at the time as the hotel was not busy. Very embarrassing. The location is dreadful, but on the plus side the hotel provides an excellent shuttle service. No facilities whatsoever for children, not even a shallow end in the small pool. The tray on the coverted high chair tilted forward so we had to hold plates to prevent them sliding off.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank anna12England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilariag86, Direttore at Mar Hotel Alimuri, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. We appreciate all kind of feedback by our Client, all Guest's comments are important to the success of our Hotel.
First of all, please, allow us to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and especially about the food and the restaurant.
Every day we try to be perfect in our job but sometime we run, unfortunately, in a negative day.
In any case I can assure you that we do our best to enjoy the stay of our Guests and we don’t need to write ourselves the good reviews because they are the results of our hard work.
Anyway, we would like to inform you that we have already planned some renovations.
Let we tell something about the location. Our location is one of the most beautiful on the Sorrento Coast overlooking the bay of Sorrento and Naples and during the summer time you can enjoy the view of the sunset that change every evening. Certainly we are not in the centre of the town but our shuttle service provide to this.
We hope that you will return soon at the MarHotel Alimuri to taste our food and to see our improvements.
Thank you for your comment that will help us to improve our service.
Best regards
Giovanni Spina
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a lovely holiday at this hotel.The staff were friendly and the manager was on hand all day.The Hotel itself was very clean and comfortable,the food very good and the wine also.
Our room overlooked the beach the room was large and comfortable -we had a separate sitting/dressing area.We had a power shower and a bath/shower.
We used the free bus into Sorrento on a couple of occasions and also took the local buses and trains to get around.Our rep a rather sulky young man was not very informative as we did not buy the overpriced trips but the reception and bar staff helped us with time tables and location of the station-bus stops ..We arrived quite late on the first night to find a cold platter in our room and bottled water.We had breakfast in our room one morning -more then enough to eat.
We also had a massage in the spa-very relaxing.A week was not long enough for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MMM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Today was my partners birthday, and this evening while having our meal, we were treated to a birthday cake with candles and some rather delicious moet champagne! My grateful thanks to the manager who is always out and about with guests, and to his great team of staff! Diolch yn fawr iawn! (thank you so much in our welsh language)!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ROB E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was lovely, staff are friendly and the food is good! Very clean and comfortable! Good vegetarian food available and menu had abgood mix of local and uk dishes. the hotel staff are friendly and the cleaners are exrremely polite and helpful! All in all a good holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ROB E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I spent 1 week in this great hotel 5th oct 2012. Excellent staff, beautiful Italian decor, and amazing food. There was nothing to fault in this hotel. In all our years of travel, we have never been in a hotel where the Manager was on site 24/7, interacting with customers and staff. Our room was on the 2nd floor and overlooked the sea, with amazing views of the Bay and Capri. The room was a great size with a separate living area with a jacuzzi , great wardrobe space and a large bathroom.
There was a balcony with 2 chairs and table which was lovely to sit and watch the sunset.

Roberto, and Antonio in the restaurant were very attentive, extremely pleasant and most of all, professional in their jobs. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The food was superb to say the least, there was always an anti-pasta starters from the buffet, quite a lot to choose from, then you had your choice of starter from the menu, next, was you choice of main course from the menu and finally, a huge choice of magnificent desserts. They hold a "Gala and BBQ Evening" amazing service and beautiful food.

Then you have the "Bar", I have to say, the staff here work very hard to say the least. The majority of International brands are available, except for a few, Gordons Gin, Smirnoff Vodka, Perroni Beer, Sambuca, numerous cocktails , whatever you wanted. Managed by Mariano, he was fantastic, great sense of humour and always smiling, he even sang one night with Valentino, I also want to mention Mario, he was great too, if I have left anyone out, I apologise.

The check in at the hotel was very quick and professional. Overall , a fantastic hotel , I would recommend it to anyone. One person I did leave out was the "Chef" great food and excellent presentation.

The hotel also offers a free shuttle bus into town, there are 2 that come later in the night and it will cost 1 euro per person, they are always on time too.

Look forward to our return in very near future.

Room Tip: To be honest, rooms overlooking the sea , does not matter what floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grace82-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotels although appears to have been once a grand place, it is in need of some modernisation. The hotel is very clean, as are the rooms.
Our room had an amazing view of the bay, and the sunsets were something we both enjoyed, and listening to the sea all night was bliss.
The room itself was ok, quite basic, and our mattress was very hard, and quite uncomfortable. The bathroom clean but old, and in need of updating. The jacuzzi bath did not work, and the shower was in a very strange place.
We only ate at breakfast, which personally we didn't enjoy, and ended up having cereal. The toaster is a burn hazzard, and should definately be replaced.
As we were only B&B we ate out in the evening, but if we did want dinner, it was at a ridiculous cost of 29 euros each, and the bar menu was again quite steep, with 7.50 for a sandwich.
The spa is very run down, and the ceiling looks like it had recently collapsed, and bit of it were on the steps of the pool. It smelt very damp, and again they expected guests to pay 15 euros each to use it. Save your money, it's really not worth it.
We have travelled quite a lot, and this hotel is probably not 4 star currently, but with some upgrading would be back on track.
We can not fault the staff who were very helpful and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble.
The private beach area is lovely, althought the locals do creep onto the edge of it and try to sit on the sunbeds, but the hotel staff are quickly onto them.
We loved our stay on the whole, and the visit to Pompeii, Vesuvious and Herculaneum were well worth it.
One word of warning, if using the hotel service into Sorrento, make sure your seatbelts are on, and don't sit right at the front, unless you enjoy white knuckle rides :)

Room Tip: Room overlooking the sea if a must, you won't be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linpin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilariag86, Direttore at Mar Hotel Alimuri, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. We appreciate all kind of feedback by our Client, all Guest's comments are important to the success of our Hotel.
First of all, please, allow us to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.
Anyway, we would like to inform you that we have already planned some renovations.
We are only doubtful on the comments concerning the cost of the dinner, the sandwich and the SPA without trying them, especially the SPA that has an indoor heated and Jacuzzi pool (24° degrees therefore it smelt very damp) and for € 15.00 you can use the pool and the sauna;
We hope that you will return soon at the MarHotel Alimuri to taste our food and to see our improvements.
Thank you for your comment that will help us to improve our service.
Best regard
Giovanni Spina
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

First the complaints. The holiday was over too quick . Seriously we had only one complaint and at the end of the day when we look back it was trivial, our room was at the front of the hotel which gave us a view of the street rather than the sea. But that was it, the room itself was great and as we didnt spend much time in it the view didn't really matter.
As for the hotel it was great. Friendly, helpful staff, who really did their up most to please. Good food and plenty of choice.
A view and atmosphere in the evenings to please any body. A sunset that was perfect and even entertainment which added to the atmosphere well.
A regular bus service to Sorrento meant you had plenty of options if the hotel wasnt enough.
Would we return, yes if I go to Sorrento again then I would use this hotel, but Id ask for a sea view haha.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meta
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel la Pace
Grand Hotel la Pace
#7 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,189 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort
Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort
#10 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
605 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panorama Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Hotel Alimuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Hotel Alimuri

Address: Via Angelo Cosenza 155, 80062 Meta, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Price Range: $129 - $733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Hotel Alimuri 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mar Hotel Alimuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Hotel Meta
Mar Hotel Alimuri Italy/Meta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing