We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Panorama Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Traveling with a small touring group, we stayed one night in early June. Our tour bus was not allowed up the narrow street to the hotel, so we walked up a hill to the entrance. Fortunately, a luggage truck transported our luggage, and the weather was nice. Our room was suitable but hot because it was warmed by the afternoon sun We opened the window for a cool evening breeze, but got no sleep. A combination of noisy youth under our window, which lasted into the evening until we complained two or three time to the management, and street nose, cars and speeding scooters into the night, resulted in a night of only light off-and-on sleep, not suitable for touring. By the way, the window offered a small view of the coast but mostly a view of adjacent buildings and the street below. Our group did not have high expectations for dinner or breakfast, since our tour included modest meals, but those of the hotel was much below expectations and did come close to our other meals during our tour. Breakfast consisted of cornflakes and hard bread, no fruit or protein at all. In summary, I don't recommend the hotel to anyone, and I am sure that our tour company will not use it again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Review1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 243 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

The reviews I read were contradictory, and after spending a week in this hotel I could understand why. To be fair, I have to say I booked a really cheap holiday through a Romanian agency. But had I known what the conditions would be, I would have thought twice about doing it.
The hotel has many different standards for rooms, and the ones reserved for our group were around a 2 star standard. They were so small you could not open the window properly because of the bed, the furniture was dated, the view was horrible, it was noisy, the shower was fixed in the wall, and the towels provided were basically kitchen towels. There was an ancient radio in the night stand with dust two inches thick inside it. No fridge, tiny telly.
The fixed menu we had for the morning was the same every day, the evening one they did vary.
In no way did this come near a 4 star hotel, as it had been presented - not sure if this is the agency's fault or their own for not clearly stating they have different standards.
On the plus side, the staff were very nice and eager to provide information, they did check and solve a problem we had with the toilet when we asked them.
The maids changed the so called towels every day and threw away the rubbish, however, that's all they did during the week.
Also, the way to the beach is quite long (coming down some stairs), but the beach is quite nice, despite it being very small.
Beware that in Meta, everything is closed on Mondays, you can't even get something to eat in a restaurant.

Room Tip: Be very careful what room you are assigned, because you might get one of the ugly tiny ones with hor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Nice hotel with a great view. We stay only for 1 night. The hotel is located at the top of the hill with stunning views of the beach. There is a coffee bar terrace in front of the hotel were we spent a good time with friends drinking the traditional "limoncello" and dancing. The rooms in the hotel were clean and spacious with air condition. It has a nice restaurant with good food. The hotel has very limited parking.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cabret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Many thanks for another wonderful stay. My son now understands what brings us back year after year. The excursions from the hotel are a brilliant addition.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SbrLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

When we arrived in Meta (just outside Sorrento), we found no one to guide us to the hotel. A very nice gentleman stopped and used his cell phone to call the hotel and tell them to pick us up. I could tell they were arguing with him, but he said they would be there in 5 minutes...and they were. The hotel room was nice with a beautiful view....but the services were misrepresented to us. They told us they charged 3.50 Euros to was a load of clothes...that turned out to be 3.50 Euros per piece of clothing. They wanted to charge us the equivalent of $250.00 to wash and IRON our clothes, mostly tee shirts and travel wear that didn't need ironing. Then they told us in the restaurant that the dinner time meal was a semi-pre fixe menu and was 13 Euros. We ate there three times since we couldn't find anywhere else to eat in this small town. When we were ready to check out, they told us we had misunderstood AGAIN and that it was 30 Euros each per night, EACH. We couldn't wait to get out of there and I'm sure we will never darken their doorway again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JML777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Panorama palace is a really nice place if you want to spend a good and calm time. There were two of us resting in the hotel. We booked a double room with the sea view. The sea view was really enormous especially in the evenings when the sun set! The room was clean and comfortable. Everything needed was inside (Air-conditioning, TV, Minibar, etc.) The bathroom included both shower and bath, that was really nice.
The restaurant in the hotel was very nice. the food for dinner changed everyday and it tasted really delicious(but it is not very cheap actually)
The location of the hotel was really comfortable. As I already told it had the sea view and is situated not far from the see (10 minutes walk max). It is situated on the hill but don't worry, there is an elevator which takes you down to the sea. Bus stop is situated 5 minutes walk from the Hotel, so it is very comfortable to get wherever you need. Hotel also has it's own swimming pool, but actually I didn't use it and balconies where you can have a rest, to take sun bathes or just go out for a smoke.
Wifi is free in the lobby. By the way the lobby is very nice decorated, armchairs, sofas, beautiful pictures on the walls so it is pleasant to spend time there during your wifi surf.
When you go out of the hotel you can see a snack bar, which is located really excellent.It is called Panorama bar. You can sit there, breathing fresh sea air and watching the sunset above the sea.
The stuff was extremely nice and helpful and very friendly. They helped us lots of times, always wondered is everything alright during our stay. Helped us to find excellent excursions to spend our time and helped us with all of our problems. Thanks them a lot. Want to tell special thank to Antonio, who works in Panorama Bar. He is very friendly and nice guy, who can always help you and will make your stay in the panorama bar really comfortable and homelike.
Thanks Panorama palace's staff for our perfect stay at the hotel.
If I will ever go to Meta again, I'll certainly choose Panorama Again!

Room Tip: I recommend a room with the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sashayamamoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

First we didn't know that bus is not allowded to get in front of the hotel - we had to walk up the street. Aircondition was 5 euros/day - but they turn it on from 4 pm to 6 am (if you wanted to stay in the room during the day - the aircondition didntt work). There supposed to be a fridge in the room - they didn't have. There supposed to be wifi - didn't work. Ants on the terrace were annoing. The beach was about 50 meters in a straigh line - but you had to walk down and up-stairs at least twice a day. Beach was poore - rocks and stones. The only good thing was food!!! Typical itlian and very tasty

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pasterka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meta
0.1 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
2.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,445 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Club Sorrento
Hotel Club Sorrento
#14 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Giosue a Mare
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
1.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza Scarpati 1, 80062 Meta, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Meta
Price Range: $101 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Panorama Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panorama Palace Hotel is located on a panoramic Cliff overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Sorrento Peninsula. Not far from a sandy beach the hotel offers from basic to sea view and family rooms all with ensuite bathroom. A rich buffet breakfast is served every morning free of charge. At guest disposal a jacuzzi pool, 1 internal bar and 1 exteranl bar overlooking the sea, garage (extra fee), restaurants and events room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Panorama Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Panorama Palace
Panorama Palace Sorrento
Panorama Palace Hotel Italy/Meta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing