We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, away from the hussle & bussle of Sorrento.”
Review of Villa Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Sorrento
Ranked #3 of 15 Meta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Pros
- Very nice place, away from the hussle and bussle of Sorrento, altough located very close (3 train stations - 5 min).
- Extremely quiet, people staying there do pay attention to the others and don't make noise in the morning/night.
- Great to have a pool to relax after a busy day visiting the area.
- Breakfast is good with different options (all sugary though) and fresh orange juice!

Cons
- The pool is unfortunately shared with an appartement (up to 5 persons, and of course 5 persons were staying there because it was July) that the owner of the B&B rents nextdoor, thus can be busy (I think the B&B has 7 rooms in total).
- Bed is too small.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SigiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

The property was beautiful, centrally posiioned in Meta. We chose this accommodation because of previous reviews and its proximity to the circumvesuviana station - we were planning a trip to Pompeii.
We were made very welcome on arrival and shown to the accommodation's private parking, just up the road from the Villa.
The rooms we had booked were well decorated and beautifully clean.
Breakfast was modest- a bit of fresh fruit or yoghurt alongside the cereal and pastry choices would be a good and easy addition.

We had a meal at Tico Tico - beautiful views from the terrace , good food and nice prices.
and Pizza at Peccati di Gola, an unassuming excellent value choice for pizza.

All in all our 2 days in Meta were excellent and achieved our objectives of Pompeii, pool and good food.

Room Tip: A room with a terrace is worth a little more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent our 25th Anniversary here in a beautiful, immaculate, pristine villa. Stefania was wonderful. We got a little lost when first arriving but her really nice husband came and got us. Everything was so clean and it felt new. The pool was lovely on those hot afternoons and the sunset from the rooftop was amazing. Parking is a little ways away from the villa, but it is behind a secure gate in a lemon grove. Although you don't hear the traffic, the road the villa is on is busy. Walking or driving out of the gate is an adventure. Breakfast is outside in the garden, lovely fresh juice, freshly made coffee and pastries. I could rave about this place all day. Sometimes it felt like we had it to ourselves. Meta had some great restaurants and wonderful views. We drove the Amalfi coast (not that hard once you master the thin roads). Gorgeous drive. The weather was perfect (early June). I loved Sorrento. Everything smells of lemons. Lovely shopping area for gifts, fabulous restaurants. Overall, I would reccommend this villa. It's a must.

Room Tip: Really google your map for directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Meta wasn't one of our choices to stay in while in Amalfi, but I'm glad we did. Meta isn't very touristy, but it has some excellent restaurants that are way cheaper than anything in Sorrento. There were only locals, which made it even better. Estafania was wonderful. She recommended places to go and see, and which beach clubs gave the villa a discount. The Villa itself is very charming. It has about 7 rooms, all very different and beautiful. This was the best place we stayed at in Amalfi. The furniture appeared to be all new, the bedding was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom and the shower were very clean. The rooms are very big. The pool was nice and the terrace offered wonderful views. We also enjoyed the beautiful garden with oranges and lemons and rose bushes. Estafania made us cappuccinos and espressos at breakfast, which she serves in the garden. We loved this place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrumpetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We love the place!!! Its beatifull, the people es nice!!
Thanks for the perfect service, we recomended a lot

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Maria Eugenia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was a really lovely place to stay, comfortable, peaceful and welcoming. Meta is slightly off the beaten track but this made Villa Sorrento even more special, an oasis from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento and the Amalfi coast. Meta is a beach resort itself or if it is the sights you are after it is very easy to get to the Circumvesuviana for trains to Pompeii, Vesuvius, Naples or Sorrento. There are regular buses from Sorrento to explore the Amalfi coast unless you fancy the craziness of driving the coast! I would recommend leaving the car behind and letting the Italian bus drivers give you a masterclass in precision driving and horn use!

The highlight was having the beautiful pool to come home to after a dusty day of sight seeing closely followed by the peace of breakfast in the garden. NB get good directions to the house we ended up negotiating some very narrow lanes by mistake when we tried to find it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We booked Villa Sorrento for one night and ended up booking another night we enjoyed it so much. The bedroom was extremely comfortable and the owner very friendly and helpful. It was one of our favorite places we stayed in our 2 month trip round europe. It was very easy to get into Sorrento on the train or bus. The swimming pool was not full but it was still too cold to swim anyway. The only downside to the Villa is a dog which lived nearby that barked at us whenever we walked down the driveway!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nz_shez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meta hotels
0.1 mi away
La Pennichella Sorrentina
0.5 mi away
Bleu Village
Bleu Village
#7 of 7 in Meta
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laqua Charme & Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
1 mi away
Lo Stradone
Lo Stradone
#14 of 15 in Meta
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Villa Elisa
B&B Villa Elisa
#2 of 9 in Meta
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sorrento

Address: Via Francesco Caracciolo 20/b, 80062 Meta, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Meta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Meta
Price Range: $57 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Sorrento 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Sorrento (Meta di Sorrento)Close to Sorrento and a few kilometers from Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Ischia and Procida, Villa Sorrento, in Meta di Sorrento, the ancient fishing village, you can make a nice relaxing holiday and hospitality. Meta is one of the pearls of the Sorrento peninsula, characterized by the most famous beaches of the coast that are walking distance from Villa Sorrento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sorrento Italy/Meta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing