We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay at a Pub Style Hotel”
Review of Middle Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Middle Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middle Park
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a cute pub style hotel. I stayed here on business in April 2013.

I stayed in a Queen Deluxe. It was clean, slightly smaller than expected, but comfortable none the less. This hotel is a smaller, pub style hotel however it does not have the dated decor in the rooms that most of these hotels have. The breakfast service was attentive and the food was tasty, however the options were limited in comparison to other hotels.

I was lucky as I was staying on the first level, so it was a short flight of stairs to the room. It did not appear to have any obvious lifts in the hotel so if you get a room in a higher level some fitness may be required!

The only downside of this hotel is it's location. Middle Park is a lovely suburb in Melbourne but this particular hotel is not in close proximity to convenience stores or shopping (there are a few cafes across the road but that's it). It is also a little difficult to get a taxi during peak times in this area so you should book early as you can wait a while for one to arrive.

Overall, a very pleasant stay at this hotel. I would just recommend travellers prepare their transport in advance!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gen_TravelJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_sharrock_MPH, Manager at Middle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Gen_TravelJunkie,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us in regards to your recent stay at The Middle park Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
You are right, our location can be a blessing and curse! It is so lovely and peaceful in Middle Park, with the beach, city and St Kilda just minutes away, but flagging down a taxi can be difficult. Please note for your next stay that the reception desk is more than happy to pre-book taxis for you, and that way you will not need to stand outside and wait for one. We also have the tram stop just over the road that you can utilize as well, which takes you straight into the CBD or St Kilda.
Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if you, or anybody else in your workplace, are looking to return to Melbourne for business so we can look into getting some corporate rates organised for you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 238 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

had a great stay in may have booked again in june .Love the decor and the friendly staff .close to st kilda and the bay .easy access to the city via bus and tram .great coffee shops over the road
and local foodland down the road for that extra supply of goodies

Room Tip: could not hear any traffic at night great sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_sharrock_MPH, Manager at Middle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Lindsay T,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay at the Middle Park Hotel. We are always very happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay, and that you took full advantage of our unique location.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can help with any future reservations at all, and we look forward to welcoming you to the Middle Park Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our fourth stay at the MPH. We have stayed in the One Bedroom King apartment with family, the King Suite and this time in the Deluxe Queen room. All the rooms were fantastic, lots of space and had everything we needed.
The staff very friendly, attentive and respond to your requests very fast and without a fuss.
The restaurant is fabulous, meal are 5 star, breakfast is great.
We stay here because it's very close to our family, cafes, South Melbourne market, light rail to the city, Albert Park lake and a lot of other attractions. Parking is easy. We have already booked again for our family over the Christmas holidays.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_sharrock_MPH, Manager at Middle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Caroline P,
Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay at the Middle Park Hotel.
We are so glad that you continue to return to our hotel, we love to see familiar faces come through our doors!
Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to help with your upcoming Christmas booking for the family, otherwise we look forward welcoming you back to The Middle Park Hotel then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I arrived at the hotel before my husband at night after he rang to check the booking earlier.
The hotel have our credit card details, etc.. as we have stayed there before.
Yet the receptionist would not let me go into the room without seeing his credit card.
Forcing me to wait on the street late at night on my own until my husband could arrive there!
He had to leave the milestone celebration that we were in town for.
I cannot describe my disgust and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
I would have to say that this is the worst treatment Ive ever experienced in a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
8  Thank jan766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_sharrock_MPH, Manager at Middle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Jan766,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit to the Middle Park Hotel.
It disappoints me tremendously that you felt you received the worst treatment from a hotel at the Middle Park. We pride ourselves on our customer service and attention to detail, and it sounds like the experience you received was not of the high standards that we always strive to achieve. Please be rest assured that this feedback has been passed onto staff and management for training purposes and to ensure that no future customers ever feel like this again.
Please feel free to email our accommodation manager James at james@melbournepubgroup.com.au next time you travel to this area, and I am sure that he will ensure your next stay with us more than exceeds your expectations.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience, and we look forward to being able to rectify this situation in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just a few tram stops away from CBD towards St. Kilda (the tram station is just across the street), this hotel occupies a charming Victorian pub on the corner of a relatively busy road. The nearby streets and shops are surely worth a stroll (not many late-night eating spots around...) and the beach is only a couple of blocks away.
The interior is very manly (dark walls, lots of wood, large mirrors) and reminiscent of an opulent hunter's lodge/come/Bruce Wayne's mansion - it's a very adult, elegant and calming environment.
We only ate at the restaurant for breakfast, which was yet again a classy discovery: no buffet, but made to order dishes from a very appetizing menu - if you book a B&B rate, you can still order what you want from the menu, regardless of the price. The green eggs seem to be a favorite, but even just their choice of bread and danish is delicious.
The magnificent pub downstairs, with its immense winding bar is definitely an attraction for locals and it is packed on a very regular basis. This means a vey lively scene but, unfortunately, lots of noise in the bedroom of the first floor.
Staff is great - young, smart, professional, attentive and always available for recommendations for alternative spots (not the same-old tourist traps). If available, make sure to pick the different free "urban walk about" guides at reception (also available in Sydney and Perth, urbanwalkabout.com.au), which feature lots of local shops, bars, cafés and are continuously updated.
Rooms are not very spacious - actually, some are really tiny, like the first one we ended up in, I think it was 105, just as you walk up the first flight of stairs, right on top of the pub... not a winning solution - but after a couple of nights we were moved to the 2nd floor towards the end of the corridor. True, there's no elevator, but the building only goes up 2 floors and I'm sure that help is provided in case you really can't lift your suitcase).
If I was sure I could get a room on the second floor (far from the stairs landing), I wouldn't hesitate a second to book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor away from the stairs (attention, no elevator!). If it's not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank afs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_sharrock_MPH, Manager at Middle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear AFS14,


Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on the Middle Park Hotel.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. It looks like you really got out and about and explored the local area as well, which is great. We are very proud of our hotel and it is fanatic to hear that you noticed all of the little details that the staff here work hard to achieve.
Thank you also for your feedback on the rooms. Being originally built in the late 19th century makes for challenging room plans, as I’m sure you can imagine, but we believe that this does also add to the charm of the venue. We are always happy to help with any requests for rooms that you might have, whether it is more space, particular floors, noise levels or anything else that you might need. Please feel free to mention any requests you might have with future bookings and we will do our absolute best to accommodate.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Middle Park Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We keep returning to Middle Park, there's a reason- it's fantastic! From the friendly staff greeting you on arrival, to a comfortable bed, Kevin Murphy toiletries & awesome array of food available, it's just such a great package. We are members of Accor, but keep finding the price, inclusions, comfort & location better than other options! We switched it up this time & ate in the pub, great food at a very reasonable price. We recommend bringing your pushbikes if you like riding- the ocean cycle track to Mt. Eliza is so accessible from this fantastic location, the city views are great!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mattalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_sharrock_MPH, Manager at Middle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

I really appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on the Middle Park Hotel and am pleased that you enjoy your stays with us. It's great to hear that our guests appreciate our offerings, especially as it's our priority to ensure every guest has a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The MPH is truly wondrous, an oasis on the Melbourne map. Well appointed room with care given to the detail, fabulous bed, quality bed linen, sensational shower with Kevin Murphy products. The staff at MPH are professional and attentive. MPH exceeded our expectations, sheer value for $.

Room Tip: Next time would try room with bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabethtaylor59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_sharrock_MPH, Manager at Middle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I’m glad to hear that your experience reflects the quality and service we strive to achieve. I hope we can welcome you back to the Middle Park Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middle Park
0.8 mi away
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#24 of 162 in Melbourne
2,926 reviews
0.9 mi away
Art Series - The Blackman
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 162 in Melbourne
2,118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview On The Park
Bayview On The Park
#139 of 162 in Melbourne
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra St Kilda Road
Mantra St Kilda Road
#68 of 162 in Melbourne
1,802 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#122 of 162 in Melbourne
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Park Hotel

Address: 102 Canterbury Rd, Middle Park, Port Phillip, Victoria 3206, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > Middle Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middle Park
Price Range: $77 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middle Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Middle Park Hotel is Melbourne's ultimate boutique hotel. Comprising of 25 stylish hotel rooms, Middle Park Hotel offers comfort, style and an abundance of personality. Located in Middle Park Village, the Hotel is close to major Melbourne attractions yet is just far enough from the hustle and bustle of the CBD for you to escape the madness at the end of a busy day. Just minutes from the city centre and Flinders Street Station, the vibrant St Kilda, South Melbourne and its fabulous markets and Albert Park - home of the Grand Prix; Middle Park Hotel is a quiet oasis within Melbourne city. Completely refurbished in 2010, the old world glamour of the building exterior is a remnant of its 19th-century heritage whilst the interior is contemporary in style whilst embracing the grandeur of the original building. The hotel entrance is marked with a red canopy, reminiscent of a 5th Avenue apartment. Guests are greeted with a grand Victorian staircase which ascends to hallways laid with plush monogrammed carpet and hotel rooms that exude contemporary luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Middle Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing