We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too noisy and too small !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Middle Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Middle Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middle Park
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Too noisy and too small !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed in room 208. Despite double glazing, constant traffic and pedestrian noise kept me awake for hours. Size of the room was small and there was no desk. The shower door could only open inwards (when opened out, it would hit the toilet !). Although it is modernised and the staff are friendly, it is essentially pub accommodation and definitely not a place for a quiet stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_sharrock_MPH, Manager at Middle Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the Middle Park Hotel.

We are firstly disappointed to learn that your overall experience of the Middle Park Hotel was not up to the standard that we strive to reach. I would like to sincerely apologies for your disrupted sleep. We do have internal rooms available and rooms that are on the quieter side of the hotel on Armstrong Street which can be requested at reservation stage.
Alternatively, if any of our guests are uncomfortable in their room, we encourage guests to contact reception immediately and an alternative solution will always be offered.
We hope to have you stay with us again at the Middle Park Hotel. Please feel free to contact us directly on your next stay to help us find a more suitable room for you and we do hope to see you again at the hotel soon.

Warm regards,

James Sharrock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    87
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
16
115
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oost-souburg, Zeeland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had a lovely stay. Very friendly staff, always prepared to help and do whatever they could for us. We feld very special and very welcome. Very good breakfast and we enjoyed the barmeals.
TV with a lot of channels. They did more than what could be expected. One day we had a disappointing daytrip and they took care of that for us and even had a little surpise for us. Middle Park hotel is the place to be on your stay in Melbourne.

Room Tip: First floor, less stairs;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitepassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_sharrock_MPH, Manager at Middle Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hi there and thank you so much for taking the time to review the Middle Park Hotel.

We are delighted to read your comments regarding your stay here in Melbourne. It is always our aim to exceed guests expectations, and we hope that we did so in this case.
We are always willing to go above and beyond for our guests and to make sure their stay goes as smoothly as possible. We are also glad you enjoyed your treat to make up for your disappointing day trip.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Middle Park Hotel someday soon.
Warm regards,

James Sharrock
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

the location is fantastic - close to beach, cafes etc - quick train ride (opposite hotel but no noise!) ) to MelbourneCBD. All day parking available close by. We stayed for a wedding in the area - fabulous to be able to walk to the venue and drinks in the bar of the hotel afterwards. Beautiful breakfast (served) in the dining room the next morning AND midday late checkout (negotiated on arrival with NO hassle) an absolute bonus! Lovely old building - room was refurbished and modern - very comfortable. Staff lovely and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gippy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_sharrock_MPH, Manager at Middle Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to review the Middle park Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in Melbourne. Thank you also for mentioning our fantastic location on the outskirts of the city with easy access via the tram across the street. We try and meet our guest’s needs as much as we can, and can accommodate late check outs the majority of the time, depending on availability.
We hope we can someday welcome you back to the Middle Park Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

James Sharrock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel is one of the standouts of all the hotels I have stayed at so far in Melbourne over the last 5 weeks (2 weeks and more hotels to go). Granted I was upgraded to the King Apartment but walking into it I went, Wow!! The hotel reminded me of The Windsor but this one has been refurbished very well.
I ate a bar meal in the downstairs bar and with it being a Friday night the bar had a really good buzzy vibe to it.
The staff rate a special mention, as I am sure most of you have partaken of the platitudes given out freely by staff as you pass through their lives, Enjoy your stay etc.
I felt at this hotel that the friendliness, professionalism and service delivered was actually backed up with sincerity. This was demonstrated throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Street carparking is Free but safe enough in the area. No lift but the stairs add to the experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rarowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_sharrock_MPH, Manager at Middle Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Middle Park Hotel. We are so pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your overall experience during your stay. We were delighted to be able to upgrade you into our sought after King Apartment. The Middle Park Hotel prides itself on providing exceptional customer service and your outstanding comments will be shared with our whole team at our next staff meeting. We hope to have you stay with us again at the Middle Park Hotel on your return to Melbourne.

Warm Regards,

James Sharrock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I recently booked a single night at The Middle Park Hotel as a last minute business booking, on the advice of both colleagues and friends who had previously stayed here. The room was spacious with good luggage space, the bed extra comfy and the shower nice and hot. There was the usual cupboard containing an iron and board and the mini-bar was well stocked (better than average snacks), including free tea/coffee while the dry products were kept in an old champagne crate. There was also a large, wall mounted digital TV with free-to-air channels plus a few selected Foxtel channels – including TVN for the horse racing enthusiasts. Breakfast the next morning was excellent – great food turned around super quick! The hotel is well positioned for a variety of inner-city adventures, being directly opposite the light rail. I will definitely be adding the Middle Park Hotel to my preferred accommodation providers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_sharrock_MPH, Manager at Middle Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Hi there and thank you for reviewing the Middle Park Hotel. We are delighted to hear of another guest recommendation. As a new hotel, it is our priority to ensure each and every guest’s stay is worth raving about. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the room design and amenities, including our local selection of mini bar snacks and the convenience that Middle Park has on offer. We look forward to welcoming yourself and your associates to the Middle Park Hotel soon.

Warm Regards,

James Sharrock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I recently stayed at The Middle Park Hotel on a trip to Melbourne. It was a great choice ... Just a short tram ride into the CBD and St Kilda. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very modern with a great bathroom, although a little small on floor space. Breakfast was very good and included. A few cafes, wine bars and restaurants across the road.

The service was excellent and staff definitely gave us individual treatment. They were very happy to help with suggestions of restaurants and other places to stay further on our trip.

I was particularly impressed when, after leaving all my coats in the cupboard they were able to post them back to me in Adelaide in 2 days with minimal fuss.

I would definitely return on our next trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_sharrock_MPH, Manager at Middle Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the Middle Park Hotel. We are pleased you hear you enjoyed your overall experience during your stay in Melbourne. Our friendly reception team take pride in providing helpful information for visitors to Melbourne, so it is good to know we were able to assist you with your ongoing travels. Our housekeeping team were quick to find your coats left behind and we were more than happy to post them back to you without delay. We hope to have you return to the Middle Park Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Warm Regards,

James Sharrock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed in the cheapest room type the deluxe double which was located on the 2nd floor. The main room was a little small but there was good luggage space and a narrow cupboard containing an iron and board. The mini-bar was well stocked, including free tea/coffee while the dry products were housed in a former champagne crate. There was a large, wall mounted TV with all 17 free-to-air channels plus a few selected Foxtel channels.

The contemporary chic bathroom was large, clean, well equipped with a reasonably strong, large headed shower. The supplied bathroom products and linen were also luxurious.

I am only 178cm but found the double bed too short, though I imagine the queen sized rooms would have longer bedding. I stayed during the middle of winter where the outside temp dropped down to 3c. The room remain constant and warm. Even though the hotel is a popular gastro-pub there was no noticeable noise from the ground floor pub or street.

The included breakfast involved $20 credit towards the downstairs restaurant menu which is British-gastro. Both meals I had were large in size, very tasty and pretty authentic. All drinks and meals from the pub and restaurant could be placed on your room bill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_sharrock_MPH, Manager at Middle Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review the Middle Park Hotel.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the comforts of staying in our lovely gastro-pub. We are well known for our traditional British-inspired menu, so we were glad to hear you enjoyed your meals throughout your stay. Our rooms are well soundproofed with double glazed windows to block out any bar or street noise, which is much appreciated by our guests travelling over our busy weekends. We hope to have you return to the Middle Park Hotel soon- this time we will be sure to have you in a Queen Deluxe room for your upmost comfort.

Warm regards,

James Sharrock
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middle Park
0.8 mi away
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park
1.0 mi away
Art Series - The Blackman
Art Series - The Blackman
#15 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bayview on the Park
Bayview on the Park
#142 of 160 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
#100 of 160 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Park Hotel

Property: Middle Park Hotel
Address: 102 Canterbury Rd, Middle Park, Port Phillip, Victoria 3206, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > Middle Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middle Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Middle Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Middle Park Hotel is Melbourne's ultimate boutique hotel. Comprising of 25 stylish hotel rooms, Middle Park Hotel offers comfort, style and an abundance of personality. Located in Middle Park Village, the Hotel is close to major Melbourne attractions yet is just far enough from the hustle and bustle of the CBD for you to escape the madness at the end of a busy day. Just minutes from the city centre and Flinders Street Station, the vibrant St Kilda, South Melbourne and its fabulous markets and Albert Park - home of the Grand Prix; Middle Park Hotel is a quiet oasis within Melbourne city. Completely refurbished in 2010, the old world glamour of the building exterior is a remnant of its 19th-century heritage whilst the interior is contemporary in style whilst embracing the grandeur of the original building. The hotel entrance is marked with a red canopy, reminiscent of a 5th Avenue apartment. Guests are greeted with a grand Victorian staircase which ascends to hallways laid with plush monogrammed carpet and hotel rooms that exude contemporary luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Middle Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing