We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprizing !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Necropoli di Tarquinia

Necropoli di Tarquinia
Book In Advance
More Info
$219.53*
and up
Rome Countryside: Etruscan highlights of Tarquinia and Cerveteri
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Tarquinia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprizing !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

When I visited the Valley of the kings in Egypt I had no idea there was a place in Italy with painted tombs that kept their colors for 2500 years. The site is very well preserved .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adri214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    257
    58
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eventually we managed to visit the tombs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We loved every bit of it and enjoyed the magic of Etruscans once again. Only a bit sad that some were closed for visitors.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sla707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tombs are interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We visited Tarquinia from a cruise ship. The tombs are well preserved. Unfortunately they are accessed through ugly little brick buildings which were built early 20th century and look rather like bomb shelters. The town itself is old and pretty on a hill, good museum and plenty of places to eat.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bestyearnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
429 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Visiting the old tomb sites was a great experience & it was good to see that restoration has taken place to secure these tombs for the future. You can only see from behind glass windows in each tomb. Not all were open on our day in July. What would have made the experience better would be to have one tomb set aside with a replication of a crypt, body, frescoes & other artifacts. I know the originals are within museums which is great, but to have example of what they would have looked like would make this site even better, as not all people can get to museums.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonSandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Breathtaking "City of the Dead"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

For anyone interested in witnessing how amazingly sophisticated the Etruscan peoples were, both of the necropolises are not to be missed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Necropoli di Tarquinia also viewed

Tarquinia, Province of Viterbo
Tarquinia, Province of Viterbo
 
Tarquinia, Province of Viterbo
Cerveteri, Province of Rome
 

Been to Necropoli di Tarquinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing