We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WAY above and beyond”
Review of B&B Nonna Luisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Nonna Luisa
Ranked #3 of 35 Tarquinia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Merced, California
Level Contributor
191 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“WAY above and beyond”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Our experience can be summed up in one word, "WOW!" We spent 4 days with this lovely family and everything was perfect. The room, the breakfasts, the help provided and the friendship could not have been better.

The walk to town is about 10 minutes (a bit uphill) so the location is great as well.

Just to give you an idea of the experience, here's a short anecdote. One day we went to Rome by train, got back late in the afternoon and decided to have dinner in town before heading back to the B&B. We got back to the room a bit late and soon found Elisa tapping our our door. She and her boyfriend were checking on us, since we got back late. They had just returned from looking for us at the train station since it was the last train of the day. Amazing!

To make it even more impressive, the mother (Maria) was preparing for and had major surgery while we were there.

Tripadvisor allows only 5 stars, but this review should be much higher than that.

Room Tip: The pink room has a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photom299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elisagale, Proprietario at B&B Nonna Luisa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Tom and Leslie, thank you very much for your beautiful review....we are flattered!!
affectionate greetings from all the family...
Elisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
56
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
405 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place was great. The rooms were really nice and had ac. I had the room with the 4-poster bed, and my only complaint was not spending enough time in there. She also had a cool bottle of water waiting for us in the room. Breakfast was great, and even though she had made pretty coffees, she accommodated me and made me a tea.
2 things of note- They have 2 dogs who, like all the other dogs in the neighborhood, really like to bark. They also have a rumored to be not so nice cat.
Secondly, there are many stairs to get in and then another flight to get into the room. It makes for a nice view of the sea, but might not be the best for those wishing to avoid many stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterangel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elisagale, Proprietario at B&B Nonna Luisa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
thank you so much!
Best regards
Elisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Maria and Elisa were great! We were taking a cruise out of Civitavecchia and wanted a place to stay outside of Rome but just a short ride to the port. The house is newer and well maintained. Our room had a terrace with a sweeping view of the Mediterranean and a private bath across the hall. The "typical Italian breakfast" was excellent. Elisa recommended a nice "locals" restaurant in the old town (just a 3 minute walk). It was nice to stay in a town without a million tourists. They were very accommodating. Next time we would like to stay longer and explore the little etruscan town more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elisagale, Proprietario at B&B Nonna Luisa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you! we are happy that you enjoyed your stay whit us!
Greetings
Elisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just a quick one night stay before our cruise out of Cittaveccia but very nice to stay away from busy Rome and very easy and quick to get to by train. Maria and Elisa were so very kind and the accommodations were great for us and our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cknowles21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elisagale, Proprietario at B&B Nonna Luisa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you very much! Hope your cruise was nice!
Greetings from Italy
Elisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Warm welcoming and attentive hosts. Pretty rooms. Clean as a whistle. One has a balcony overlooking Tarquinia. Elisa speaks good English and her mum has good French so if you don't have much Italaian that's not a problem. Lovely breakfasts. Very reasonably priced. Home from home. Stay !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elisagale, Proprietario at B&B Nonna Luisa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much Jonathan! I hope to to see you and your wife again inTarquinia!
Warmest regards
Elisa and M.Grazia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for just one night during a cycling trip through Italy. Nonna luisa kindly stored our bikes under cover on arrival. The weather was awful during our stay and nonna luisa and her daughter were very concerned for our welfare, offering us another nights stay and helping to cancel our forthcoming accommodation. Our room was lovely with a very comfortable bed and super clean bathroom. breakfast was huge and delicious and the hosts were happy to drop everything to help-they made us feel very at home.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elisagale, Owner at B&B Nonna Luisa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thanks Susy!!! it has been a pleasure!
Kisses from My mom and me...;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I can't say enough to fully reflect our wonderful experience at Nonna Luisa.

First, It is a super bargain compared to any other place we've stayed in Italy (Tuscany, Venice, Rome).

More important, though, is the quality of the experience. The B&B is run by Maria and her daughter Alisa, who speaks nearly perfect English. They both are dedicated to making your stay outstanding.

The included breakfast is a major event. Mom will prepare anything you ask for, and if she doesn't have it, they will get it for you. I asked for muesli, and the next day I had a giant bowl when I arrived at the table.

When the weather was good we ate on the main veranda, which had a great view looking out over the town to the ocean.

When we were there, two friend of Alisa's were staying for a short vacation; so we had breakfast with them plus Alisa, with Mom coming in and out. Maria doesn't speak English, but with Alisa to translate Mom often joined in. We got to feel like we part of an Italian family.

We had the room that has the large veranda facing the ocean, at our request. It was not large, but comfortable and adequate. The bed was good, and the outside veranda provided a "sitting room". The bathroom was directly across the hall, but this was not a problem. The other room on the floor had its own bathroom; so ours was essentially a private bathroom. One minor quibble: the veranda has a solid railing/wall that blocks one's view when sitting.

The Nonna Luisa is located a modest (5 minute, moderate uphill) walk from the center of town in a very quiet neighborhood.

What can say? We loved it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vince100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elisagale, Owner at B&B Nonna Luisa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much Vince!! warmest regards from M. Grazia and me! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarquinia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Tirreno
Hotel Villa Tirreno
#1 of 10 in Tarquinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Valle del Marta Resort
Valle del Marta Resort
#2 of 10 in Tarquinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tarconte
Hotel Tarconte
#3 of 10 in Tarquinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel All'Olivo
Hotel All'Olivo
#8 of 10 in Tarquinia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tarchon Luxury B&B
Tarchon Luxury B&B
#2 of 35 in Tarquinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
4.5 mi away
B&B Villa Naumanni
B&B Villa Naumanni
#1 of 35 in Tarquinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Nonna Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Nonna Luisa

Property: B&B Nonna Luisa
Address: Via Adriano Castelleschi 10, 01016, Tarquinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Tarquinia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Tarquinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Nonna Luisa B&B" is pleased to welcome you to the charming Tarquinia. The town, rich in history and art, rises on a small hill; from there it dominates the Tuscia Valleys, and enjoys a breathtaking view of charming natural landscapes. Tarquinia was the chief of the twelve cities of Etruria; it is one of the best places in the world to see the etruscan tombs, which are located just a few kilometers from the town, and can also be reached on foot. Owing to its beauty and to the importance of its monuments, churches and necropolises, the town of Tarquinia has long been a Unesco World Heritage Site. The etruscan museum house some of the most important burial finds from the necropoli, with information in both Italian and English. Tarquinia is very close to Rome (just 1 hour by train) and Tuscany (30minutes). From Nonna Luisa b&b you can reach Tarquinia's town centre in 5 minutes on foot! The price includes: breakfast, internet wi-fi, daily room cleaning and change of towels. You can also park easily and free! We will be happy to give you all the informations about Tarquinia and surroundings attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your B&B Nonna Luisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing