We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Davui Island Resort, Fiji
Nearby Hotels
Beqa Lagoon Resort(Beqa Island)
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Nanuku Auberge Resort(Pacific Harbour)
$703
$625
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pearl Resort(Pacific Harbour)(Great Value!)
$186
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Uprising Beach Resort(Pacific Harbour)(Great Value!)
$120
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waidroka Bay Resort(Korovisilou)
$175
$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wellesley Resort Fiji(Korolevu)(Great Value!)
$117
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crusoe's Retreat(Coral Coast)(Great Value!)
$106
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mango Bay Resort Fiji(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$50
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$367
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Naviti Resort(Korolevu)
$168
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveler rating
431
45
18
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
45
18
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal davuiplunge poolour honeymoonfishlunch and dinnerother gueststhe managerspacific harbourwelcome songshark divenadi airportvillage visitsand cayhappy hourkava ceremonyheaven on earthlow tide
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 515 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2011

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon - 2 weeks in Australia and almost a week in Fiji. After much research and deliberation we decided on the Royal Davui for the Fiji leg of our trip. We hoped, but of course couldn't be sure if the Royal Davui would live up to the hotel website and information... LUCKILY and HAPPILY we can say that it did! We loved everything and every minute we spent on the private island.

Royal Davui is a small island located off the main land of Beqa Lagoon. You can access the island via charter flight from Nadi + boat ride, a helicopter transfer or a car to the boat. If small planes scare you I would opt for the car to the boat even though it is 2 1/2 hours by car. If you get seasick at all take a motion sickness pill before the boat ride, even when the seas are "calm" it is bumpy! With 15 well appointed villas, 3 beaches, a pool and restaurant / bar the resort offered us the tranquil setting that we wanted, but never any of the boredom that can sometimes be associated with small resorts. We always could find something we wanted to do, although most of the time it was just to relax while sipping a cocktail!

We were in Villa 2 and it was perfect. We were lucky enough to have one of the heated plunge pools so we cannot attest to how the non-heated plunge pools are, but ours was wonderful and a great place to end our day before Happy Hour. The main pool was nice and usually quiet as were the beaches. If you wanted to you could never see or interact with another guest. One of the beaches (just to the left of the arrival dock) is great for snorkling as you can walk in with no rocks or reef in your way. The fish were awesome and all over the place. All the gear is available for free at the Marine shop.

The spa is in one of the Villas and is relaxing and reasonably prices for an upscale resort. I will say that if you like a more "deep tissue" massage that is not what you are going to get - just go in with the mind set of relaxation and you will be pleased with the treatment!

Onto the best part - the food and bar. We did not eat one thing that we did not like. I have to comment on other reviews, the portions are not "small" they are just smaller then what we are served in the states. Anyway, with an amuse-bouche, appetizer, entree and dessert for dinner a smaller serving is ok or you would never be able to eat it all. Lunch was plenty of food as well. Fresh is an understatement as everything seemed like it was caught in the ocean that morning. There is also always an option for non-seafood eaters which is nice if you do not like fish, but honestly if you don't eat seafood Fiji may not be the place for you! There are about 26 specialty cocktails on the Davui menu (all are $26 Fijian) and are worth every penny they are tropical, delicious and refreshing to drink. Between the 2 of us we tried over half of them. YUMMY!

In conclusion we would recommend Royal Davui to all, it was the perfect ending to our wonderful honeymoon adventure. Julie the GM is friendly, always present and knowledgeable about the property and all the surrounding areas. Ask her anything and she will be happy to help. The staff is some of the friendliest people in the world - chat with them and ask their opinions on drink choices etc. they were always spot on! Royal Davui is worth the splurge go for it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

This is a perfect vacation. The island is gorgeous and surrounded with brilliant snorkeling reefs with colorful fish. The cabins are what I wish my home looked like. They are comfy, with amazing views of the beach. And the heated outdoor tub is big enough for a party. I could have stayed in the cabin the whole time, but the rest of the island is brilliant, too.

Even the pool has a view of the beach. The best spot was the restraunt which had tables overlooking the beach or in under the roof and there was a huge Banyan tree there. The food was great. I always ate the fish, but they always had other options everyone else seemed to love. It was great getting to meet the other travelers during happy hour and they usually had fun events like crab racing, Kava night, Bar-B-Q, volleyball, and coconut demonstrations.

Plus, they have a few really good dive masters that took us to brilliant coral reefs and pointed out all the interesting things that I would have missed, like an Octopus hidden in a hole and Lian fish hiding in a ship wreck. We went diving to around 7 or 8 times and each sight seemed to be more interesting. My favorite was the shark dive. It felt surprisingly safe since they've been doing it 3 times a week for twenty years.

And I loved all the staff. They have great smiles and gorgeous singing voices. I felt completely pampered beyond my expectations. And the Woman who ran the place was not only great at getting us everything we wanted, but she was really fun to hang out with. I'd like to take everyone here home with me.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCKhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Spend 7 days with my wife we are regular travelers, and I m sorry to say that the hotel need a good renovation to match the price they ask for, still the staff is very kind the place is beautiful but as today it is not worth the price

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jmherbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Its been a few months since we ended our honeymoon at this resort in Fiji during the summer of 2010. What a great time we had. I'll try to hit on the key points that made our stay so great.
First, the staff is just so friendly and they made you feel like you were their family. Whether it was sitting down with the managers (Daryl/Julie..??) to chat about life or just the smiles that you'd get from any of the staff when you'd see them.
Also, the rooms were so clean and well kept. Yes, there were geckoes (harmless and mainly in the bar area) on the ceiling or a snake (on the paths, never in the room), but they were harmless and really didn't bother us at all. The geckoes were actually pretty cool to watch. In fact, we had just come from another resort in Fiji where we had issues with bugs, and we so very happy to see how clean and bug-free these rooms were here at Royal Davui. It was so relaxing each morning to wake up and drink coffee on the balcony overlooking the beautiful setting right on the water.
The island itself was very unique and fun to walk around. It was very small, so you could swim around the whole island in 30mins or so depending on your pace. There is a reef all around the island that has a wide variety of marine life. Snorkeling or scuba just off the island is all you need to do. There is also at least one (or maybe 2) secluded beaches to go to.
Another great aspect of the resort was the fact that the managers had their personal boat on the island and would take guests out fishing on it (for a decent price too). This was a treat!! Daryl got us on the fish, and with a little luck we had quite a catch that day (which we were able to enjoy for the next few days).
The other activities were fun too, whether it was kayaking around the island, lounging at the pool, snorkeling around the island (saw some great stuff....), sand spit picnic, scuba, surfing, etc. Definitely do the sand spit, and book it right when you arrive.
As long as you are comfortable on a small island such as this (16 rooms I believe), you will not be disappointed here. For us, this was perfect, and we're hoping to go back to enjoy it again sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lacsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

We stayed at the Royal Davui in November/December. We were blown away from the moment we arrived at Nadi Airport for our flight to Pacific Harbour (the views from the plane were amazing) to the boat ride (we saw turtles and dolphins) to the Island where we were greeted by Julie the General Manager and sung a welcoming song by the amazing staff.

Our villa 6 was magnificent - we couldn't get enough of looking out at the views from our heated private plunge pool. With two balconies from the separate living room and bedroom areas, you have a great feeling of space, and also of privacy. The bathroom roof opens above the shower and jacuzzi to see the sun or stars.

We highly recommend going to the Sand Spit. We did this on our last day, but if we did this earlier we would have gone again. They take you on a 20-30 minute speedboat ride out to a sand bar which is only exposed at low tide. They leave you with an umbrella, picnic (breakfast in our case) and emergency phone leaving the two of you with your very own deserted island (maybe 30 by 15 meters depending on tide) in the middle of the ocean.

My wife and I had the most incredible time here, and would it recommend it without hesitation. You lose all concept of time (thankfully no tv or other distractions) and you can just enjoy each others company. It is nice and quiet - only around 15 couples on the island.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_0084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews