We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Davui Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We decided to splurge on our honeymoon and travel to Royal Davui for 10 nights; and were we glad we did!
From our initial enquiry to landing back home again after our honeymoon, we were looked after perfectly. Any queries we had during the booking process were handled quickly, efficiently and with friendly service - which is some feat considering I was very anxious about it running smoothly and asked a myriad of questions!
Not being such a great flyer, the light plane trip to the harbour was a bit scary for me, but in hindsight was a great experience. The views during the speedboat ride were breathtaking, like we were motoring away from the real world and straight into paradise. Even from our first meeting with the marine staff on the boat, we were provided with friendly smiles, towels and chilled bottles of water.
Once we arrived on the island at sunset, we were greeted with a welcome song and those famous cocktails.
From then on, our 10 night stay was a blur of impeccable food, tasty cocktails, days spent at the spa, enjoying water activities, fishing, visiting the village and just generally relaxing in what we are sure is the best holiday we will experience in a very long time.
We would thoroughly recommend it to anyone, and would love to eventually go again (once our account balance recovers!).
Now - if we really had to pick holes in anything (and we would be hard-pressed to do so), we can only think of a few minor things that could have been improved upon:
- The lounge furniture was terribly uncomfortable, and not really fitting to a 5-star resort with a matching price tag. We didn't spend much time in there anyway, but it is something that we noticed.
- We made many friends across the island, but we did notice that the gentleman who took care of the plunge pool would just turn up around the side of our vale; we were glad we didn't happen to be in the nude any of those times!
- The servings of food were too large and very rich; I eventually had to ask them not to serve me any entrees or desserts as the sheer amount of food began to turn my stomach. I often wished there was just a plain food option available, and took to asking just for vegemite toast for breakfast - so make sure you take your appetite and antacids with you!
Other than those tiny, personal-preference things, we honestly had the most magical honeymoon and can't wait to go back in the future.
So if you're trying to decide whether to take a chance on Royal Davui - DO IT! :)

Room Tip: We chose the basic Island Plunge Pool Vale (we had number 6) so that we could spend that extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheMrsCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 508 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

My new wife and I had our wedding on the island without a hitch, due to the weather we had not even decided were on this beautiful island at 7:30 am. We had planned on a beach wedding but due to the wind & rain for days before we moved it to the northside at the last moment. At 8am we decided to move it to the lovely little hut near the beach on the northside even though the sun came out but the wind was still too strong. The wedding was at 11am and they had arranged and decorated the hut in flowers and palm leaves and made it wonderful. The village choir and Native Warriors to escort my bride to the altar was worth the little extra cost. The staff and management went out of their way to make sure our wedding and stay for the whole 8 days a week will never forget. The food was fantastic and if you are unable to eat seafood like me, they will cook up whatever you want or even supply you your favorite from the last few days if you wish, 3 days of the same desert is not a problem if thats what you want to eat.
We stayed in villa 15 which had views that you would pay millions of $'s to have.
The Plunge pool was a little cool so we just picked up the phone and asked the it be turned up more, nothing was ever a problem and all the staff could not do enough to make you happy, They just want to help you and see a smile on your face, ask and if it is possible they will either do it or arrange it for you. Ask for Ben to take you fishing, it is fantastic. Stertirie at the Bar and Restaurant will look after you and make you feel like Kings & Queens. Jale will mix the best Cocktails and shooters for you. Noemea at reception will make any tour or activity happen, she looked after all our wedding arrangements for us, the wedding was stress free and no bother to us, she was trying even to change the weather for us and she nilly did it even it it was mother nature she had to talk too. We just didn't what to leave, they make you feel like you are Royalty and the only sad thing is Leaving. But your memories last the rest of your life and take lots of photos, like we did and they are happy (more than) to take a few of you as well.
We miss them all so much and it's not only a week since we came home. Many thanks to Mere (Rest/meals), Sonny,Jale & Dui (Marine house), Sparky (of the Kava demo's and songs) and Michael (the GM) and all the rest of the staff for making our Wedding Week such a time we will never forget.

Room Tip: Valla's on the Eastside have great views of the mainland and Beqa Island, a little breezier but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRUMPZ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I visited Royal Davui for our honeymoon. We stayed 6 days at the resort, and if it were up to us we would easily stay another week. Great private island location with only 16 couples allowed, keeping the resort fun but quiet. There are lots of activities to participate included in the stay (snorkeling, paddle boards, volleyball, etc) and extra (sand spit romantic lunch, scuba diving, island tours, whitewater rafting, etc). All meals are included and they are amazing, drinks are extra but reasonably priced.

The best part is the service. The GM's and staff learned our names quickly and treated us with the highest quality of service. All of them are very friendly and courteous.

The rooms are private, clean and spacious. The plunge pool is a nice added touch.

All in all, we highly recommend this resort! And, hope to be back in the near future.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank HavierN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Before arriving at Royal Davui I read most of the lower scoring reviews on here, It appears that this resort has changed managers in the last few years. We just got back from the Island and can only say that our experience was wonderful and the resort is a postcard-perfect paradise.

We stayed for 7 nights. Our transfer from the airport (run by Pacific Destinationz) was seamless. We were waiting at the dock on the mainland for about 20 minutes before being taken by boat to Royal Davui Island. We were instantly greeted my management and taken to the reception area where a song was sung to welcome us. Even though we were extremely exhausted form travelling and weren’t fully alert/awake it was an enjoyable experience. A complimentary drink and some moist face towels fixed that and we were given a short tour of the island before arriving at our Villa. We stayed in Villa number 13, on the opposite side to the restaurant. It was very private with a beautiful view of the reef below and Beqa Island.

The bedroom was kept air-conditioned and was always nice and cool and that coupled with a huge comfy bed made sleeping very easy in such a humid climate.

The private Plunge Pool does not seem to be heated and can be a little chilly if you are wanting to have a dip early in the morning or around twilight. We weren’t fussed by the temperature because we were so hot most of the time anyway. If the Plunge Pool is too cold for you, the villa’s have indoor spa’s anyway.

Lunch and Dinner is on a 7 day rotation so we experienced 7 different menu’s while we were there. Seafood does dominate the menu, however there is always a non-seafood option if you are not a fan. The fish is always fresh and tastes amazing. The tuna was my favourite. Breakfast is always the same menu but there are lots of options for you there. All food is included in the price of your room. Drinks are free during breakfast but things like orange juice cost extra during lunch and dinner. Staff are happy to bring you your food in your villa or even down on the beach.

There are a few activities to do on the Island, just enough if you are after a quiet holiday. The highlight of our trip was the Jet ski tour around Beqa Island, which included snorkeling on a reef in the middle of the ocean. We were lucky enough to see some small sharks lurking at the bottom. Crab racing as fun, and if you have never tried it before, the Kava night is a must. Although we found out there is a ‘guest mix’ for us and a ‘staff mix’ for later in the night.

The staff were all really friendly and spoke English well enough. I’ll never forget one staff member going for a dip one afternoon while we sunbaked by the pool and he still looked over and asked if we’d like a drink. Off duty staff also play Volleyball on the grass some afternoons and anyone is welcome to join in.

Overall, the Island is very friendly, while still being very quiet and private. There are never more than 16 couples on the island. During our stay there would have been 10 at most. American guests commented on the exclusivity of the island is something they had never experienced anywhere before and I agree. Definitely a place we will be visiting again and recommending to friends.

Room Tip: Villa 13: gets early morning sun and reef views. Also one of the farthest from the restaurant. Requi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Once in a lifetime if you are very lucky, something (or someone) comes along that totally blows you away by not only meeting every expectation you had but absolutely exceeding your wildest dreams! Welcome to Royal Davui Island Resort. My wife and I had one week in which to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and we wanted it to be a week that we'd remember for a long time. Well, we got a week we will never forget.

From the moment you step onto the jetty and are greeted personally by Michael and Angela, the resort managers, you know that this place is going to be something special. Well, it's only beginning here! From the jetty you round the corner to head to reception and right there to greet you are the most beautiful staff with a warm, fijian welcoming serenade with smiles as wide as watermelons and eyes sparkling like the pacific surrounding you. Seriously, the people make this place paradise. It doesn't take very long before you feel like royalty. And that's the way it stays for your entire visit.

From reception you are taken to your villa, there are 15 in total, and if you thought you were impressed up until this point then your jaw is about to hit the polished timber floor. Without a doubt our Villa (number 2) was the most impressive room we have stayed in anywhere in the world. Classy, tasteful decore befitting the surrounds, spacious luxury, private heated plunge pool, sun decks, indoor spa, huge bed complette with mosquito net if you'd like to leave your full opening french doors open, all overlooking the beautiful turqoise waters and coral reef surrounding the island.

Hungry? I'm glad you asked. There's dining, there's fine dining and then there's OMG have I died and gone to heaven! Royal Davui is the latter. It's not unusual to stay somewhere and experience some great meals. It is however very rare to have your breath taken away at EVERY sitting for a week. The meals here are seriously first class but still served in comfortable, casual surroundings of the resort restaurant or in your own villa if you wish. The island uses a very clever menu concept where you pre-order lunch and dinner at breakfast time. This was new to us but it was a highlight of our day to view the following days menu overnight and choose in the morning. It ensured the freshest of meals, presented beautifully with flavours that defy words!

Activities? There are too many to list here and I won't do them all justice. Snokelling, kayaking, diving, fishing, hobby cats, paddle boards, village visits, treks, a romantic sand spit (your own private island!) are just a taste of how much or how little you can do.

All of this is great of course. Location, room, food. Tick, tick, tick. However, here's the islands greatest asset. Their people! From the managers, the receptionists, the waiters and bar staff. The marine boys, divers, skippers, guides. Every person just cannot do enough for you and they all go out of their way to make you feel like royalty without ever being overbearing in the slightest. It would not be understating things to say we fell in love with them (I wish my wife would cry like that when she has to say goodbye to me!!!) Every SINGLE staff member shone like a beacon. They absolutely made our stay priceless! Here's just one example. One night I mentioned quitely to Neomai in reception that our anniversay was in a couple of days time and would it be even remotely possible that one of the musicians might know "Love me tender" which was our bridal waltz 25 years ago. Sadly, he didn't......So he and about another 6 or 7 staff members "YouTubed" it and learnt and practiced it (in their own time) for 2 days before serenading us over dinner to surprise my wife. It was a toss-up whether she burst into tears more than they burst with pride of vica versa!

We spent a considerable amount of time searching for a special place for a special milestone in our lives. Royal Davui went above and beyond our wildest dreams and expectations. We could not recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: They all look amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

There is not much that we can say about our 6 nights on Royal Davui that has not been said below. It is as wonderful and friendly as all the other reviews say. We are at a total loss to understand the odd negative review, there is simply nothing bad to say about this amazing place.

The rooms are simply stunning, we had room 16 on the east facing side - our travel agent told us we would get more shade in the afternoon and more breezes which is what we wanted, both of which were true - good advice from Scott Dunn. The only point we would make about the room is that the plunge pools need to have timers on them. Ours was slightly too cold without the heater, but way too hot if it was on. This would be a tiny adjustment that would make a big difference. The only other thing we can think of that was not 100% brilliant was the boat used to transfer us to and from Pacific Harbour - it is not to the same standard as the rest of the resort by any means whatsoever - we gather that their usual boat is being serviced. On the way there 4 of us had to perch on a tiny bench for a very rough crossing.

We thought we would find having to order food at breakfast for lunch and dinner annoying, but actually the food was so good that it made us look forward to each meal even more than we would have done. All of the meals were fantastic.

One of the best things is the SOS Cocktail Flag at the pool - just raise it and someone will come and take your cocktail order. Also great was the daily newsletter which gave a personal welcome or goodbye to guests arriving and leaving as well as telling you what was for lunch and dinner and what excursions were happening.

The pool design is great, lots of ledges for perching on in the shade while you drink your latest mojito.

The temperature was 30+ degrees every day, and the water temperature was about 27 – 28 degrees. Absolutely fabulous snorkelling with amazing coral, and as well as being very relaxed and chilling there were lots of other things to do, we could easily have stayed longer. Fishing was good, the jet ski 3 hour trip was amazing, the hobie cat sailing was great, and there were plenty of other things we never got round to doing.

They also create a lovely atmosphere in the evenings - a highlight on the entertainment front was the crab racing and the staff singing and playing guitar. The staff really make the place, they all know your name, they are all friendly and lovely, and also very professional, you feel you are in safe hands. The management is also good, Michael and Angela have only been there a few weeks but you would never know that.

As well as the marine life, the island was alive with creatures – thankfully hardly any spiders but there were some nasty biting flies that ignored deet. There were geckos all over our room which we loved, and skinks (tiny lizards) and hermit crabs absolutely everywhere, and enormous fruit bats flying around. When walking from our room to the pool the scenery would rustle all around you – a bit like in Jurassic Park just before someone got eaten by a dinosaur– it was very cool. We also saw one of the infamous sea snakes (on land not in the sea)– about 1.5 meters long and very venomous, but their fangs are so well back in their mouths that you’d have to stick your hand down their throat to be bitten.

We will definitely go back to Fiji and to Royal Davui, it is up there with the best resorts we have stayed in, and the fact that it is kid-free is brilliant. It’s a very very long way to go but absolutely worth it.

Room Tip: The resort doesn't advertise it but there are a lot of steps and hills - room 16 has a nice shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJM_MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The people make this place something special. Nothing was to much trouble. My partner and I eloped on the island and it was the perfect week. Breathtaking views and scenery, wonderful food and the perfect mix of fun and relaxation. Would highly recommend to anyone. We will definitely return at some time in the future.
Thanks for an amazing week at Royal Davui.
Vinaka
Mat & Erin

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 033mat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royal Davui Island
12 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
219 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
1,030 reviews
4.1 mi away
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Beqa Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Beqa Island
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
679 reviews
23.2 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 10 in Sigatoka
511 reviews
20 mi away
Wellesley Resort Fiji
Wellesley Resort Fiji
#3 of 4 in Korolevu
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Davui Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Davui Island Resort

Address: Beqa Lagoon | PO Box 3171, Royal Davui Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Royal Davui Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Royal Davui Island
Price Range: $886 - $1,292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Davui Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Davui Island Resort is an exclusive adults-only sanctuary situated in Fiji's spectacular Beqa Lagoon offering a level of Fijian luxury, elegance and privacy not found in today's larger resorts. At Royal Davui Island Resort Fiji, the shell symbolises our invitation for you to come to our island paradise. Just a few guests can be accommodated at Royal Davui, so be prepared for an exclusive and exceptional experience from the moment of your arrival. Here the world-renowned warmth and hospitality of the Fijian people awaits you. Royal Davui Island Resort is an adults only resort, offering an ideal tropical island escape, vacation, honeymoon or wedding.Bula Vinaka! - Welcome to Royal Davui Island Resort Fiji ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Davui Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Davui Island Hotel Royal Davui Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing