We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten out of Ten”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Davui Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have just returned from Royal Davui Island Resort less than 24 hours ago. The island is perfection, food amazing, there was not one meal that I could say was valued under a 10/10. Staff so so friendly and helpful, they are the most wonderful people I have met on a holiday. The Villa was beautiful, very comfortable bed, clean, amazing spa, views of the ocean, peaceful (we were in Villa 1) very accessible. I found it a little hot in the afternoon, possibly blinds would be a good idea in the lounge area. Snorkelling amazing, massage/spa amazing and so relaxing. We met some lovely people during cocktail hour. Grounds beautiful and tropical and the view from breakfast/lunch/dinner is paradise. Coconut trees/blue ocean/white sand/cool breeze - just amazing. The breakfast menu is amazing, the best pancakes I have ever enjoyed. Sand Quay picnic just like a dream, a must. My husband and I have done a fair amount of travelling around the world and we would rate this as a top stop to stay. No cars, nothing commercial, beauty, relaxation, love, fun, a place to smell the flowers and renew ones thoughts and life. A great stop for a honeymoon, holiday, get away whatever. We will one day return to the Royal Davui and enjoy another amazing experience together. Thank you for your facilities, beautiful resort and
amazing staff and the cocktails are super. One last thought, the helicopter flight was amazing. I can thoroughly recommend taking this trip to the island, the view over the ocean and hills on the main island were beautiful, perfect way to travel.

Room Tip: Villa 1, very accessible especially if you have a problem with walking up quite steep steps and walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paradise2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 496 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were lucky enough to go here for our honeymoon, from the staff who made us feel like a part of their family to our stunning room with breathtaking views, this is actual paradise! The food was absolutely delicious which us included in the price of your room which all have plunge pools looking out into the ocean. Would definitely recommend this place for a romantic getaway or group getaway (this is a kid free island) - cohan & Jess :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesslehmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is my kind of tropical hideaway: a private island with a small number of fully equipped private villas; everything at a personal scale, luxurious but unfussy. I won't cover ground that others have covered (yes, the staff are friendly!) but I will focus on food, spa and the range of privacy of the vales.

General notes: There was adequate space around the island to relax in peace and enough diversion (stand up paddle boards, kayaks, snorkeling) to keep me happy. Delightful seclusion in our vale. We had a splendid vacation here and I have to say it was better than it appeared on the website. I was a little apprehensive that there would be people who “dress for dinner” (but there were not).

Seclusion: From my perspective, the vales to avoid, as they are less private (can be seen from the path or beach) are: 7, 9 and 10. The more secluded are: 3, 13.

Spa: Do not expect much of the spa, as it is just a converted vale and the therapists are not highly trained (they are redeployed office staff) but this is a remote place. . .

Dining: We ate divinely well, which is not always the case at a captive resort, and we have *high* standards. The wonderful thing is that the owner owns a fish company so they have access to great local fish which thankfully features prominently on the menu. From my perspective, I am not traveling halfway around the world to eat a halfway attempt at dishes I get at home. Give me local catch and local ingredients any day. We loved the grilled squid, the coconut crusted mahi mahi and a local version of ceviche called kokonda made from wahoo marinated in citrus and coconut milk. It was outstanding.

Room Tip: 3 and 13 are more secluded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superdeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davui_Marketing, Owner at Royal Davui Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Bula Vinaka superdeluxe,
Thank you for your review on Royal Davui.
As a small owner operated resort (and being 100% Fijian owned) we are always trying to showcase the ingredients found in and around the Pacific, so we were happy to read that you enjoyed that aspect of the resort experience.
We are pleased to advise that since your stay our new spa has opened - we have moved into a brand new purpose built Spa in September of 2013. It is true that our Spa therapists do work in both the office and the spa, with most remote island resorts staff are required and are trained to work in a variety of positions.
We hope you are able to return in the near future to experience our new Spa.

Vinaka
Chris Southwick
Royal Davui Island Resort, Fiji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Overall the island and setting is stunning but the resort did not live up to price or expectations.

On the positive side the staff are genuinely friendly; the size and privacy of the villas is good; and the resort and grounds are well maintained.

However there are a number of areas where the resort is lacking, including:

- the food is average, well below other 5 star resorts I've stayed at. Whilst the set menus are generally ambitious the execution is lacking and the ingredients didn't seem to be of the highest quality. Also having to eat at set meal times and having to pre-order all your dishes in the morning detracts as does not being able to order food at other times .....although you can get fruit or cornflakes if you insist.
- the rooms are not particularly well appointed or finished and it feels like they've cut corners in places; like cheap cutlery and linen, spongy pillows, no signage around the island.
- they miss out on small details that you take for granted in other resorts, such as they don't replace dirty towels with evening turndown, F&B staff are not very well trained in terms of service, beach towels are bleach stained, no one attends the pool intermittently to see if people want drinks etc
- the music constantly playing in the restaurant/ bar area is annoying. It's like they can't decide what sort of ambience they want to create, one minute it's Barry White and the next it's Ibiza house music.
- there is little flexibility with check out times due to the transfers needed to get to Nadi only leaving twice a day
- wireless coverage is good in the rooms but patchy in common areas
- the gym is very basic; a few dumbbells but no bench and a cheap treadmill and bike
- the boat and plane used for transfers are very spartan

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank w0nderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Thank you Royal Davui for the most romantic, special holiday one could ever ask for!

Royal Davui is an absolutely beautiful island in the beqa lagoon. We went by small plane and then a short boat ride to the island - all part of the adventure!! Upon arrival we were welcomed with a gorgeous Bula song and a refreshing drink = bliss.

The staff are so welcoming and attentive. The management are a pleasure to deal with.
Our room was amazing, looking out towards bega island - was sometimes a bit windy but I found this very refreshing. You can open the entire room up and let the breeze in - we loved it!

Royal Davui provides many activites - we went out to a private sand bar at low tide with a picnic and mobile phone to call the resort when we wanted to be picked up again - absolutely amazing!!! And we tried paddle-boarding and went for a fantastic guided snorkel trip around the island with beautiful coral and so much sea life!!

Love Royal Davui and dreaming of going back!!

If anybody has any questions about staying at Royal davui please dont hesitate to contact me!

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are closest to the main bure and have a sunset view. Rooms 11 to 16 look out to Beqa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissTrip99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed for 10 days and cried when we left. The staff were like family and Freddy the chef only produced high quality food every time!! First time I've ever been to a hotel and it looks exactly as it appears on their website! We hope to return again one day for one of the most relaxing holidays ever!

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This resort is Pure Paradise. I have visited a lot of resorts, this one exceeds most that I have visited. All the bures are nice. They have your own living room space, private plunge pools. The views are incredible. You can snorkel right off the end of the dock. Thousands of fish. It is like being in an aquarium. The bedrooms have decks with private lounge chairs right outside.
There are a couple of stairs then you are in your beautiful bathroom. The ceiling can be operated so that it opens up.
The food is delicious. The staff are all wonderful. Everyone has a smle on their faces. The Spa had just opened prior to our visit. We were travel agents going around to the different Islands doing site inspections. This resort is one of the best. I can't say anything negative about it.
Pure Paradise.
You won't be sorry when you book The Royal Davui.

Room Tip: Stay at least 3 nights. My Bure was #16 closer to the spa and easy to get to the pool and the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babsygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royal Davui Island
12.0 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
203 reviews
4.1 mi away
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Beqa Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Beqa Island
479 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
648 reviews
23.2 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 10 in Sigatoka
506 reviews
20.0 mi away
Wellesley Resort Fiji
Wellesley Resort Fiji
#3 of 4 in Korolevu
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Davui Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Davui Island Resort

Address: Beqa Lagoon | PO Box 3171, Royal Davui Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Royal Davui Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Royal Davui Island
Price Range: $1,005 - $1,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Davui Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Davui Island Resort is an exclusive adults-only sanctuary situated in Fiji's spectacular Beqa Lagoon offering a level of Fijian luxury, elegance and privacy not found in today's larger resorts. At Royal Davui Island Resort Fiji, the shell symbolises our invitation for you to come to our island paradise. Just a few guests can be accommodated at Royal Davui, so be prepared for an exclusive and exceptional experience from the moment of your arrival. Here the world-renowned warmth and hospitality of the Fijian people awaits you. Royal Davui Island Resort is an adults only resort, offering an ideal tropical island escape, vacation, honeymoon or wedding.Bula Vinaka! - Welcome to Royal Davui Island Resort Fiji ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Davui Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Davui Island Hotel Royal Davui Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing