We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Davui Island Resort, Fiji
Nearby Hotels
Beqa Lagoon Resort(Beqa Island)
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Nanuku Auberge Resort(Pacific Harbour)
$701
$596
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pearl Resort(Pacific Harbour)(Great Value!)
$173
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Uprising Beach Resort(Pacific Harbour)(Great Value!)
$86
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waidroka Bay Resort(Korovisilou)
$174
$167
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wellesley Resort Fiji(Korolevu)(Great Value!)
$109
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crusoe's Retreat(Coral Coast)(Great Value!)
$81
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mango Bay Resort Fiji(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$49
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$363
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Naviti Resort(Korolevu)
$167
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveler rating
431
45
18
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
45
18
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal davuiplunge poolour honeymoonfishlunch and dinnerother gueststhe managerspacific harbourwelcome songshark divenadi airportvillage visitsand cayhappy hourkava ceremonyheaven on earthlow tide
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 515 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Bula! If you haven't already had the privilege of staying at this beautiful resort may I suggest you make sure it is high up on your 'bucket list'. We are well seasoned travellers who have lived overseas for years and visited many fabulous holiday destinations but ... NEVER ... have we had the kind of service, not it's not service, it's actual care and friendship from such an incredible team of people. Every single member on the team at Royal Davui are A+ individuals. If I could have put them all in my suitcase and taken them back home to New Zealand with me I would have. No other nation in the world beats the Fijians for how you should treat visitors in your country. We could all learn a lot from them. We will be back. Big hugs to them all. Julie Clayton-West and David West P.S Jale, two margaritas please. Vinaka!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieCW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My Husband and I travel all over the world and stay at amazing places so for our honeymoon wanted something that would blow us away. After much discussion we decided on this resort thinking it would give us the service, privacy and comfort we wanted. Unfortunately although we had a good time, the resort did not live up to the reviews we had read before going. Don't get me wrong this island is beautiful,the villas spacious, and the staff very welcoming but there were a number of things that had we of known before, we probably would have chosen a different resort.

We believed we were going to an island where we didn't really need to see another sole during our time here if we didn't want to, we could laze on our private sun deck and dine in the villa aswell. However it was apparent that basically all but one of the villas only had an hour of sun on the deck a day so relaxing on the deck in the privacy of your own space was not an option. Literally every couple ended up sunbathing round the main pool because nobody got any sun on the private decks. We had a room with a heated plunge pool which the pump was so noisy that it was not relaxing to be around anyway. The gardener as nice as he was would just appear in the foliage in front of the villa when you were not expecting not - not great for ultimate privacy !

The room in itself was lovely even though the bed was way way way to soft so not great if you suffer with your backs. The shower was nice and spacious but i did get an electric shock on the last evening when i touched the temp control.We got the electrician to come round straight away and he could even feel a current coming through the temp gauge. Strange.

The pool area was ok although had a fresh water pool that looked like it was pebble dashed with concrete and had lots of debris in the bottom, is was not exactly luxurious or inviting.

Dining - we felt that the quality of food was ok but it was no where near the standard you would expect for the money. Yes its 4 course but the actual produce or cooking was not great. Certainly not the best food you will eat. Also i have some dietary requirements and every day when i spoke with the staff to go through the menu to choose lunch and dinner they would say yes of course we can do this and that and write things down but then come to lunch or dinner it seemed that those things were ignored completely. Also everyone raves about the cookies in the rooms - they were certainly nothing to write home about and were stale every day apart from day 1.

If you are expecting to have a romantic sunset drink with your partner before dinner think again. As you approach the bar, all the other couples will talk to you before you can excuse yourself. Its a place where everyone talks to each other and joins in the activities/entertainment and if you don't you are looked upon as the odd couple. We found the resort to be very "couples retreat" and it was cringe-able to say the least.

Given that most people who visit come for their honeymoon you really dont feel special in any way - no extras or nice touches to make you feel like your on the best holiday of your life.

Spa - my therapist was awful, i had to endure nail scratching and not much technique for 90 minutes.

The best thing about this place - the marine staff - we did alot of diving, deep sea fishing etc and really cant thank those guys enough for going out of thier way to make us feel welcome especially sunny and Jale.

would i recommend or go back, im sorry to say no, there are far more places to try to come back again

Room Tip: no rooms have sunset views be warned. Villa 1 is way to close to the main restaurant
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zoliverstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a belated review from Nov 2012. We honeymooned at Davui for 6 nights and overall really enjoyed the resort. Definitely recommend!

Pros- Welcoming and attentive staff who knew us on first name basis. Incredibly clear water and schools of fish for great snorkelling/diving. Lovely clean villas with beautiful views and twice-daily service. Most of the meals were delicious and beautifully presented, dinner was a 4 course affair. The after dinner cocktails, live music on one evening and games were very fun :)

Cons- These are only minor. It would have been great if the bedrooms had dark curtains as the morning light was intensely bright and woke us very early. Not many vegetarian meals but we could order off the menu. Villas are expensive; we paid roughly $900 per night but hey, we'll only honeymoon once ♥

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was our second stay at this amazing island resort and it won't be our last. We have been holidaying in Fiji for nearly 30 years and have stayed in heaps of resorts, but Royal Davui has it all. I'll start with the staff, they would have to be, one of the most helpful and friendliest that we have come across in Fiji. The management get it right, which makes your stay relaxing and hassle free. The accommodation is to die for, it was a special occasion so we stayed in villa 5, a Royal Davui Suite which would have to be the best. The views from this villa and absolutely stunning and the sunsets just awesome. Food, where do I start, the variety, flavours and presentation, is 5 star, from ham hock terrine, caramelized onion jam, toasted brioche and then peppered sesame prawns on a cucumber and bok choy salad for lunch, to tuna, sashimi, home pickled ginger, wasabi & soy, to chateaubriand with béarnaise, bele & truffle potato rosti, followed by white chocolate mojito cheesecake for dinner, what can I say. We stayed 7 nights and the menu changed daily. The island itself is stunning, you can walk around it at low tide, which probably takes 20 to 30 mins or kayak around in about 10 to 15 mins. The snorkeling anywhere around the island is wonderful, so much sea life and beautiful coral. There are only 16 villas a maximum of 32 adults at one time (no children) with a staff of around 70 to look after you, what else can you wish for. Believe me if you choose Royal Davui to stay, you will not be disappointed with anything. Don't bother searching for anywhere else to stay, this resort has it all. Just book it and enjoy.
Vin du riki Royal Davui, we will return

Room Tip: All the villas are awesome, villas 1 to 5 get amazing sunsets, 6 to 11 have lovely views, 12 to 16 can be windy but have lovely sunrises.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Words can not express how amazing this place is. My husband and I did extensive research when planning our honeymoon in Fiji last summer. We picked Royal Duvai and visited in July 2012 because of the positive TA comments and our travel agent also recommended it. We could not have been happier. We loved our villa with the two decks and splunge pool. The staff is amazing and so friendly. We consider ourselves foodies and my husband loves to critique food. The food was so good that he did not have one complaint. We loved receiving the daily brochure which included the meal options for the next day. I could go on and on, but in summary this place is paradise and is worth the price for a honeymoon, elopement, or special holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewsergeant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews