We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Davui Island Resort, Fiji
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lawaki Beach House(Beqa Island)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Beqa Lagoon Resort(Beqa Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Lalati Resort & Spa(Beqa Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Nanuku Auberge Resort(Pacific Harbour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Pearl Resort(Pacific Harbour)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Uprising Beach Resort(Pacific Harbour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waidroka Bay Resort(Korovisilou)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveler rating
431
45
18
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
45
18
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal davuiplunge poolour honeymoonfishlunch and dinnerother gueststhe managerspacific harbourwelcome songshark divenadi airportvillage visitsand cayhappy hourkava ceremonyheaven on earthlow tide
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 515 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This resort is like having all your dreams come true in one place. We were remarried and honeymooned at Royal Davui and will NEVER forget this very special place. The staff were welcoming and wonderful, Jale, Jone, Rease, Una, La, Ben (just to name a few) seemed as though they simply LOVED working there and making each day a special one for us. Always greeted us with a smile and kind words, and always happy to see us. If you wanted private time and time away from it all this was the place. The personal attention and attention to detail was perfect. This resort makes you want to stay and keep coming back year after year. Pictures and words cannot truly describe the absolute beauty and honest kindness of the people.

Room Tip: any room a blessing, ours was vale # 13 and was perfect.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grp_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just returned from the Royal Davui today. We had an exceptional time! The food was good. The staff was superb. They were so kind and caring and were attentive to our every need without being intrusive. Julie and Daryl are the general managers and they do a great job.
We were in Villa 5 which is spectacular. It had a huge deck with an incredible view. We would eat breakfast out on the deck every morning. We loved to feed the birds and watch the fruit bat in the evening flying around. The bed was very comfortable to sleep in as well.
Snorkeling on the house reef is amazing. No need to take a boat anywhere, just go off the beach or off the dock.
The spa was small, but very cozy and the massages were excellent.
I would highly recommend this resort for a honeymoon or adult get away. We will be back!
Take the Sand Spit picnic, it is wonderful.

Room Tip: Villa 5 for sure, worth the extra money! It is very private and has the best view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkymico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Words are inadequate to describe the 7 days of heaven we spent at this island paradise. We decided to elope and have a beach wedding. Royal Davui just seemed like an obvious choice. It’s exclusive and there are 15 villas, even assuming full capacity that meant 30 people. It’s an adults-only resort with a fairly high price tag, especially for visitors coming in from the US. This meant that the service was likely to be first class with a special focus on pampering. So right off the bat, we were expecting great things when we scheduled our elopement and honeymoon package with Royal Davui.
The reality, however, surpassed our greatest expectations on almost every count. We arrived in the morning of our wedding via a launch boat from the main island. You can barely see the island from the main island, and it appears as only a blip as you get closer. But as you get even closer, it shines through like a beautiful gem surrounded by pristine ocean and reef. We were received by Julie, the super-friendly and helpful island manager, and were taken up to the welcome area where we were serenaded by a beautiful island song performed by the staff on the island! Even that performance was top class. We were then led to the Banyan, which is the island restaurant/ bar/ get-together area all in one. It is in the shadow of an old and grand Banyan tree and is just spectacular. Over a delicious welcome drink, Julie checked us in, oriented us to the resort and this is where we met Neomai – our exceptional wedding planner! It was a really blustery day, so Julie suggested we do the wedding in the welcome area looking down to the ocean, instead of actually doing it on the beach where the dress and hair would be all over the place. Since these were somehow important to the wife, we readily agreed. Neomai and Julie then showed us to our room and even helped the wife get ready for the ceremony – as if they were part of our families. I walked down to the ceremony area and was waiting when the peace of the island was shattered by a powerful conch blowing across the breeze and we were witness to two Fijian warriors carrying massive war clubs on their shoulders leading my beautiful wife down the pathway. Needless to say this was my favorite part given its sheer pomp and coolness (warriors) and pure beauty (wife). After the ceremony, we got our pictures taken with beautiful sunset views! That was followed by a private champagne dinner in a separate dining patio. So the wedding part of the package went off beautifully.
Now to the honeymoon and villa! Based on the online reviews, we requested villa no. 5 well in advance – and Julie made that happen. Boy were the reviewers right. We stepped down into a spacious living room/ lounge area with sliding doors leading to a deck and a plunge pool (heated). The views from the deck were unbelievably spectacular. Better authors will try and fail to do justice to the view, so I will humbly refrain. On the right was a massive bedroom/ bathroom suite with its own deck and entrance to the same plunge pool. It also had the sliding doors, so you could just open the doors and have visual orgasms all day long. Making it even better were the fantastic sunrise and sunset views. The bedroom itself has a large canopy bed covered by protective muslin cloth to prevent any errant mosquitoes or geckos from interrupting your slumber. The bathroom has dual vanities, a separate water closet, a nice big shower and a huge soaking tub. There are also sizeable closets as well as a safe – not that you need it at all. On clear days, you can actually open up the skylight to let in natural light and air. One word: luxurious. The room is supplied with filtered drinking water and a small, but well-stocked mini bar for soda, beer and small snacks (you have to pay for these). The cherry on the cake is a jar of homemade cookies that are free and are re-filled every single day. Also, the room is serviced in a highly efficient manner. If and when you do venture out of your room to grab a bite, someone from the kitchen staff informs the cleaning crew to go in and fix up your room. The linen, towels and everything else were always fresh. As all honeymooners will recognize, this is critical!
There are plenty of activities on the island. There is a boat/ gear shop where you can get kayaks and snorkeling gear to go out into the ocean. There is an option to go closer to the outer reef for snorkeling. We chose to stick close to the island – which has some beautiful fish and sea life at hand, but on our second-last day one of the other guests told us that the outer reef was even more spectacular. We just chose to relax anyway, but that was the only thing we would do extra versus what we did this time. The shop also provides for the opportunity to get scuba trained and go scuba diving. We didn’t indulge in this as at least around the reef, the water is so clear that you can actually see all the way to the bottom without any problems whatsoever! However, it is a good option for people who want to go really deep.
The food on the island is ambrosial in quality. They have highly talented and friendly kitchen staff. The chef in charge when we were there, Wise, was an ex Four Seasons chef. Wise, like all the Fijians we met, was super-friendly, smiling and ready with a joke. And what a master-chef! We ate like kings through our stay. You can have every single meal delivered to your villa. We chose to do that with all our breakfasts – watching the sun rise off our main deck. There is a massive choice for breakfast to please even the pickiest eater. The Thai fried rice for breakfast is an interesting choice, but we highly recommend it. Also, the fresh fruit available is sinfully delicious. Every night, while you are at dinner, the staff leaves a little pamphlet on your bed to review for the next day. It has all the paid activities available for the next day along with the choice of menu available for lunch and dinner. It might sound restrictive, but there is plenty of variety. You provide that order to your server during breakfast and you are served exactly what you ordered. They have the freshest fish cooked delectably. We would recommend picking the seafood option whenever possible. Also, the desserts are world class, on a couple of occasions we even got second helpings.
We would be remiss if we didn’t mention the outstanding staff at the resort. Sparky, Ben, La, Joshua, Jale, Jone, May, Una, Nathan...just to name a few were all so friendly and helpful that one always felt pampered. Also, the number of guests at the resort is so low that we barely saw anyone when we didn’t want to. The resort has some social activities every evening, but you are free to do your own thing. For the most part it’s a lot of fun, especially the cultural events – the dancing, the kava ceremony. Also, we highly recommend the village visit. Apart from being culturally enriching and uplifting, it is a chance for us to contribute something meaningful while still on vacation. Do bring some school supplies for the island school if you do decide to go there.
There were a couple of bumps – nothing too bad though. The private excursion to a sandbar wasn’t as private as we had hoped. But they were good enough to reduce the price by half. Also, the launch boat ride to and from the main island is fairly choppy. Both of us were a little shaken during either ride and we are used to going on insane roller-coasters and joyrides. I think someone less hardy might struggle especially if the waters get a little choppy. That apart, the alcohol and other drinks are expensive. Given the island location, this is understandable. Neither of us are big drinkers, so that wasn’t an issue for us at all.
All in all, we could not have asked for a better honeymoon – and Royal Davui made it happen. This is the perfect resort for couples looking to just get away from it all and experience heaven without dying first!

Room Tip: Villa #5 was very private, Great ocean views including sunset. Nice big two decks
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great Holiday to relax. Every need was look after and had a great time. Food was excellent. Management was excellent and staff just fantastic. Rooms are better than you would expect on a small but very romantic island. They would stand up to any five star hotel.

I would like to thank all the staff for making my wife and I feel so welcomed.

Hope to be back very soon

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Royal Davui for our ten year wedding anniversary. It was a big mistake…. not to have stayed longer (we stayed for seven days). At the outset, we totally recommend it to loved up couples wanting an unforgettable getaway.

There’s nothing not to love about Royal Davui. Words cannot describe how fantastic the staff are. We found them to be incredibly warm and friendly, accommodating, funny, and interesting to talk to – from our beautiful cleaning lady to the fantastic wait staff (Jone, Rusi, Raeve, Siteri, Mere, and Jale), and the maintenance, pool and Marine guys/gals to the fabulous guest services director, Una. Nothing is too much trouble for any of them.

The chefs are out of this world. The food they prepare is so very, very fresh and so very delicious. Don’t be surprised to put on a few kilos while you stay here! Every night, a newsletter is put on your bed so you can ponder what to eat the following day. You need to advise the staff at breakfast what you would like for lunch and dinner. We don’t like spicy foods, and found there to be lots of options we were more than happy with for each meal. Kanaaaaa vinaka!

Each villa has its own plunge pool, which is divine. And we particularly enjoyed the freshly made biscuits that were replenished in the jar each day. Also regularly replenished were the mango flavoured shampoo, conditioner and body lotion—just divine!

The massage ladies were fabulous. While not as cheap as somewhere like Thailand, it’s a completely different (and more enjoyable) experience and well worth the money.

There are a lot of free activities too. And because we asked nicely, ☺ the general manager, Julie, was agreeable to a karaoke night. Gees it was fun! She is a good singer. And Julie also shared her Zumba DVDs with us. Loved it!

We stayed in villa #11, and our time at Royal Davui is one we hope to relive again soon. We made many friends during our stay, and highly recommend Royal Davui. It truly was the BEST. Emma and John xx

Room Tip: Villa #11 was fabulous. It is on the far side of the island, and very private.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stubbode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews