We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Davui Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed there for a week in January 2013 and this resort exceeded our already high expectations. It is a different experience from the similarly priced upmarket hotel/resort chains. It took us a couple of days to get into the personal nature of the interactions with the staff who all introduce themselves at the first opportunity and then appear to take a personal interest in your individual requirements and preferences. We were so relaxed after the week, we could not possibly have asked for more. It would appear to me that it makes no discernable difference which villa you stay in. All are intensely private and none are a large distance from the main bar/dining/pool areas. As others have mentioned, the nearby sandspit is special. The reef areas around the island are a marine park and loaded with fish. We encountered plenty while snorkelling as well as an inquisitive green turtle and some beautiful reef sharks. I would find it hard to believe that any reasonably minded visitor would have cause to complain about anything. The staff make it clear right from the start that nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: The only difference in choosing a room would be if you have a preference for watching sunrises or su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Facebookisforsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    42
    18
    12
    8
See reviews for
7
392
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Curtin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I went to Royal Davui resort for our son's wedding. Our visit to Fiji started with the flight with David our pilot to Pacific Harbour both relaxing and exciting for first timers. The boat ride to the Island continued to build the excitement and a great start to 5 brilliant days. Julie the GM and the fantastic staff made the stay, lovely food and relaxing accommodation topped it off.
The sunny morning, a small private beach, the glistening blue water backdrop, a gentle breeze, a wedding conducted in the shade of the coconut trees delivered the dream. We could not have been better and what a great start for our son and his lovely bride to start their married life.
Thank you Davui!

Room Tip: We had 2 vales; 6 was great; 13 had lovely views to Bega Island with turles visible in the water; pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

It's a romantic place with UR privacy...sandpit picnic was awesome. Crab race was fun. Loved the sea food. Really enjoyed our stay . Please choose the rite season to go. Don't miss shark feeding experience and village tour. Very peaceful . Service is good with friendly staff .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JVR16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed 6 nights at Royal Davui Island Resort in late November 13. We wanted "R and R" and we got it. Privacy in a top notch villa when we wanted it and service at the restaurant and bar when we wanted it (room service available also although we didn't try it). The food was very good and the cocktail list extensive. Fijian people are always very friendly and the staff here were no exception. Staff introduced themselves to us and knew our names almost immediately. They acknowledged us by name as soon as we arrived at the restaurant or bar.
To be able to open both the living area and bedroom by-fold doors right back to expose the amazing sea views was wonderful. The villas are raised up on the cliffs (except one) as the island is very rocky. The villas are very spacious with great decor and to have your own plunge pool was very special. Rooms are serviced twice a day. We had villa 10 which we found to be very private.
Pool service worked well by the main pool by raising the flag to summon a staff member.
We highly recommend this resort if you are looking for somewhere very special and don't mind spending a bit of money to do it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerieD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My Husband organised our Honeymoon here, and he couldn't have picked a nicer place. It was perfect for what we were after - a quiet, peaceful destination away from everything. We stayed in Vale #5 which was great as we were down the end of the walkway, away from all other Vale's, and we had an amazing view out to the ocean, we could even see a couple of sea turtles in the water occasionally! We spent our time relaxing on our deck, reading by the pool, snorking, kayaking and of course eating the fantastic food. The food was amazing every day, and with enough variety to always try something new. Every member of staff were friendly and helpful and i can not thank them enough for all their hard work in giving us a lovely Honeymoon. The rooms are beautiful, and very clean - of course the twice daily maid service helps!! We were so sad to have to leave, and I can't say one bad thing about our whole time there - except that we wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: I can highly recommened Vale #5 for privacy and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Let me start by saying if you can't be happy here you need help, professional help...with medication, or you could sit at the bar under the 400 year old banyan tree and have Jale, Jone or Rusi mix you something extra strong.The service is beyond Disney level and friendly to a level that's hard to believe, even for Fiji, Bula guys!!
The location itself is simply amazing, did I mention the banyan tree? Well how about world class diving, soul achingly beautiful views and grounds that have become the bar by which my wife and I will measure other resorts (sorry Peter island you are no longer number one).
Our bure was number three, it has miles wide sunset views...from a heated plunge pool. You can't have it it's ours ( wow! I wish).
So in short go...really...GO. Royal Davui is wonderful in ways I'm not a good enough writer to convey, and when you get there say hi to Neomai, Mr. Joshua ,La, May, Lanieta, Jale(dive shop), Sparky, Nathan, Bill, Sala( hey boss),Una, Wise, Sirti and everyone else. We miss them already. Julie, Darryl and Chris...we will be back. It truly is a special, special place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margartia, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and i recently spent seven nights on Davui and we enjoyed our stay very much.

Our Vale #16 was very nice and the view was breathtaking - we enjoyed opening the living room and beadroom sliding doors every morning and relaxing with our coffee as we soaked up the incredible view. The room was very comfortable and well equipped. The room was in need of some maintenance and could have used some freshing up with new paint but overall we spent a lot of time in the room and were very comfortable there.

Meals were varied and well prepared over the seven days and approximately 21 meals we were rarely disappointed and often pleasently surprised with the quality and diversity of the food. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful - very beautiful people indeed.

The weather was not perfect - we had several days of wind and periodic showers but that didn't stop us from enjoying ourselves beachcombing and checking out the wildlife. We saw black tipped reef sharks, cool (and harmless) banded snakes and lots of fish. One couple said they saw a sea turtle just off of the island as well. At low tide you can easily literally walk around the island - very enjoyable.

We had a nice couples massage in the spa. The spa facility was in an unused vale and the room could have used some freshing up.

On our last day we took the early boat and then did the Suva day trip - which i would recommend particularly if you have a late flight out of Nadi as we did. The afternoon fight to Nadi ended up being cancelled and we did the 3 hour drive from Suva to Nadi airport. The drive was actually quite enjoyable and we got to see a lot that we otherwise would have just flown over. We had two drivers/guides for the Suva and Nadi trips and both were very friendly and helpful.

Overall we had a very very relaxing and enjoyable time at Royal Davui and would recommend it for other honeymooners or couples just wanting to get away from it all.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the place but 16 was terrific and 15 looked very good as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royal Davui Island
12.0 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
4.1 mi away
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Beqa Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Beqa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
23.3 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
20.1 mi away
Wellesley Resort Fiji
Wellesley Resort Fiji
#2 of 3 in Korolevu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Davui Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Davui Island Resort

Property: Royal Davui Island Resort
Address: Beqa Lagoon | PO Box 3171, Royal Davui Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Royal Davui Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Royal Davui Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Davui Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Davui Island Resort is an exclusive adults-only sanctuary situated in Fiji's spectacular Beqa Lagoon offering a level of Fijian luxury, elegance and privacy not found in today's larger resorts. At Royal Davui Island Resort Fiji, the shell symbolises our invitation for you to come to our island paradise. Just a few guests can be accommodated at Royal Davui, so be prepared for an exclusive and exceptional experience from the moment of your arrival. Here the world-renowned warmth and hospitality of the Fijian people awaits you. Royal Davui Island Resort is an adults only resort, offering an ideal tropical island escape, vacation, honeymoon or wedding.Bula Vinaka! - Welcome to Royal Davui Island Resort Fiji ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Royal Davui Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Davui Island Hotel Royal Davui Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing