We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it a LOT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hintertux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is just wonderful. Large and cozy rooms, large bathrooms, great food and plenty of choices, a large spa area and good size individual ski/boot lockers. The hotel is spotlessly clean and exceptionally well run. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates high standards in a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holozwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 624 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is fantastic, clean high standards throughout. Tho rooms are huge and comfortable and all have wifi. Staff are all really helpful and eager to please. The bathroom has a bath and a large shower. Loads of storage and space in general. The food is lovely plenty of choice, dinners very elegant and varied, and kids could eat from the kids buffet or main menu or both if they wished. they were very flexible. Our were 16, 14, and 12 so a bit on the cusp of adult food and kids depending what was on offer. The ski shuttle bus is 2 minutes walk to the Hintertux area and leaves ever 5 minutes, and takes only 2 minutes to get to the gondola. The ski area is fab, we were there at feb half term, and can honestly say that we never once had to queue for a lift and the slopes are huge and really wide, so never felt crowded. Whilst there is only one black, there are loads of ski routes (kind of reds but off piste)to provide a challenge. We loved it!
Slight criticisms:
No drinks included at all, except at breakfast (even in the afternoon when you return from the slopes to delicious cakes and soup etc.. not even water/coffee tea) So the bill racks up quickly...

Water provided on the first day in the room, but there after you pay for extra water. No tea coffee making facilities in the room.
(But we got round this by buying juice etc down at the mini mart and storing on the balcony.)

The welcome speech was in german and the hosts never spoke to us at all so the legendary hospitality passed us by a bit but that really was not a problem for us, but did mean that we didn't really get any more info at the beginning, however reception were informative and helpful, so am sure if you wanted to know anything they would help!

Its worth mentioning that there are only a few hotels and no bars for the evening, and certainly while we were there almost everyone was german/austrian or french.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back as front ones are on the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetoholidayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Extraordinary Austrian hospitality! Excellent service with a personal touch. First class food and wine. Spacious, traditionally decorated rooms.
Only downside is the necessity to take the shuttle bus to the lift and back. Which runs every 5 minutes though.
Overall: Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finnaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything was great area.staff,food,rooms,spa,wi-fi were excellent.The atmosphere is sincerely warm.Very confortable bed and nice decoration. Our suite was very spacious, including a large bathroom I high recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan31_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The best hotel we've stayed in in Hintertux. Everything was simply great: the king size of the rooms, soft pillows, welcome stuff, raffinated cuisine, kids space for bad weather days - the hotel that gives a desire to come back the next ski season.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times now (twice in winter and once in summer and are hoping to make it out again this summer). My husband aspires to make the repeat-guest board of fame that starts at 10 visits and ends at 90! Yes, there are two families who have each been to this hotel 90 times before....

It's everything a hotel should be as has been written in the many review below. However, the two factors that, in my opinion, mean that this hotel deserves every one of its many prizes (eg holidaycheck, tripadvisor, various food and anti allergy awards etc) and allows it to rise above the competition are as follows:

Family Run: The family (Frau Dangg and her son Klaus) are ever present and make sure that they are around at mealtimes, chatting to and serving the guests. No doubt most hotel owners would think that was beneath them (which in my opinion is a mistake). You can tell that everything is scrupulously checked and controlled to make sure standards don't slip while maintaining the atmosphere of a cozy, family environment. In addition they really do go out of their way to assist when there's a problem (once to arrange babysitters and once to urgently get my son to a doctor)

Catering: We are fairly spoiled by London but their food is EXCELLENT. Last year even their sous chef had worked at the Dorchester for two years. This year the food was even better.

We have taken friends and I have passed the tip on to a client. They all loved it.

Please Dear Alpenhof stay exactly as you are!

In fact the only negative thing I can think to say is that they might want to rethink the detergent in their dishwasher as the glasses smell of it slightly which gets in the way of a nice wine sometimes.

Room Tip: Away from the road looking out on to the mountain are the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderlust186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here two times during winter and spring and i can say that is one of the best hotels i ever stayed in.Everything ,staff,food,drinks,rooms,spa,wi-fi ,family atmosphere were excellent.I am looking forward to stay there again.I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintertux
1.0 mi away
Wellnesshotel Bergland
Wellnesshotel Bergland
#3 of 8 in Hintertux
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kinder- & Gletscherhotel Hintertuxerhof
17.6 mi away
Premium Activehotel Bergkonig
Premium Activehotel Bergkonig
#3 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel der Wiesenhof
0.1 mi away
Thermal-Badhotel Kirchler
Thermal-Badhotel Kirchler
#6 of 8 in Hintertux
97 reviews
17.2 mi away
Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux

Address: Hintertux 750 A, Hintertux 6293, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Hintertux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hintertux
Price Range: $214 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenhof is the only Superior hotel in Hintertux and nestles in the dreamy mountain setting of Tuxertal - just 1 minute from the Hintertuxer Glacier. The cosy rooms and suites in fine Tyrolean style are fitted with tiled stoves, lovely bathrooms, most have a balcony and everything that your heart yearns for. With excellent cuisine, a selection of traditional, international and sophisticated delights, the Alpenhof has already stolen many a connoisseur's heart. In autumn 2014 the culinary range was awarded 1 'toque' by Gault Millau. To switch off and relax our 1600m ² relaxation realm, VITALIS SPA, has 6 different saunas, steam baths, quiet rooms and more. The indoor pool, at 128 m², is also suitable for performance-oriented swimmers. The 160 m² XXL gym is available for your own fitness programme. In summer we also offer a 1000 m² Alpine garden. Massages, beauty, bath packages and much more are available to book. Refreshments are available at the vitamin bar which offers fruit juices, a selection of tisanes and invigorating spring water. The fantastic location in the middle of the ski area, at the foot of the Hintertuxer Glacier, sets skier's hearts racing. Snow-assured from October through to May - there is powder snow here right into the spring and the glacier ski area is open year-round. In summer Tuxertal is a natural paradise which has a fantastic range of sports - 350 km hiking trails, 30 managed Alpine inns, 90 summit tours, 70 km mountain bike tours, parties and celebrations and numerous excursion destinations. And, with the maxim being 'More Service', it is a matter of course that the Alpenhof has ski guides in the winter and hiking and mountain guides in the summer who are 'ready to get out there'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing